We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my first time, and won't be my last” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not my first time, and won't be my last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

This was my second time staying in Scotts in 2010. I was down this time for a concert in the INEC. Like the last time I stayed, the reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We had food and a drink in the bar after arriving which was lovely. The location is just perfect and underground parking is so handy.
Thank you to everyone in Scotts. I will definitely be back when visiting Killarney. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanefromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
I would like to thank you for your review, did you know that we are a sister property to the INEC, and on occasion we can provide discounted tickets to certain concerts there. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay and that you availed of our free underground car parking which we provide to all of our guests during their stay in Scotts.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Scotts once more.

Best regards
Patricia O'Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    288
    121
    58
    35
See reviews for
134
392
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We had a 3 night stay over New year, great value package, included 3 nights B&B plus New Years Eve Dinner. (€199 pps)
The Hotel was spotless with lovely rooms, really decent food and very friendly staff.
The hotel has free underground parking and is ideally situated in the Town Centre, adjacent to shops, bars and resturants.
There is music in the downstairs bar most nights.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monamis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights on the 29/30 December. We had a huge room and bathroom! Breakfast in the mornings were lovely. Best fruit salad we've ever tasted!!! On the first morning coffee wasn't great but had improved by the second day. We had bar food for our diner when we arrived (best fish & chips I've ever had in a hotel) for the amount we had it was great value! Reception staff and everybody in the hotel were very friendly, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Djkerins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballinhassig, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

We recently stayed in Scotts hotel in Killarney on a one night stay away. This was my first time staying there and to be honest I wasnt too dissapointed. I got a good rate of €78 B&B for the two of us for the night which I was plesently surprised at. The hotel is quite nice and well laid out. it is in the middle of town so location is good too. The room was quite nice, in fact the bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom however the bathroom was quite cold there was no rad in there so you could feel the cold. The breakfast service was good, but felt that the staff were not very organised. I saw three different breakfasts come out to one person who asked for only three items instead of full breakfast, It took too long for my order to be taken. When I was there for breakfast it wasnt too busy but the service was slow enough to think they were run off there feet. However the breakfast was nice but I have had better quality of service elsewhere. Saying all that I would go back to the hotel if I was staying in Killarney again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James&Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youghal(cork)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed here about a year ago for 1 night we didnt have a great experience with a party going on in the room next to us all night rang down 3 times they were kept been given warnings but no joy it eventually calmed down round 5.30 in the morning. Anyways decided to giv it another go a few weeks back checked in for 2 nights got to our room after a while we noticed how cold the room was rang down the receptionist said that the heating isnt turned on till the evening fair enough we were going out anyway for a while and came back late that evening the room was absoluetly freezzing had a look at the rad and all the switches were broken, rang down and explained to the receptionist she wasnt overly sympathic i was the 1 that actually suggested we move as we were'nt staying in a cold room for 2 nights ,i would have been better off at home.There was no one to help us move our stuff we even had to drop our key off at reception and collect our other 1 .Settled in our new room went out for a bite to eat got back and the room seemed very chilly checked the rad and guess what it was broken as well the dial buttons were all pushed in, i gave up the will to live at this stage and couldnt bring myself to complain again surely the heaters in the rooms are all checked even once a year to make sure there working especially this time of year fair enough 1 been broken but 2 yere having a laugh..Definelty not going back there again no way hosay !!!! Anyone staying in Scotts in the near future bring an electric blanket with ye or ye'll freeze to death...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton,NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel was AWESOME! When we first arrived we knew from the looks of the lobby that it was going to be a great hotel. Rooms were really big and so were the bathrooms. On our first day we did a hike through Killarney and got stuck in a rain storm. When we got back to the hotel the woman at the front desk (Sarah) was kind enough to put our jackets and shoes in their dryer for us. The morning before we left our things were still a little damp and the staff was again more than willing to dry our things for us. Great staff. Great rooms. Great location. Wish we could've stayed for another night :( BUT I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieBeeClinton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed for one night over the weekend and we found this hotel really excellent. Our room and bathroom were spotless, staff friendly and helpful. Reception area very welcoming. The hotel is centrally situated and very convenient, Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing