We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Co Kerry Welcome awaits you ....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tralee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlands Caravan Park
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
tipperary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Co Kerry Welcome awaits you ....”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We are a family of 5, and puppy, we have just returned from a 8 night stay at this great spot 10 mins walk from Tralee town centre.
As soon as we arrived we received a very friendly warm welcome from Mike, we received a brochure and map of Kerry and were alloud to pick our pitch,.
The pitches would be hardcore and level they would be of a good size and (considering the amount of rain we had in the first 24 hours) great drainage, (we had fab weather thereafter) each pitch has a very close proximity to electricity and drain for waste water. The site would have about 130 pitches and it broken into 3 sections so that it feels spacious but comfortable, there is waste ground behind the site which is ideal for walking for a dog.
The showers and toilets are large plenty of showers cubicles for all and spotless, with the solar panels there is always hot water, the laundry is also large enough , 3 washing machines and 3 dryers, I would say a little expensive though, €12.00 for wash and hours dryer (€3.00 for half hour dry).
This is a ideal site for kids, small playground, swings, slides, playhouse, sand based,I would add that maybe this should be looked at, due to rain and sand not mixing alot of wet and unessary washing could be avoided if this playground base was changed, some of the other facilities are a basic games room, Lego table, TV room, BBQ area, (under cover), campers kitchen. Motor home facilities, CDU ect. There is also discount for the Aquadome 2 adult, 3 kids €30 for all day, great savings.
There is no shop but basics are sold at reception, quite time is 11pm to 12am Mike would go around site every evening and offer a gentle reminder if needed. I mustn't forget the wonderful Black Lab Finn, who really is the Boss of the Woodlands lol, he doesn't bother you unless you approach him, and the just a big old gentle dog.
I hope that this site continues to be friendly, as we have noticed that some sites are getting to big for there boots and forgetting customer service, friendlyness and manners. I might add we only booked for 4 nights and stayed for 8 so that should say it all, hope you enjoy the rest of the season guys and thanks. Emma, Aidan, kids and Pudsey

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aniteout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Hi Emma,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our park. It was a pleasure having you and your family onsite and we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves so much. Finn is delighted to get a mention in the review too! We look forward to your next visit, all the best

Mike, Martina & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    14
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
68
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed here with our camper a few times over the last few years with our three young boys and have had a good experience each time.

The owners are friendly and manage their site well. A little expensive but most Irish sites are.... probably due to the short season.

The campsite is on the Southern side of the Town on mostly flat ground. It is a fairly large site by Irish standards but segmented well so it doesn't look big at first glance.

Safety is always our prime concern and we like to keep or three young boys in view at all times. The layout of this site suits our needs in this regard and they can run and cycle around while we have a tipple.... or two.

Facilities on site are as follows:
Games room - basic
TV room - OK
BBQ Area - pretty good
Playground - Poor and definitely in need of investment
Campers Kitchen - OK and clean
Toilet Block - OK and clean
Shop - No shop on site but they do sell some of the basics at reception
Pitch - Good size and well maintained

The centre of Tralee is about 10 mins walk. The Aqua Dome is next door and is a good spot to spend a few hours even if a little expensive

All things considered this is a good site and worth a visit mainly because of its close proximity to Tralee.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our park and your detailed feedback on our facilities. It is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you and your family feel so safe and secure here.
We review our facilities year on year and in recent years have added the all weather BBQ & Picnic area, invested in Solar panels to heat the water for showers, increased the size of our hardstands, upgraded the games in the games room and have installed a Lego corner for the kids. The Aqua Dome is a little expensive if you buy your ticket directly from them but with our family pass for €30 you are saving about 40% on the price of general admission. We also keep a close on on the prices of other 4 star parks across the country and keep our rates very competitive and in fact we are cheaper than many other parks, even those of a lesser standard.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Mike McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerea, Roscommon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

we have just returned home from 10 days in woodlands camping and caravan in tralee, we have 2 boys aged 13 and 8, and they loved it it was our 1st time there and hope it wont be our last, we did the camp and splash for the 7 nights, so we could go to the aquadome and aqua golf as many times we like in the 7 days, the weather was so nice we stayed extra nights, the campsite was quite from 11, all kids in caravan by then which was great cos everyone got good nights sleep, we could relax cos the kids all played togetter and the teenagers had there own space, there is a few things i would like to see more for the kids to do in the evening, games, or movie nights, or maybe sports days, know there was something on a few days after we left,,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheleh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Michele,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We really appreciate it. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves both onsite and at the Aqua Dome and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again sometime.

All the best,

Mike, Martina & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I love this site. But most importantly the kids love it too. This is our third time back here. The layout of the park is nice and spacious so you're not too close to the next caravan. Cleanliness and tidiness is one thing that you certainly notice around the site. It's always clean and well presented. Shower and toilet block is well equipped and clean.
You can see that the owners take a lot of pride in their park and it's also reflected in how the treat their guests. Our first time here was in a tent a few years ago and a bad storm blew up late in the evening, which was shaking our tent quiet violently. It was so bad it bent a load of the steel pegs. Mike was on hand to help us with secure the tent and offer any assistance. It was very much appreciated.
We will certainly keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bazxf95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are delighted that you & the kids enjoy coming here so much and we look forward to many more visits from you. All the best, Mike, Martina & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from the woodlands site after a family break (2 Ads and 3 young childern 5, 4, 2), we originally booked for 4 nights and ended up staying for 11 nights!
The facilities are clean and well looked after. Security is excellent and the owners certainly kept control of any noisy/rowdy visitors.
Our kids loved the place and could not keep them out of the play park. The location for exploring Kerry is great, we travelled around most of the county and found this to be the perfect location.
The owners (Mike and Martina) were very helpful and could not do enough to make us feel more at home, nothing was too much trouble.
We will certainly be returning to Kerry and to the Woodlands!
The Moore Family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hi Roland,

Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure having you & your family onsite and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

All the best,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Decided to stopover in Tralee on way home in our Motorhome with my wife. As always the rain plays a big part in cutting back holidays but in Woodlands Campsite there is a great set up to keep you dry in and around the reception / facility area as you use the services on site. The park itself is spotless, open , yet no one in your face, with the sites well organised with plenty room.
The Dome (swimming pool) is just 5 minutes away' if you walk slowly' with the town just 10 minutes.
There is a small shop on site but i would advise to get provisions before arrival as outside of high season it would not be fully stocked. However we were short on milk that morning and Michael the owner produced a pint glass and raided his own fridge, a small touch , but much appreciated and just typical of the whole set up in Woodlands.

I would highly recommend this site as with all the local amenites ,walking/cycling track, The Dome, and local hotel practically on site, with the weather we get there is something for young and old here so call in and enjoy, we did !

Martin Grace
Kilkenny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin1956Kilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hi Martin,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review, its much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again sometime,

All the best, Mike, Martina & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We've stayed at woodlands a number of times, excellent location and well looked after with improvements every year. No noisy neighbours and with the cinema and aqua dome within a few yards you'll not be stuck for something to do.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnyd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikemac09, Owner at Woodlands Caravan Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and taking the time to review our park. We are delighted to you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind Regards,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tralee hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tralee Benners Hotel
Tralee Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
174 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Caravan Park

Property: Woodlands Caravan Park
Address: Dan Spring Road, Tralee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Tralee
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Park is a multi-award winning Caravan & Camping Park located in Tralee, Co. Kerry. Nestled at the foot of the Slieve Mish mountains in a quiet woodland setting our park offer peace and tranquility within a 10 minute walk to the centre of Tralee town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodlands Caravan Park Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing