We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous :)”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous :)”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I had the 2night b+b plus 1 dinner here. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everything was superb. We had a suite which I'm still speechless. It was immaculately clean. The bathroom was huge and the bed was super comfortable. Well done housekeeping :). We had breakfast downstairs the first morning and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a walk in killarney national park that day but with the rain and a hangover we spent the afternoon chilling in the room. So nice :) we had dinner that evening and because it was quiet we were sent to the bar - which was fine but we were brought through to our own little area all set up restaurant style. That was so lovely. Dinner was amazing. I had fish cake starter - yummy and steak for main. I ordered medium and it came out medium which doesn't always happen for me. We were so stuffed we brought out dessert to the room. We decided to try breakfast in bed for our second morning and it arrived well in time. Hot and tasty. Checkout was smooth. I loved this hotel hence the essay and I didn't want to leave. Thank you so much Scott's hotel. I WILL be returning :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    319
    134
    62
    39
See reviews for
158
438
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed in room 232 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The room with no window - only a door which had directly outside a safety glass- no balcony to walk out on to. Weekend we stayed it was raining, so to have the door open for air - rain pelted in on top of curtains and carpet. Room had massive crack along TV wall as if the pressure from next floor above was too much and the wall was ready to burst. .The bed was placed so tightly to the bureau that the pouffe which looked so comfy could not be used as it could not be pulled out enough to sit on. Bed was very comfortable and towels and linen spotless. Shower only - no bath. Ordered breakfast in bed next morning - no milk jug!! got a glass of milk instead of a milk jug.!
For a newly rebuilt hotel and having stayed there many times in the past I was very surprised as normally the standard is excellent.
Great free secure car parking and internet facilities.
Close to all restaurants and pubs with plenty choice of music.

Room Tip: request a room overlooking courtyard. Big difference as they are so comfortable and spacious compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A large group of us travelled to Killarney last weekend for my friends hen weekend. We stayed in Scott's Hotel. Throughout all the organising and booking, patricia was a fantastic help. From the minute we walked through the doors we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff at reception, Annette and Amanda. They made us feel so welcome throughout our stay and nothing was a problem. Everything went really smoothly. We ate in the hotel on the 1st pm, and the meal was lovely and again, great service. thanks ruth! Scott's hotel is In a perfect location too. We had a fabulous time and we will definitely be recommending Scott's Hotel to anyone going to Killarney. Great value for money also!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite which had a separate sitting room.... Really spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a Bed and Breakfast and one dinner bases and were very pleased with our overall experience. It was great value for money. Our room number 406 was very nice and comfortable. The location is great within easy walking distance of shops, pubs and restaurants. Parking and internet is free. Food was very nice and service was good. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at Scotts Hotel for the past years. We usually do down for the Killarney Races in either May or July. This year we headed down in May and stayed for three days of the races. We always leave our car in the hotel carpark and get a taxi out to the races.
It rained for most of the three days but we didn't need to use our car as the hotel is centrally located and as usual we booked a taxi for the races.As we were about to leave the car park having checked out of the hotel we noticed a white stain on the passenger door,looking up we discovered water leaking from the roof of the car park. We thought the mark would clean off when dry so we headed for home. The following day I tried again but had little success. I decided to take the car to the main Renault garage. They could not remove the mark and stated that the passenger side would have to be resprayed. They stated that the stain was probably caused by some corrosive substance in the water that leaked from the roof. I contacted the management at Scotts Hotel and sent on an estimate of the damage together with photos of the damage. Despite numerous calls to the manager and staff at the hotel no response was forthcoming. I think its fair to say that they did not want to know. This damage occurred while my car was parked in their carpark and therefore they should be prepared to accept responsible for the damage caused. As a loyal customer of the hotel for a long number of years this type of treatment is disappointing to say the least.Be careful where you park at Scotts carpark. You have been warned !!

Room Tip: Rear roomsbest for good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the city centre on Main street. This comes with a price. It was very noisy in the night and the room was too warm at night and we couldnt leave the windows open since it was a busy street. Everything is walkable from here in the centre. Killarney National park is less than 5min drive. The breakfast was not the best but sufficient to get you going for the morning. The reception staffs were very friendly and helped us with everything. We had to leave one morning very early and they arranged a continental breakfast for us which was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bebo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent two nights. Checkin fine, room adequate and free wifi. Good location in middle of town. Ate at restaurant and had a bad experience with tough meat! I didn't make a fuss and waitress very apologetic but it would have been nice to see meal refunded but they did refund the wine.

Despite this, I class this older hotel as upper 3 star and in a very touristy type town it serves the purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing