We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Killarney”
Review of Windway House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windway House
Ranked #11 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value in Killarney”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and enjoyed it very much. Frank and Mary had thought of everything to make their guests comfortable, and no details were missed - you would be hard pushed to find such amenities in a 4 star hotel. I was particularly grateful for the wifi although the connection was not always very good. Parking for the car was also appreciated. The breakfast was very tasty and there was a good choice for all - thank you Mary.

We were lucky to have the weather warm and sunny whilst we went to the Gap of Dunloe which is absolutely spectacular and well worth a visit - we booked through O'Connor Tours in the town. We did the vintage car, boat and jaunting coach through the Gap and it was fantastic.

Should we ever visit Killarney in the future we would stay at Windway House again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJW69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    54
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
74
207
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed this place; it has many of the amenities of a hotel with the personal attention of a Bed and Breakfast. Frank was quite friendly, welcoming, and helpful and the rooms (bedroom, dining room, computer area and living room) were all nicely decorated, clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Windway house! Great location just off the main street. Frank was a great host and breakfast was delicious. My only tip would be to maybe update the decor (a bit too much like grandmas house), but its definitely not a complaint. It was clean and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclinds03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the night at Windway House during our holiday in Ireland. Windway House was by far the best place we stayed in Ireland. The owners, Frank and Mary, treated us like family. They made several great suggestions of places we had to see while in the area and served us an outstanding breakfast to start our day. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. When visiting Killarney, a stay a the Windway House is a MUST!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank InnsideKnowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This B and B has every little touch - reading lights on the lamps, a fridge for use of visitors, adapters on request, a safe in room. It is immaculately clean. The breakfast buffet is professional. Location is just a quick walk to city center with shops and pubs. Great find!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Windway House for 2 nights during our trip through Ireland. We loved the location as it is just a few blocks away from the heart of Killarney and you can walk to all the restaurants and pubs! Killarney is a great town to visit with so many things to see and do in the area and the Windway House is the perfect location while visiting the town. Frank, the owner, was a great host and was very accommodating to our needs. When we arrived he took the time to show us around and gave us a map of the town and pointed out some restaurants. He took his advice on the first night we were there and it was a wonderful dinner we had at The Bricin. Each morning he asked where we were headed for the day and then gave us perfect directions to get us there. The room and en suite was perfect in size and very comfortable and clean. We would recommend the Windway House to anyone that plans on traveling and staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madams07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a great location! We took a short walk right into the heart of town. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The breakfast was nice with many options. The free WiFi in the rooms and computer in the hall was also very helpful. A great place to stay when visiting Killarney which is an great town!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killarney
12.8 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.6 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#6 of 139 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windway House

Property: Windway House
Address: Windway House New Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Windway House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWSFLASH...TRIPADVISOR AWARD "CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE" 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing