We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value for money”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part if a group and it was ideally located for going out at night. Rooms were lovely except a bit hot.

Breakfast was lovely also

I probably wouldn't come here on a couples break as it may be a bit noisy but it was perfect for a group of girls away for the weekend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fangdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Fangdoc,
Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay in Scott’s Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Killarney is a very popular town for group, couple and family holiday’s alike. Scotts is ideally located in the heart of Killarney town which as you say is ideal for group’s going out. We also have some deluxe rooms on the East Avenue road side of town which would be a lot quieter and offer beautiful views of the McGillicuddy Reeks and are ideal for couples looking for that romantic break away and all that Killarney has to offer.
Thank you again for your comments I hope you will consider us for your couples break away in the future.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Killarney
Co. Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend. Its an excellent hotel our room was huge and had all facilities and services we needed. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a suite and its view was spectacular. Room was so comfy I didnt want to leave. The location is perfect close to all roads in and out of Killarney close to all restaurants and pubs etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here w my elderly father and the room is dated and certainly not the modern rooms shown. There is no air conditioning and the band. Windows open and a very loud band is playing outside the window. I would choose one of the inns in town over this any day.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Greg C,
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay in Scotts Hotel. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We provide complimentary music seven nights a week for our guests during the summer month which finishes at 11pm each night. I understand this is not to everyone’s liking and I apologise for this. Our hotel underwent a complete over hall in 2006 which included part of the hotel being demolished and rebuilt. However, part of the hotel was left standing which we still have some rooms in this area. These rooms were renovated just two winters ago and we try to keep the decor as modern and comfortable as possible I apologise you were not happy with this. We do plan to redecorate this coming winter and we will definitely take your comments onboard when undergoing this task.
Again my sincere apologises you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am glad however this experience did not taint your view of our beautiful town of Killarney.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Killarney
Co. Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When we stayed at the Scotts hotel there was an unfortunate heat wave and the rooms had NO air conditioning or fans for the rooms. Despite the miserable heat, the room amenities were comfortable and bathroom was clean. We ate in the hotel restaurant (one dinner was included for our 2 night stay) on the first night and the food was okay (I would suggest other places to eat) and hotel staff was friendly. The best part of the hotel was the "beer garden" located outside and walking to all the shops. Live music and beer every night. We spent both nights enjoying the entertainment and singing along with the crowd. Shopping in the area was very good. We bought most of our "souvenirs" in here in Killarney.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoNoles93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear GoNoles93,
Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor regarding your stay in Scott’s Hotel. I am sorry to hear you had some problems during your stay. Unfortunately only a small majority of hotels in Ireland would have air conditioning as we would rarely have a heat wave like you experienced. For the same reason we would have a limited number of fans. During this time we did purchase a large amount of fans which were acquired by guests very fast I am sorry we did not manage to get one for your room. I am delighted you enjoyed the entertainment which we offer seven nights a week during the peak season for guest’s enjoyment. Killarney prides itself on being the best tourist town it can be I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful town.
Thank you again for your comments and may I once again extend my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Best Regards,
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel
Killarney
Co. Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Absolutely fantastic family rooms ,1 of the best ever,so big ,little kitchen area ,fridge,microwave,ect,spotless rooms very comfortable beds,very quite no noise early in the morning,staff so helpful,music in the courtyard very enjoyable,breakfast also super,very family friendly,could not fault this hotel,

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katetrunwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pre-booked and paid for our accommodation, arrived to be told there was no booking - full house, no rooms left. Finally found our booking - cancelled (hmmm). Eventually put into accom across the way, had to cross over for breakfast. Dining room (inadequate) taken up with tour groups, long waits to be seated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there last week for a few nights. Staff very friendly. Our room had a lovely view, and it was spotless. Food was very nice. Centrally situated. Near a lot of the attractions. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $102 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scotts Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scotts Hotel Killarney is a traditional four star family-run hotel situated in the heart of Killarney town centre in Kerry and is on the doorstep of the Ring of Kerry. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, an airy Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing