We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but cold”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2014

stayed here the other night with family lovely hotel but could improve the decor of some of the rooms staff very nice and the food was fantastic the only thing was me and my friends room was very cold they turned on the heating but during the night was very cold again

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresaheffernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review & your kind words re our staff & food. I have discussed your comments with our maintenance department and will monitor the heat more intensively in the bedrooms for the remainder of this cold spell. We have also invested heavily in our hotel and an bedroom upgrade project is currently in progress. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

This post is long overdue. My family and I stayed in the holiday homes that are part of the maldron hotel for one week from the 23rd of december to the 30th of December 2013. We could not recommend this hotel more if we tried. The warm and amazing staff called us twice before we even arrived to ensure that we had all we needed and required in the house. When we arrived we were met by a lovely lady who showed us around the beautiful luxury home. Everything you could think about was provided and everything was high quality. The beds were the most comfotable I have ever slept in. The hotel itself was also the same quality and luxury sum this hotel up with the added bonus of lovely kind and warm staff. They made our family feel very special throughout the stay and we cant thank them enough for making our christmas so special. My only complaint is that we all only got to sample one thing on the menu. The food was so good we ended up getting the samething every time we ate at the hotel and we were afraid to change because we each loved our choice so much. We have already booked in for christmas 2014 and we are all really looking forward to it. A big thank you to Eimear the lady in charge of the holiday homes accommodation. By far the nicest and best staff member I have ever met in any hotel in all our travels. Irene from Cork

Room Tip: House 10 in the holiday homes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ireneann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Irene, Sincere thank you for this wonderful review of your week long stay with us over Christmas. It was our pleasure to look after you & your family and I am truly delighted to hear you have booked again for next Christmas. Until then, take care & Warmest Regards, Eimear Scannell, Self Catering Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the centra conference 2014. I have to start with the food which was absolutely delicious! Probably one of the best meals I've ever had. I also got a massage and facial which were gorgeous. Staff were lovely and hotel was spotless and very comfortable. Highly recommend a stay here while in the beautiful killarney.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank CatzyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments & so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Centra Conference on Monday 3rd Feb. I will ensure to pass on your comments to our InnisFallen Health & Beauty Rooms team. Hope to welcome you back again soon, Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just back from a two night stay and I must say this is now our most liked Hotel. From the greet you get from Mary Mac to the dinner in the restaurant managed by Dora, room very comfortable and the swimming pool for a relaxing swim. Killarney park just 5 minute walk away where we spent most of Saturday morning. All in all another wonderful stay at the Malton.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jarlethgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and delighted to hear that The Malton is now your 'most liked hotel'. Also thank you for mentioning Mary Mac & Dora in your review. Our team here are without doubt one of our greatest assets and it always delights me when a customer mentions staff members in their reviews. Take Care & hope to see you soon again, Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful break in the Malton. It was our third year going there for our winter break. Yet again it was first class! The staff are most helpful and the friendliest people you could meet. Looking forward to next trip!!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suits are fabulous!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Couple123Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your commend and I'm so glad you enjoyed your 3rd visit to us & I look forward to welcoming you back again a 4th time. We are celebrating our 160th anniversary this year and have special offers throughout the year so please do keep an eye on our website/facebook pages and also sign up to our newsletter(if not already done so). Warmest Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Get the best 'old fashioned' in Ireland in the Punchbowl bar made by the Gerry. Besides that the rooms are large and comfortable. Lobby is beautiful. The TV's in the rooms are ancient. All the staff are nice. It's right beside the railway station and a short walk to the park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments & for mentioning Gerry & the staff in your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay & we do hope to welcome you back again soon, Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We Stayed at The Malton again over the Christmas period. A beautiful time to visit Killarney. The staff have to be the friendliest people that you could meet , so helpful. The food in the restaurant was outstanding for breakfast and not to forget the dinners. We received an upgrade to a Junior Suite ,what a beautiful room so luxurious and elegant. We will definitely be back for more!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PShanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest, sincere thank you for your comments & delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future, Kind Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,609 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $128 - $1,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing