We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty Food!”
Review of Treyvaud's

Treyvaud's
Ranked #15 of 191 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a family run Restaurant in the heart of Killarney serving local food prepared with an International twist for well over ten years now. We welcome you to Treyvauds and are sure that you will enjoy fantastic fresh food served with a friendly smile. We look forward to seeing you.Paul & Mark Treyvaud and all the team at Treyvauds. We are open seven nights a week
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Despite arriving on a quiet Monday night at a relatively late hour our host immediately received us warmly. The kitchen staff despite being held late did not disappoint while serving up a very hearty offering. Both the lamb (excellent) and meat balls hit the spot after a long hike! Cannot really comment on the atmosphere as it was a quiet night but fair play to Treyvaud's for being 1. open and 2. welcoming us when many other restaurants were closed.

Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treyvauds, Owner at Treyvaud's, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi Kate. Sorry for the delay in responding!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was no problem at all staying open for you!!

Paul Treyvaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 354 of 632 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We made it a point to visit the best/highest reviewed places for dinner in the towns we visited because we wanted to have great meals while we were in Ireland, and you can only eat so much of the more-or-less same pub food (albeit that is generally much less expensive). With that in mind, we chose Treyvaud's. While we didn't have reservations (we were there early - 5:30pm), they sat us promptly. Service was fine, I didn't have any issues with the water (apparently several people whine about it - they clearly haven't been places where you can't get ANY water except bottled). The food was actually rather good, although the prices definitely reflected the quality. We had the house red wine, which I thought was fine, although a touch spendy still. While I was pleased enough with our visit, I wouldn't go so far as to say it was a "must".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treyvauds, Owner at Treyvaud's, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Jeremy. Thanks very much for your review. I wish you had of gone into more detail as to what you ate so I could comment on what we consider to be excellent value food and beverages. The fact that we are in business over 11 years now would tend to prove that we do offer excellent value and a top quality restaurant experience. Thats the beauty of Tripadvisor, you get to see so many opinions and thankfully there ARE plenty of people that consider us a must visit!! I hope that continues so we can trade successfully for another 11 years at least. Thanks again for your review, it's very much appreciated

Paul Treyvaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We loved the food here and the service was excellent but the ambience really didn't do it justice. The tables were bare wood and we felt they could do with tablecloths and a candle to make it feel 'special'. The old pop tunes in the background weren't to our liking but perhaps we are in the minority. The service was good and friendly but was less polished than you would expect from a top restaurant. All in all we probably wouldn't go back as there are lots of other places to try in the town, but thats not to mark the quality of food down in any way.

Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treyvauds, Owner at Treyvaud's, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi JohnUK. I'm not too sure how to respond to your review! We do have candles on our tables and we don't have table cloths for a reason. We are not a fine dining restaurant. Well, we reckon we'd whoop most of those places with our food anyway, but a lot of people aren't comfortable in those settings and we want people to sit down and chill out and enjoy their time with us. Anyway, thanks very much for taking the time to post up your review, we very much appreciate all the feedback we get from our customers and hopefully we'll see you back again sometime

Paul Treyvaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I found this restaurant by looking at Tripadvisor's reviews and it did not disappoint.
I booked dinner for 7 people on a Saturday night, all Irish but none from Killarney.
Its located on the High Street, so easy to find.
We shared a few starters, all were great especially their Bruschetta, and our main courses were delicious (majority fish dishes), we shared a few deserts, wrapped up with coffees and they called us a taxi when we were ready to go. I hope to return on my next visit to Killarney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HarringEH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treyvauds, Owner at Treyvaud's, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi HarringEH999. Thanks very much for your great review! Really appreciate you taking the time to post it up. Glad you all had such a great experience with us and see you next time you're down in Killarney

Paul Treyvaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great food and the service is excellent and a great atmosphere is cozy and welcoming. The steak sandwich which they serve for lunch on the weekends is second to none. The chips are cooked in drippings (amazing flavour) and the steak is striploin and is defiantly much bigger then the usual sliver of topside that you usually get. €11:95 what a bargain.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank howareyounow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treyvauds, Owner at Treyvaud's, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hi Howareyounow. Thanks a mill for such a great review. It's one of our most popular dishes from our lunch menu. We think its great value too!! Make sure to say hi the next time you are in!!

Paul Treyvaud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treyvaud's also viewed

 

Been to Treyvaud's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing