We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had booked into a different hotel, but due to an "incident" our booking was changed to Scotts. And what a pleasant surprise! The hotel is in an excellent location - step outside, and you are right in the town. Rooms were clean, and extremely large! though it was quite a long walk from lift to room. Lots of choice for breakfast.The only downer was that the breakfast staff did not know that we were there as independent travellers - they seemed prepared only for bus groups. However they fixed us up with a table for us in a bar, and served us quite quickly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

the scotts hotel is right at town center and near the national park. the rooms are large and clean. the staff is very friendly...and parking is included. loved this hotel. you're near everything. you can walk to the national park, but do take an umbrella. I understand why Ireland is so green. loads of rain.
step outside the hotel and you are near many restaurants, pubs and shopping. the hotel even has it's own bar. one night there was a band playing on the square in front of the bar/hotel. this also happened to be in front of our room. rather than fight it we decided to head down to the bar order a Guinness and enjoy the music. the band only played until 11pm. very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in Scotts for 3 nights on a bus tour. My husband needed to see a dentist for a broken filling and Siobhan, at the front desk, could not have been more helpful. She called a dentist, got him an immediate appointment and walked us to the office! We spent time in lots of hotels in Ireland, England and Scotland during our tour and Scotts and Killarney definitely made a good impression. Would recommend this great city-centre hotel for location and service! Scott's was the only hotel on our 26 day tour that had an offer to do laundry at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy714k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

stayed in scotts wed 2nd too sat 5th October, room 419 was very spacious for 1 ,great views of the mountains,breakfast and bar food were excellent in service and value,the staff were very friendly.night entertainment was the best I,ve heard in a long time,particulary the guy on Friday nite.corridors outside your room at nite time was very quiet so u got a good nites sleep.thanks scotts I had a lovely peaceful break.

Room Tip: room 419 for solo travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colmkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in Scotts on Friday night (4th Oct). The location is perfect to park up the . On arrival (after parking in the Free underground car park!!) we were delighted to be told they had given us a free upgrade to a suite. The room was massive with a separate lounge & kitchen area. It was beautiful. All the staff were very friendly & helpful, especially with a phone charger! :-) Great atmosphere in the hotel & the bar. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was the breakfast in the morning. The full irish was a bit lacking but there was no shortage of toast & you could choose from a cold buffet selection. Will definitely be back on our next trip to Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

cud not fault this hotel anywhere,from the day I arrived until my departure it was simply heaven.food drinks rooms and entertainment were 10 out of 10 .their were 2 members of staff that really stood out,i did not catch their names one was a young waitress with black hair very friendly even early in the morning when ur having breakfast and the other staff member was a Czech fella ,I think he was a hotel porter ,great in conversation .cheers.

Room Tip: room 419 very spacious 4 a solo traveller, ps music outside from 9 to 11 at nite ,did not mind it b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colmkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

had a nice break in Scotts hotel in Killarney town last weekend. Very comfortable clean room ,bathroom clean with change of towels each day and plenty of hot water when ever we wanted it. All the staff were very friendly, at breakfast the staff could not be more helpful the full irish breakfast was so good we didn't eat again until teatime .Yes I will go back

Room Tip: rooms to the front have the noise from the groups/bands at night but not overly loud enough to annoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.1 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
959 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $107 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional four star family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing