We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballyseede Castle
Nearby Hotels
$125
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$181
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tralee Benners Hotel(Tralee)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$184
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tralee Townhouse(Tralee)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashe Hotel(Tralee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveler rating
893
225
58
24
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
893
225
58
24
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish wolfhoundstone roomfour poster bedlibrary barfriendly dogsfairy taledining roomfelt like royaltythe pubmanor housebeautiful groundscourse dinnercommon areaswedding partydrawing roomnext morningdingle peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent our 20th wedding anniversary here. When booking I specially asked for a special room and we got a fabulous room downstairs with a four poster bed and an old fashioned bath tub in the middle of the bedroom. There was a beautiful un-suite adjacent to the room. The room and un-suite were massive in size. If you want to experience that castle ambiance, this castle is a must, its small and not over bearing, beautifully decorated and it has the spooky edge to it at night time, especially when you turn off your bedroom lights! the food was top quality and the staff were lovely, apparently we stayed in the most haunted part of the hotel! We really enjoyed this hotel and we certainly will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Its a small country castle, welcoming and relaxing, if your looking for night life it isn't what your looking for, its in the countryside outside Tralee town and you would need to have your own car, but its ideal for retired couples or romantic relaxing breaks, I would highly recommend it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent two nights and the Ballyseede Castle and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Our room was very large, airy, and comfortable. The bathroom was large, although it would have benefited from a surface on which to place toiletries. Even though it is called a castle, it is more like a very large country home with dogs, ponies and donkeys on the premises.
The breakfast was more than adequate; dinner off the bar menu was excellent, and the staff was very personable and helpful. One day we asked that laundry be taken in, and within two hours it was returned to our room, folded neatly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed1815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Ballyseede Castle. We arrived a day early due to a mix up our travel agent made with the reservation, but the staff was most accomodating. Luckily an entire tour bus that SHOULD have been there the night we arrived had a mix up as well and wasn't there. We stayed in the Goldsmith room on the top floor and facing the front grounds. The castle felt truly authentic and not too "hotel-like". The staff were GREAT. Joe and his sister Esther (I think?) were beyond helpful and friendly. We even took a drive on the Connor Pass to Dingle on Esther's recommendation. Beautiful. If you do go, give Mr. Higgins (the VERY large Irish Wolfhound that lives there) a pat for me, but guard your breakfast, he's hungry!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My sisters and I stayed 2 nights in this beautiful castle. We were greeted from our car by "Mr Higgins" the resident Irish Wolfhound who led us to the front door. Our room, on the top floor, was large light and airy and furnished very elegantly. We were to find out at breakfast next day that there is a resident ghost "Hilda" and we were in her room! The staff were very helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. Cannot wait for another opportunity to visit Ballyseede Castle again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Such a beautiful time.!!

The staff was fantastic. We got to know each of them and felt like we knew them for life. Tim, Paul, Eddie and Esther, thank you for making our experience sooooo memorable. The stories you shared made this a most memorable experience

We also loved meeting Mr. Higgins and Einstein. They just added to the whole charm. I don't think we will ever forget them. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flemside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews