We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room/ Central Location/ Lovely Christmas Menu”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice room/ Central Location/ Lovely Christmas Menu”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Scotts Hotel at the weekend & really enjoyed our stay. Location is perfect – no need to spend any extras on taxis etc. to get to/from Killarney. Free Car Parking. Room was nice/ whatever you need was there/ would rate it even between 3 & 4 star – it’s only rated as 3* but would give even more/ closer to 4* Hotel. Food was lovely/ all fresh/ kids menu has a good value. Bar looked really busy with all Christmas parties & get together taking place. I noticed some complaining about noise etc. I don’t mind this – it is the centre of Killarney/ coming to Christmas/ it was great to feel the ‘Buzz’ atmosphere with so many things happening in Killarney. Reception area is really nice/ big Christmas tree/ comfortable chairs to sit down/read the newspaper/ fireplace/ you can get this nice Welcome feeling that you get in Irish Hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wild_scully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Past Gues
It’s a joy to read your review of our Killarney hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We’re so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over the Festive celebrations. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel and are so glad you enjoyed your time here. As a family owned hotel, it’s important to us that each guest experience that personal touch and know we’re delighted they chose to stay at the Scotts Hotel. We’re also glad you found our lobby area inviting. Thank you again for your review and recommendation. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Best regards

Dan McCarthy- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    301
    124
    59
    36
See reviews for
139
411
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Central.
If you have to be in town and will be up late, very late, this hotel would be okay.
Very large rooms. Ours had no bathtub. Shower instead.
We did ask for a quiet room if possible and were told we would have one. Quite the opposite. No response or feedback from hotel with regard to need for a quieter room or sleeplessness.
It seemed to us that the front desk staff was flat out "numb and indifferent".

Room Tip: Room 327 and adjacents, lower will also be extremely noisy. They are above parking garage with a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Smack bang in middle of Killarney hotel is lovely and clean staff really friendly and helpful would def go again food is fab too only a short walk to main pubs :-)) would really recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Right across the courtyard from the hotel are Scotts apartments they are fantastic, spacious and spotlessly clean.
The kitchen is fully equipped and there was tea coffee and sugar there but no milk so remember to stop at the shop or bring your jug to reception and ask for a top up.
The apartment was very warm and we enjoyed our time relaxing between sightseeing and visiting local bars and restaurants. Its in the centre of town so no taxis and the car park is free to residents.
I stayed with my husband but the apartments are equally as nice for families or groups.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bumblebeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel was in a great location in the middle of the shops, restaurants and pubs. The room did look as though it needed to be updated but it didn't affect our stay. The bed was hard but surprisingly okay to sleep on. The hot breakfast was really good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Alexandria, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel was part of a Groupon package that we'd purchased. It's obviously an older place, but I agree with the other reviews, the decor was very dated and the beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast was not included in our stay. No washclothes in the room. The staff was friendly enough, but not overly so. Parking was ok, but not convenient. Not easy to find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olliegram63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The lobby of this hotel is beautifully decorated and looks like a perfect mix of modern and classic, and the room. So are just plain outdated. Negative: Small rooms, uncomfortable mattress, old television. There is absolutely no sound proofing. We heard every footstep from anyone who came out of the elevator or up the stairs, and every person who walked past us. Parking had to be validated with a card and we were given one that didn't work, which resulted in us having to park again, and go all the way back to the lobby to get one that worked. When we checked out, the staff requested that we paid in cash for our breakfast the morning before. This seemed like an odd request as the credit card machine was right there. Positive : I really liked the location, within walking distance to many things, but not on the main drag. We had a spectacular view of the mountains from our room! We could hear church bells as well. The bar was great. We had dinner here one night and the bartender was very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsReitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#19 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing