We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motor Bike Repairs”
Review of Windway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windway House
Ranked #11 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Motor Bike Repairs”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

2nd time staying with Mary & Frank in there beautiful home, arrived Thursday afternoon with broken bike, Frank not only found me a welder, but took me, and waited while part was welded back together, rooms very clean and tidy, breakfasts very good, nothing is too much trouble for them, near town centre walking distance, great place to stay, for the beautiful countryside round Killarney, can not recommend to highly.

Room Tip: singles or doubles both are good all on 1 level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    54
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
207
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Windway House for 2 nights. The B & B is well-located on a quiet street within walking distance to town. Our room was quite small, but very comfortable and clean. We opted to only bring one of our suitcases into the room as there was no room for 2 cases. That left my husband running out to the car to get things from his case as he needed them, but it was really not a big deal. Frank, the owner, was very chatty and gracious. He was only too happy to advise us of things to do and places to see. Breakfast was very good, although you must pre-order your option the night before. We had access to a shared computer in the hallway which was a great bonus. After a long day of sightseeing it was nice to be able to check e-mails and keep in touch with home. We enjoyed our time in this B & B and would recommend it as a clean, friendly and well-located option in Killarney.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMac1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
365 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pro: Nice clean well appointed room, average size room and bath. Very helpful and friendly hosts as they provided an extension cord to plug in additional items. First floor easy access.
Con: Only on street parking
Definetely would recommend staying there.



A note about B&B's: We stayed in 7 B&B's during our trip, all 4 star or more. Generally they do not provide any wash cloths and just hand soap, no shower soap. As a rule the rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, about 3' x 9' with just enough room for the shower stall, toilet and sink. The showers are small some just 2' square. Most do not have any alarm clocks, have dim lighting especially the bathrooms and few or no outlets for charging phones, tablets, etc. That being said they were all clean with nice bedding, all provided a full delicious Irish breakfast and all the hosts were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My son & I just returned from our Ireland vacation. We did not have a reservation and Frank was nice enough to accommodate us. He welcomed us like family and helped us plan our day. The room was small but worked fine for the 2 of us. Short walk to the center of town. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robenz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I chose this location based on reviews and the location and was not disappointed! As with almost all Irish B&Bs, the room is a bit on the small side, but very comfortable and clean - probably the largest (Irish) bathroom that we had on our visit! The description of the location is perfect - but actually leaves out that you can almost see the cathedral from the property and once you are here you park your car and can walk everywhere in town - that was awesome considering our trip covered 5 counties so we spent a lot of time in the car. The location is quiet, Frank is very nice and quite funny and the breakfast was very good! He recommended a show one evening and we loved it! When/if I return to Killarney, I will definitely stay at The Windway House!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked this based on Tripadvisor reviews and the location, and we were not disappointed! Frank is a very informative and courteous host. We travelled with teenagers and needed two rooms and he set us up with rooms next to each other. The breakfast was very good with several options to choose from. Walking distance to the downtown area as well. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Thought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The room was clean however it was small for a family of 3. We had no place to put our luggage and we had to block the door in order to be able to move around the room. The bathroom was also very small. For the price we paid I expected more. Frank the owner was very nice and friendly and gave us some tips regarding restaurants and bars with live music. Breakfast was very nice. The B&B is well located with a walking distance from the center of Kilarney and yet in a very quiet street with lots of parking spaces. I would recommend this B&B to couples but if you're traveling with kids, try to find B&B with larger rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiDa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
12.8 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.6 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windway House

Property: Windway House
Address: Windway House New Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windway House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWSFLASH...TRIPADVISOR AWARD "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing