We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Southern Killarney
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here in early September as part of a wedding party. I cannot say enough about the staff and their impeccable service. Every single one of them (from bar staff, to reception, to wait staff, to management) went above and beyond for the smallest of tasks (and there were quite a few!) which made the wedding run so smoothly. Nothing was too big. The king size bed was ridiculously comfortable and the location was perfect especially for sampling some of the trad pubs close by. I would not hesitate in recommending the Malton to anyone and I will definitely be a return guest in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyg700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for such a wonderful review & title. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay & so glad to hear that you would recommend us to others. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, All the Best and thanks again, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here with my extended family last weekend for a family birthday celebration. It was a truly comfortable hotel with very pleasant staff and facilities. The room we were in had a beautiful big bath with a separate shower, which I thought was lovely. The room itself was modern, clean and had very comfortable beds.
We had a meal that evening in the restaurant and it was delicious, although the duck salad did come without any duck in it- this error was quickly remedied when a member of our party pointed it out to the waitress, she returned with shredded duck.....aside from this, the food was gorgeous and staff pleasant and efficient.
I had a swim in the pool prior to breakfast and the leisure centre was clean and staff friendly, bring a swimming hat- I didnt and got a loan of one there.
Breakfast was for me the best part of the trip. Bountiful cheeses, breads, cold meats, you name it and an extensive menu of hot food including full Irish, pancakes and Belgian Waffles. i had the Malton Poached Eggs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogabunny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us & so glad you enjoyed your stay , our food & our Malton poached eggs ! Apologies from our head chef about the duck salad & thank you for making that error known to our waitress. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have just checked out from the Malton. I feel like I have been cocooned from the stresses of the world!. Staff could not be more respectful or helpful. They are so professional. Food was wonderful. Ate here both nights. The building is comfortable and well maintained, but the people in it make it special. Will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popetteCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review of your stay with us & delighted you had the true Malton experience. Our staff are key to this hotels mission & are without doubt one of our best assets. I will ensure to pass on your comments & do hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Malton and it lived up to its reputation! The weather had not been great so it was nice to avail of the pool and showers; all spotless. We had dinner that was excellent. Medium steaks were exactly right and we were given a complimentary salmon taster after our starters. The breakfast was as good as you would get anywhere. The white pudding was the best I had ever tasted and I was given the name of the butcher who supplies it. Not sure if I should mention his name! The rooms were comfortable and clean. All in all a great hotel. I had stayed there last year as a wedding guest and it was just as good then also. The staff are pleasant and cheerful. One problem: the car parking is run by a different company and you have to make sure to give the correct reg number of your car when checking in.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumley171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our food, service and white pudding ! Thank you also for your feedbak re car parking. Our location in the centre of Killarney town often resulted in us unable to ensure we had enough parking for all our residents during busy times therefore this nominal cost ensures this service for our guests. Car parking can be paid prior to check in via https://apps.parkbytext.com/accountie/prepay.htm. Car reg is only required for those who have not pre paid on line. Hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute! The rooms were absolutely perfect and staff were friendly and helpful. Had a great day in the spa and use of swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam! Fabulous dinner included and breakfast was excellent. Location ideal for train station, town, pubs etc. Highly recommended for a relaxing break with pleasant atmosphere and staff. I cannot find fault with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmsK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Sincere thanks for taking the time to write this review & for the title of 'Amazing Hotel' . I'm so glad you enjoyed our Innisfallen Health & Beauty Rooms, our food & service & that you would recommend us to others. Hope to welcome you back in the near future, Warmest Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here when attending a Function in the hotel.
Everything in the Malton was perfect. Rooms large , bright and spotless. Great bathroom and a proper hair dryer !
The meal served at the Function was superb and the service seamless.
Breakfast was a feast .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your lovely review of your stay with us & delighted you enjoyed it. Hope to welcome you back again in the near future so keep an eye on our website & facebook page for future special offers. Warmest Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Absolutely loved it. From the minute we arrived to when we left we had a fabulous stay. The staff are so unbelievably friendly. The food is out of this world. We had one dinner included in our package & it really was amazing! Breakfast was excellent with a really good menu to choose from. Location was absolutely perfect to walk in to the town during the day. Our room was gorgeous & spotlessly clean! Couldnt fault one thing with it! Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Claire, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us & that you had the true Malton experience. Thank you sincerely for your comments & hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Killarney

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $136 - $1,242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, Great Southern Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. Great Southern is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Southern Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing