We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveler rating
584
400
162
71
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
584
400
162
71
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location free underground parking central location centre of town residents bar reception staff lovely hotel deluxe room bar food train station last weekend hotel bar both mornings stayed here for two nights family room top class national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019

The husband and I had a comfortable stay in Scott's Hotel the weekend before Easter. He requested a quiet room and we got one on the 4th floor overlooking East Ave and the Killarney Park Hotel.
When checking in we weren't given directions to the lift and it was quite by chance we later discovered the second lift that brings you down to the car park. Some signage wouldn't go amiss.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful but congealed and lumpy scrambled eggs in a bain-marie are never appealing.
I didn't dislike Scott's but I can't enthuse about it. It was fine. Reasonable value at €190 for 2 pps and breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urania7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear Urania7,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

However I am disappointed that your stay was not what it should of been - we strive to ensure guest satisfaction. We thank you for sharing your comments and will take them under review.

Your constructive critiques, I will certainly share with the team and most certainly is an area we will strive for further improvement on.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

My family and I stayed here over the Easter holiday. The hotel is close to everything and in a very convenient location. The room was nice -and clean but a tad warm because they did not have air conditioning. Unfortunately the door in our room was stuck and did not open. Maintenance was not on site when we first checked in so they were unable to fix it. However the staff was very accommodating and brought us a fan and some extra toiletries when requested. The bathrooms were large, clean, and well-lit. The Irish breakfast was delicious and filling. I also really loved the selection of fruit that was offered each morning. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area!

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank breerodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear breerodriguez,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your review. We are extremely pleased that you and your family enjoyed there stay with us.

Breakfast really is the most important meal of the day and one we strive to perfect, we certainly do appreciate your kind words in relation to our offerings

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Stayed in Scotts for the past 2 nites and from the moment we arrived we had a great stay..Ladies on reception Friday afternoon were just that..Ladies!!Great friendly welcome and full of chat..Went to our double room on 2nd floor and after readin some bad reviews we were a bit worried but upon entry we were greeted with a beautiful room with a double and single bed which i can only describe as comfy as hell..iron,ironing board,hairdryer,flat screen TV,table and mirror(for the wife),full length mirror,tea and coffee making facilities and a wonderful double headed rain shower in a very modern bathroom greeted us through the door..Everythin u cud want for a comfortable stay really..
We ate in the bar on the first evenin which was reasonably priced,tasty and plentiful..Great outdoor covered courtyard with a massive TV screen for the sports lovers where there was music on both the Fri and Sat nites..Maybe it was because of the weekend that was in it but it was buzzing..From young people to the more mature this place is for everyone..Prices in bar are very reasonable considerin its a hotel of high quality so that was a bonus..Too often we stay in hotels where prices are a rip off but not Scotts..We had brekkie both mornins and i must say the pancakes and french toast are a treat..Food and beverages a plenty and very tasty for those who like to fill up before a long day ahead whether it be travellin around the ring of Kerry or whatever day filling activity you decide to do of which there are plenty..Never once encountered rude staff here..From the lovely receptionist who greeted us on our arrival Fri to the cleaning ladies and bar staff..All very pleasant and commendable..Free Wifi and Free parking which is hard to come by in a lot of Irish hotels these days added to our experience..So to round off we have no problem recommendin Scotts Hotel to anyone who wants a central location,friendly,clean hotel in the wonderful town of Killarney..

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank seamief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear seamief,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our rooms, our location and our team all add up to make Scotts Hotel Killarney a special place. We have recently invested in our bathrooms and the rain showers are proving very popular with our guests!

Scotts Bar also went under a huge refurbishment last November and the bar has been transformed into the Traditional Irish Bar, with live music 7 nights a week. We try and cater for all with 9 TVs in the bar, large outdoor screen, live rock bank in our heated & covered beer garden and live traditional Irish music in the main bar. There really is something for everyone!

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very clean, and friendly staff, right in the center of the town, near cinema great choice of places to eat, apartment for 5 people, handy when talking children on holiday, large sitting room dining area and kitchen

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Inspire807994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear Inspire807994,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our spacious Self Catering Apartments are very popular with families and with groups of friends.

Our location and our wonderful team all add up to make Scotts Hotel Killarney a special place.

We do hope to welcome you back very shortly.

Kindest regards,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

Staff were very nice and helpful . We upgraded to a suite but didn’t think much of it as I’ve stayed in bigger hotel rooms without paying the extra cost of so called suite prices , there wasn’t even a fridge in the room as we were there for 4 days and didn’t want to go out every night so we would’ve liked to put our wine in the fridge (I suppose it’s a way of the hotel making more money from you) Every morning at breakfast I asked for a green tea but to no avail was there any available any morning and there wasn’t even any in the room either which was a pity . But on the upside the parking was free .

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank DeborahHi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear DeborahHi2,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback.

Naturally it is disappointing to read that you were left unimpressed with your visit and for that I do apologize.

I have spoken with the Restaurant Manager and we do apologize that Green Tea was unavailable - we will rectify this immediately.

I do hope you would reconsider in staying with us, it would be a pleasure to have the opportunity of hosting you.

Best wishes,
Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews