We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything is Good”
Review of Scotts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scotts Hotel
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Everything is Good”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

When first arrived into the room (235) it was quite small and we weren't not a bit happy about it. On ringing down to reception we were advised that it was actually a suite- perhaps they should have informed us of this before we went to the room as we had not booked it. The sittingroom part could not be used as the tv had a weird green hue.

Everything in this hotel is nice and nothing more.

Worryingly though the fire exits in the reception are blocked both outside and inside by tables.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    302
    124
    58
    37
See reviews for
138
411
37
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Had to travel to Killarney at short notice and telephoned Scott's and was greeted, yes greeted, by Siobhan. We got a great overnight rate, a big welcome on our arrival, a wonderful meal with great service in the bar, a very comfortable room and a breakfast that was just perfect. The free parking in their underground car park in the centre of Killarney is a great bonus. The next time we go to Killarney we will look no further than Scott's. Just perfect!

Room Tip: High floors are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

rang this hotel a few weeks ago, and could not get over the appalling phone manner, it was enough to change my mind about booking in here on the spot!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly6082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

,We stayed in Scotts Hotel for two nights.What a lovely hotel,,Everywhere spotless.Great food.Extra lge.bar.Rooms very comfy but spacious,Nothing to complain about (group of six).Thank you Rico,Amanda,Anette,for being so helpful cheery,and welcoming. This HAVEN is just a short walk fron Nat.park,railway,shops etc.NO TAXIS REQD.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYNAN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stay here last weekend for one night. The hotel is ideally located in the town and has the massive added bonus of an underground car park which is a little difficult to fins but its free for guests!! BUT do not park around the sides of the car park as there are pipes suspended by metal wires and stuff about a metre off the ground along the walls and i parked uner one of these, believing that they were high enough off the ground alas they are not and i now sport a mark on the bonnet of my lovely red bonnet, granted its only the size of my baby fingernail but its there.

Apart from that incident the room in the hotel was fabulously spacious and lovely and cosy and comfy. The bathroom was also very spacious and had a bath and a shower. Tip, use the shower over the bath as its more powerful.

The staff were a delight and the atmosphere in the bar was fantastic. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order which is a;ways a bonus and was lovely too.

I would highly reccommend Scotts hotel for a fabulous break in gorgeous Killarney.

Room Tip: try get a room that doesn't face the square outside the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abitofanoddball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I was in Ireland on holiday last July from Australia, I found the bar staff here incredibly rude. Having enjoyed fantastic times in other bars/hotels/restaurants throughout Ireland & Europe, I will never return to this one.

Its an Irish pub best forgotten - purely because of the attitude of its staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieseldamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Really loved the spacious living area and standard of furnishings. The staff were very helpful and personable. The price was good value and the location in the centre of town was ideal. I have been singing its praises since returning to London and will no doubt stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#19 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scotts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotts Hotel

Property: Scotts Hotel
Address: Scotts Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scotts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotts Hotel Killarney combines luxury, contemporary, and service in the heart of Killarney. With additional bedroom and deluxe suites and plush apartments, guests are sure to indulge in cozy comfort during their stay in Scotts Hotel. Additional features includes: Three on site bars, exclusive new Courtyard Restaurant and secure underground car parking. Located in the centre of a bustling town, and has been providing elegant accommodations and superior, friendly service for guest since 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Scotts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scotts Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing