We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Killarney”
Review of Windway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windway House
Ranked #14 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Quiet, friendly great location. Directions could be better but one we found it, our stay was delightful. Ice and a central refrige. for quests was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Clearwater_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 397 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed here for two nights while in Killarney. Frank was so nice and welcoming. Rooms were nice, bed was comfortable. Room size was small once our luggage was in the room, but we were there to sleep not sit around the room the whole time. Breakfastw was great.

Rooms had wi-fi and there was a computer to be shared by all guests. There was a small fridge in the hall as well with an ice box - which we loved being able to get ice for our diet cokes.

It was a very short walk into the Killarney shop/restaurant area. The house is a very quiet area of town which was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We've been staying at the Windway House for a few years now and we always recommend it to others when we can. Frank is such a Gem and he runs his B and B with the coziness you would expect but with the level of service of a 5 star hotel. And you just can't beat the location from town, just a short walk to everything. We can't wait to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarbyTarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I read the reviews for the Windway House before we arrived in Ireland. I knew just by reading the reviews that myself, and my 9 friends, were going to have a great stay here. Frank is amazing. We stayed at 2 other B&B's before we arrived at Franks. They dont come close in comparison to the Windway House. Its a few blocks from the city center which is awesome! Before we left for Ireland I reached out to Frank via email about tours. He had our tour to the ring or kerry pre booked for us, and had the bus pick us up from the B&B. When we arrived he also helped us figure out what else we should see during our stay. The House is huge, we definitly made our share of noise with 9 people, but Frank was a good sport about it. He even drove 2 of our friends to Killarney National Park while the rest of us went horse back riding. There is free internet access, and the rooms are spacious and clean. The best time in Ireland was Killarney. If I ever go back I wouldnt think of any other place to stay. The breakfast was by far the best at the Windway House. You were able to choose from a few things, it wasnt just bacon and eggs. It was an all around great experience, if you are going to Killarney make sure you stay at the Windway House!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyPants79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Before leaving the US, I did quite a bit of research on B&B's and decided to stay at Windway House and let me say it did NOT dissapoint!! Frank was the most gracious host and we stayed and different locations all across Ireland. The rooms were clean and comfy (and large), the breakfast was cooked to order and scrumptious, but most importantly the location was just perfect, minutes walking down to the main town. All four of us had a wonderful and enjoyable stay and we sincerely thank Frank for his kind and generous hospitality. We will be back the next time we are in Ireland :)

Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank smlovesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

i went to this b&b with a load of friends. everyone of us loved staying there. i cant say enough about Frank, the owner of the b&b. he drove me and my brother out to Kilarney National park to see the Muckross house and waterfall just cuz he's a nice guy. He also offers great advice on what to see and do. the place is clean and located a block away from Killarney city center. breakfast and internet access also thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Windway House was our first introduction to B&B's. What a wonderful experience!! The room was very nice, it was in walking distance to the town of Killarny and the service was great. Frank was very helpful suggesting places to visit and setting things up for us. We enjoyed our stay there very much and would definitely revisit again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geejapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.1 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
0.4 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#12 of 143 in Killarney
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windway House

Address: Windway House New Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $109 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windway House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWSFLASH...TRIPADVISOR AWARD "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing