We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tralee Bay Holiday Village
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped off there this evening with the kids with no idea of what the place was like. What a treat!! The staff are lovely, the kids food menu is reasonably priced and the quality of the kids food was superb, from the freshly battered fish to the home cooked burgers on baps. Our mains were great and the staff were lovely and friendly. One of the best bar style dining experiences in a long long time. Prices are pfect for the style of food and its a great place for a family meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazzaMazzaSwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife , myself and two boys (8 and 4) stayed here for for a week at the begining of July 2013. This place is the friendliest and most welcoming that we have ever stayed in in this country. The owner Barrie is a true gentleman and even provided a lovely welcome hamper with some very practical supplies. The houses are FULLY equipped and my wife was particularly pleased to have a washing machine and full sized clothes line to dry all the washing!! 3 HUGE bedrooms (2 ensuite) so plenty of room for a family of up to 7, no problem. The restauran/bar (The seven hogs) that is attached to the complex was great and the food was reasonably priced. There is a magician that goes around the tables performing for the kids which was really great.

The local area is fantastic for an outdoor family holiday, the Maherees strand is only a 10min walk from the complex but the beach is a little stoney, I would suggest driving 2 miles towards Camp as the beaches are much better for a swim. It's all really just part of one massive long stretch of beach and you could walk all the way along if you prefer.

A little further up the road is Castlegregory with more beautiful beaches and plenty of surfing activities for older kids and adults. We spent a lovely day up at Glentenassig forest which was amazing with really great walks around the lakes and forests, not suitable for buggies if you have smaller kids but as long as they can walk themselves you'll have a geat time.

I could go on and on. Highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We will be back!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Navanman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From start to finish, Tralee Bay and the Seven Hogs is without question the best place to stay when holidaying in the general Dingle area. The houses are fully equipped and comfortable with very good rates. The food in the bar is fantastic. The Ribs, Chicken Burger and Chef special burger are my personal recommendations.
Like all outdoor holidays, weather plays a big part in any stay but we have just returned from a 2 week stay in desperate weather yet we still thoroughly enjoyed it.
Barrie the owner really looks after his customers, and we had a welcome pack plus fuel for the fire on our arrival.
I really cant say enough about the place as a whole. From the cottages, to the pub/restaurant, Tralee Bay/Seven Hogs has it all.

Absolutely ideal for families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 wk in Sept 2012 & booked again for 1 wk in June 2013. Perfect location for young family with loads of things to do in the area. Pub & restaurant on your door step serving great food. Practically had a whole beach to ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a great week we stayed the first week of June this year and we had fab weather. We loved the location , shop and pub on our doorstep,the beach just a five minute drive because I have three kids under three , but it's within walking distance a short stroll. A very cheap holiday as no torment from amusements or shops that kids want ,want ,want.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Arrived there with a large group form the BMW motorcycle clun (Irish Section) for the Thatch Rally. The accomodation was clean, warm and well appointed.
We were all made very welcome and the restaurant (Seven Hogs) made us feel at home.
The roast baby pork ribs are to die for!

Whilst there we were pointed towards the lake in the hills above the venue (about 3 or 4 miles) the views there and the board wark round the lake should not be missed.

Looking forward to visiting again/

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisR357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wanted to get away from it all. Although only 2 people had a lovely three bed holiday cottage complete with wood burning stove.Like home from home it was so well equipped, spotlessly clean and lots of brochures etc around giving details of the surrounding area. Barrie the manager was super, nothing was too much trouble and supplied maps and information of various places to visit which would be of interest. There was a bar restaurant located beside the cottages and the food and staff were excellent. Definitely worth a visit and could actually be used a family get together if a number of the cottages were rented at the same time. Short walk to a beautiful beach which was very quiet at the time of year we visited

Room Tip: as this was self catering, any of the cottages would be ideal. both upstairs bedroom were en suite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0retta07777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
13.5 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
11.8 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
750 reviews
14 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 14 in Tralee
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
806 reviews
11.5 mi away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#12 of 14 in Tralee
94 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tralee Bay Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tralee Bay Holiday Village

Address: Aughcasla, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing