We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - Central and beautiful rooms”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I have stayed in Scotts on business on a number of occasions now and have found the staff to be very helpful, the room to be clean and cosy and the location is as always fantastic -right in the heart of Killarney.
Leaving early for work I required breakfast to be served promptly and when i rang down to request this the staff were very helpful. Checking in late (11pm) i needed to get some food and again the staff were very obliging and offered to make a sandwich despite the fact the kitchen was closed.
The carpark is very convenient, not having to worry about parking etc. the free wireless too is much appreciated.
All in all I always look forwar to my trips to Scotts and will return again soon hopefully.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

My stay was off-peak, check in/out / breakfast service was attentive. Room was modern and surprisingly spacious. The TV was a bit fuzzy on some channels and the shower had a brief identity crisis, but very positive overall. Central location situated between the station and the town centre. Contemporary decor puts the mind at ease, although look closely and you can see where the builders cut corners. A very good 3star property- value for money. The lunch super special got me an american size main course, dessert, and a coffee for €13, which is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from a (very quick) 1 night break at Scotts hotel Killarney, from start to finish this hotel was a pleasure to deal with. I booked through their website for a one night Dinner Bed & Breakfast package in a deluxe suite. When we checked in to our room we were amazed at how gorgeous it was, a really special room. Our included dinner was nice, but not great, but we were so chuffed with our room that it almost didnt matter. We couldnt thank the staff enough for being so accommodating, friendly, efficient and helpful throughout our stay. Reception were very friendly and pleasant on check in and the same on check out. We had the most perfect valentines break away in Scotts hotel. It's also in a prime location as your right on the main street. Its a really lovely hotel, and i think it's now one of my favourites. Cant wait to go back..Thank you guys for creating the perfect night away for us!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlepiggens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I recently stayed at Scotts hotel for a two night break. On check in the receptionist was very unfriendly, didnt make eye contact or utter a word to us as he checked us in. We stayed in a standard non smoking bedroom, however the bedroom stank of smoke. We asked the receptionist could we move to another room the next morning as we could not sleep that night with the smell. She (another receptionist to the one who checked us in) was very unfriendly and unhelpful and said that they were fully booked up and could not offer us another room. After demanding a refund for our second nights stay they eventually backed down and got us another room. The second room was near the bar and very noisy at night time. I would agree with the other reviewers comments that the hotel in general looks better on the website than in reality. Staff are extremenly unfriendly and very unhelpful!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queenieWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Scotts is in an ideal location. The bar and reception area are fine but the bedrooms are like something out of the 1980s and are very shabby. Some of the hotel may have been remodelled but the bedrooms we stayed in were not great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOJITO69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Scott’s Hotel Killarney. We very much appreciate our guest taking the time to tell us about their stay.
Customer satisfaction is our utmost priority and we are very disappointed to learn of this customer’s content.

We have an array of room types varying from our standard rooms, deluxe suite to two bedroom apartments that have been newly built or revamped recently. We would recommend that if a customer wishes to make any special request e.g. specific room, near lift etc that they contact our Reception Team directly, who will in turn do their utmost to accommodate their request.

Thank you again for your comments and be assured of our commitment to addressing them.

Kind Regards

Scotts Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

stayed in the hotel for two nights for new years eve.the bedroom was nothing like the pictures on internet our room was very old fashioned and rundown need alot of cleaning. it smelled of cigarete smoke .we had room service for breakfast waited over an hour for if ,we ordered boiled eggs they were not even cooked the full irish was also very poor.had dinner one night in restaurant it was freezing cold ,soup for starter it was like water and full of grease and for mains chicken with white wine sauce ,i was starving afterwards,i would recommend westlake chinese restaurant very nice and good value for money.hotel is in a great location with parking and right beside every thing hotel entertainment very good staff very friendly.i would stay at this hotel again but i would book one of the new bedrooms and i would not eat in restaurant again our pay for breakfast.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank vickykildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2010

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our disappointment with the above reviewer’s comments on their recent stay in Scott’s Hotel Killarney. Trip Advisor is a valuable source of customer feedback, both positive and negative comments.

It is unfortunate that this reviewer did not contact a member of our management team to express her dissatisfaction with the hotel during their stay, where we could have done our utmost to rectify the situation immediately.

Regarding the issues you addressed in your review.

We have an array of room types, varying from standard rooms to deluxe suites that have been recently refurbished. Rooms are allocated at time of booking and if a special request is made for a specific room types, our reception team will endeavour to accommodate such request. Scotts Hotel is a non-smoking hotel, however this policy can be extremely difficult to implement. Each guestroom is fitted with highly sensitive smoke alarms however some guests will go to extraordinary lengths in order to smoke in their room and we can only apologise for the discomfort caused.

I sincerely apologies that your breakfast was late arriving and I have spoken to our Head Chef, we are addressing the issue at present.

Our Restaurant is extremely popular with both our guest and local in Killarney, we are highly committed to providing quality food and service to all our patrons of The Courtyard Restaurant.

Again, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Scott’s Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Scott’s Hotel in the near future. If you would like to reserve accommodatin for a future stay please contact our Front Office Manager Siobhan Lucey. We will endeavour to make your stay a memorable for all the right reason next time round.

Yours sincerely

Scott’s Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Scotts Hotel is right smack in the middle of everything in Killarney. It's close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, Ross Castle, and the Ring of Kerry. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with all of our questions. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The pub at the hotel was fantastic and one of the best we ate at during our entire trip through Ireland. We couldn't get the wireless to work for some reason, but not a big deal for us. Great reception area where you could sit by the fire in the evening.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank PDXORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, Scotts Managment Team at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Scotts Hotel Killareny and particular your comments regarding our accommodation & bar food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Scott's Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Scott's Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.4 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $103 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional four star family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing