We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scotts Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$213
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
$201
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,132
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Brehon(Killarney)
$214
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
$238
$222
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$395
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveler rating
495
343
140
65
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
343
140
65
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfree underground parkingnice hotelcentral locationhen partycentre of townresidents bartrain stationdeluxe roomreception staffbar foodlast weekendenjoyed my stayhotel barboth morningsstayed here for two nightstop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
795 - 800 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Scotts hotel is a lovely hotel. The staff are polite and friendly. The room allocated to us was clean and spacious. The hotel is in a great location, but therein lies the problem. We stayed in Scotts the night before doing the Ring of Kerry cycle which turns out was not a good idea. The level of street noise was so bad it felt like the entire town was having a party in our hotel room. So, all in all, not a restful stay. The reception staff, while polite, sounded insincere in the apology offered.
I would not recommend Scotts hotel for a good nights sleep and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docjoc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Past Guest
Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding Scotts Hotel and our staff. I am very sorry to hear that you found Killarney to be noisy; they were two major events in Killarney that weekend with an in excess of 40,000 people descending on the town; some where hear to complete 180km cycle around the Ring of Kerry and some where here for a big football match.
I am sorry to read that you believed our reception staff where insincere; I can assure you that this is not acceptable.
I would hope that you return to Scotts in the future and we can provide you with the service that we endeavor to offer.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager- Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Scotts for 2 nights in June. The room is small and badly needs to be updated. There was a live band each night that played until about 23:00. The pillows were horrible and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. I have never slept so poorly. The location was very centrally located and we enjoyed Killarney a great deal. However, Scotts was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aksmjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Past Guest
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay here in Scotts Hotel; Scotts hotel is renowned for providing live music each night over the summer months for the past 30 + years; we have many guests visiting us annually based on our nightly entertainment; live music finishes strictly at 23.00hrs so not to disturb our guests.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy our rooms; all our rooms are sized to the 4 star standard room size or even larger and we have an ongoing upgrading project taken place. We would have been more than happy to provide a room change if you had brought it to our attention; one of our team would have happily assisted.
Apologies once more for not meeting your expectations.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager- Scotts hotel Killarney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a very lovely hotel right in the middle of Killarney, near shops, restaurants and attractions. We were here as part of the Railtours package to see the sites in the area.
The hotel does show its age but was kept up well. Breakfast was more than adequate with both a small continental selection as well as 1/2 dozen hot dishes available. The rooms we and our kids were in were unusual in that they had both a double and a single bed. The TV was not a flat screen, a rarity these days. Our kids did stay on the bar side of the building and could here the music, we were on the north side which was a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the far side from the bar area.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghmagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your most recent stay here in Scotts Hotel; our location is second to none for all the amenities in Killarney and only a 2 minute walk from the train and bus station.

Scotts Hotel first opens its door in 1930; since then they has been numerous redevelopments; most recently in 2006 we extended the hotel to consists of additional, standard rooms, self catering apartments, double deluxe suites & spacious family rooms.

The rooms that we allocated to you was one of our standard rooms which consists of a double and one single bed; yes certain rooms are not all flatscreen; once the "older TV's" break; we are replacing them with all new flatscreen.
I do hope that you return once more to Scotts hotel; we look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager- Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Scotts hotel in Killarney, Ireland for 2 nights on our 12 day Trafalgar Tour. The hotel itself is beautiful with good rooms and beds. It is in the center of Killarney and very close to shopping and restaurants. That being said, If you had a room at the front of the hotel it was very noisy with the entertainment for the pub being outdoors. If your room was in the back you had a carnival going on with all of the screaming and noise that a carnival generates. The staff were unfriendly and very rigid with their rules. The dining room had excellent food if you could get in. We were dining in the restaurant when friends from the tour tried to get a table. The restaurant was 80% empty but they were told there were no tables available. We thought that perhaps they had large reservations coming in so had to keep things open. This turned out not to be the case as we were there for 2 hours and this restaurant never had more than 6 tables of diners. Perhaps if you do not have a reservation you cannot get in whether they have one table or are completely empty. Our tour group was listed to start breakfast at 7:15a.m.but because the dining room did not open until 7:30 they would not open it one second early. We saw a couple from another tour try to go in for breakfast before their listed breakfast time and were turned away. It seemed to be all of the small things that made our stay here uncomfortable and annoying. Usually when the staff are rigid and unfriendly this filter's down from managements rules. If you are not on a tour and have to stay here I would definitely avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: There are not good rooms in this hotel as all of the rooms are noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmaevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

4 adult women on holiday from the US. We landed in Dublin and had made arrangements with Auburn Mini Bus hire to collect us and take us to the train station for our journey to Killarney. First off I must say the service we received from John Read/ Auburn Mini Bus hire was fantastic. The drivers John sent for us were professional but at the same time fun. We ended up using Johns company for our entire holiday transportation needs. The drivers we had, Collin, Ray, Paul and Jeremy (Belfast) were so helpful with a ton of luggage, they suggested dining spots, and they even provided us with refreshing water whenever they picked us up. They really made us feel so welcomed in Ireland. I would and will use them on any future trips. So our first few days we spent at the Scotts Hotel in Killarney. PERFECT SPOT. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station and it sits in kind of a court yard. Three steps out the door and you are in the lovely town of Killarney. The staff was very pleasant, the breakfast bar was delicious and the waiters were outstanding, remembering our drinks every morning and getting us on our way without any delay. The hotel was clean. It can get a little noisy on the weekend with the band playing just outside in the courtyard but we didn't mind we were on vacation.

Room Tip: You will hear the band and music if you stay in the rooms facing the courtyard. We had rooms on both sides, one facing the car park and one facing the courtyard. Both good rooms, just a tad quieter on the car part side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalex207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottsKillarney, General Manager at Scotts Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding Scotts Hotel, our staff; we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
We look forward to welcome you back to Scotts in the future if you do return to Ireland again.
Best regards
Dan McCarthy
General Manager
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews