We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard Na Coille Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 54 Tralee B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great location - walking distance to town. Also very good location for day trips to locations in the southwest of Ireland. A really good Irish breakfast to start your day as well. Sorcha was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jg112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We travelled around Ireland and we all agreed, that the two nights at Ard Na Coille were the best of our holidays. The rooms were very clean, beautiful and comfortable, like the whole house of the lovely family. Around the accomodation it's quiet and green, but the city centre of Tralee isn't far away by foot. The breakfast was really nice and we had a great choice of menus. I would recommend that B&B to everyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viktoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having deep roots in Ireland and a mother from Tralee, it was great to stay in a place that felt like home: Ard na Coille B&B, a short walk from the town centre. From the moment we came in, we felt welcome with the open door and tea made. Sorcha and Colm, the two proprietors, could not do enough for us, especially welcome given the busy Festival week when we stayed. The rooms were spotless and comfortable; bathrooms en suite and with nice hot showers; and the breakfast abundant and delicious. This B&B is located in a bucolic part of Tralee, easy walking distance to town and all the fun that our eight year old enjoyed. We will definitely come back again. Sincerely, Lally Family

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Where to start? We had a couple of days here and had a great experience with our hosts who really do have the knack of treating you as if they have known you forever in fact it was like being at a very good friends. The breakfast was brilliant and set us up for the day, it truly was a "Full Irish" with all the trimmings.
Can't recommend this B & B highly enough, even down to a lift into town rather than a taxi, that really is going the extra mile.
Really good position for town or even exploring further afield. A great nights sleep was had in a very comfortable bed, on top of all that it was peaceful and very welcoming. Well done you are the tops.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After 5 days in hotels, staying here was a welcome breath of fresh air. We were welcomed by our host who brought us in and made us coffee and brought us sweets. She also answered all our questions about the community and pointed out some great sights in Tralee. She is an excellent hostess. She even left our toddler play in the kids playroom off the kitchen, while the grown-ups got to chat. My young fellow enjoyed himself so much, he didn't want to leave! The breakfast was excellent! The house is located only a few minute walk to Tralee, which was really convenient. A note to all you drivers out there: make sure you get a Tralee map, don't rely on Google Maps, the directions coming from Dingle didn't match the actual street names.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunburyTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My kids and I stayed at Ard Na Coille Bed and Breakfast for 18 days. It was our first trip to Ireland, and although it rained most every day, we had a fabulous time! We were warmly greeted and felt so much at home, my kids were actually depressed when it was time to leave!!! They have a beautiful house with clean, comfortable rooms, and the food was terrific! Sorcha and Colm were the best hosts --- very helpful in giving us ideas of things to do and places to see, and even helped us out with rides at times. The location is just a short (5 min.) walking distance to the movie theater, aquadome, and a lovely walking trail along the canal. Town is just a minute or so beyond that, where there is also a convenient bus stop. We would definitely recommend this place for anyone, all the great reviews speak for themselves. I can't wait to visit Ireland again --- thanks a million, Sorcha and Colm, for all the effort you put forth to make our trip fun and memoriable!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deserttreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Anne and myself stayed in Ard Na Coille for two nights when we attended a wedding recently, and it was fabulous in all respects. Comfortable beds in a nicely furnished room, lovely breakfasts, a great welcome, and the offer of a lift to any place in the locality. Highly Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.6 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
660 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Park Georgian Guest House
0.9 mi away
Castlemorris House
Castlemorris House
#4 of 54 in Tralee
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Na Coille Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Na Coille Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14 An Choill | Ballyard, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range: $80 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern family-run B&B with bright comfortable restfully decorated rooms each with power shower en-suite, TV, tea/coffee, table/chairs and hairdryer. Breakfast is cooked to order. Situated in a quite cul-de-sac (no passing traffic) but only a 10 min walk from Tralee Town Center. Perfect for walking the Dingle Way or for drive touring the kingdom of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ard Na Coille Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing