We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could not ask for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“could not ask for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

this has been my third stay at this wonderful and my second since it transitioned from a great southern hotel. The room was fabulous, cosy, bright and very spacious with a wonderful bathroom with shower and bath. The breakfast was was outstanding, there is nothing you could not get on the buffet and made to order hot breakfasts of waffles, pancakes, full irish, poached eggs and the buffet offered fruit salads, flavoured honeys, yogurts, breads of all sorts freshly made, juices, cereals and the list goes on, all of which were served by extremely friendly and helpful staff. The dinners again were top rate, with i am relieved to stay generous portions of vegetables and potatoes and welcome to ask for more. Selection of gorgeous fish, chicken, lamb, wonderful steaks and of course all the best selections of starters (fishcakes, terrine, halibut, salad, duck, very popular chowder) and desserts (chocolate tart, meringue, ice-cream, ...) While we had no small children with us, they were so well catered for at breakfast and dinner. Could not rate the experience highly enough, and will certainly be returning for another visit to this lovely hotel and lovely part of the world

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinny12lyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, sincere thank you for this lovely review of The Malton and for your repeat custom on your third visit to us. Delighted you enjoyed our food in our award winning Garden Room restaurant and that you will also return to us again in the future. The hotel will celebrate its 160 year anniversary next year so do keep in touch via our website and facebook page for our latest special offers. Best Regards, Michele King, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    406
    126
    59
    19
See reviews for
551
815
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from The Malton after a 5 night stay. It was certainly a memorable experience from the room, through to the food and the use of the pool. The magnificent grounds are a bonus in a town centre location. I have to say that the staff were very attentive and very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday. The only slight criticism is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms,a fan was provided but air conditioning would have been the cherry on the cake.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and there was little or no noise from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. I'm so glad you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us and thank you sincerely for your custom. The Malton hotel is a large Victorian style hotel and unfortunately our bedrooms do not have air conditioning(160 years old next year). The building carries a preservation order which makes it extremely difficult and very expensive even if we could get permission for AC. Hope to welcome you back in the future and do keep an eye on our website and facebook page for special offers. Best Regards, Paul O’Sullivan, Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here in January in interconnecting rooms. The rooms are dated but fine.Food excellent here, lovely breakfast, lunches and dinner. All the restaurant staff were very friendly and made extra efforts with my kids, bringing lots of crayons, pencils etc. Pool is fine, steps up from changing rooms not that practical for little kids though. There is a small playground for kids outside which is nice. This hotel is right next to the train station and bang in the centre of town so very handy for popping out for bits and pieces. There is also a lovely park across the road which is great for letting the kids run around in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that your overall stay was a good experience for you and your family. We take great pride in the food we serve and glad you enjoyed it. Due to the age of the hotel and size (171 bedrooms) we have a large variety of bedrooms from your traditional Victorian style to a more contemporary style of today. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment program and happy to report many are now complete. I hope that we will welcome you and your family back in the future and I am available at the following email address if you'd like to contact me directly.
Regards,
Paul O’Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a conference recently and were very impressed. A beautiful hotel, excellent food and friendly staff. The General Manager Conor was a true professional. Outstanding hotel that we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smg123Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, General Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for taking the time to write this review of The Malton. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stayed with us while attending a conference here and that you would highly recommend us to others. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards, Conor Hennigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We checked in while the Malton was hosting a wedding reception. There was only one parking space left for the Malton and it was in the rear next to the dumpster. After checking in we went into town. Upon returning we thought we would have a light dinner in the lounge/bar area. The bartender told us the food was closed but he would sell us a drink. It was only 9:30 PM. so we had to order room service if we wanted to eat. We decided to go on a tour bus through the Ring of Kerry so we spoke to the front desk and were told to be at the front door at 10:00 AM. When we came down the next morning the Concierge had no idea we were interested in the tour. He frantically called to get us on the bus. The rule about not using a laptop, I-pad or cell phone to text in the library so as not to disturb other guests is ludicrous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Malton. I have discussed all your points with my colleagues and certainly some of these points will assist us in providing more services to our customers in the future. We would like to apologise for the potential disappointment with the tour and thankfully a phone call solved the misunderstanding that occurred. We certainly are disappointed that our biggest asset which are The Malton’s staff created a heading "Not the Most Hospitable’’ as this is far from the type of customer experience we strive to deliver. I do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Ireland and please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to converse about your stay.
Kind Regards,
Paul O’Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
posullivan@themalton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful, lovely hotel in the heart of Killarney. We stayed 2 nights here and loved it. This hotel had a southern flare (New Orleans feel) - fancier and very classy. Our room was a great size and very modern. The grounds are gorgeous and we took a nice walk after dinner in town one night. You are basically in town and just 5 min from the main streets. The dining room for breakfast is beautiful and elegant. You can order what you want and also serve yourself from the buffet. We ate dinner our last night in the hotel bar which was great, as well. The pool and gym were also fantastic. Would definitely return to this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for this lovely review of our hotel and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return to us one day. The Malton is a Victorian hotel opened in 1854 and its great to know you appreciated its elegance. We will be celebrating 160 year anniversary next year so great times ahead. Look forward to welcoming you back, Best Regards, Jennifer Egan, Digital Marketing Analyst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

As we have relations in Killarney we never enjoy the luxury of their hotels but got a huge taste of The Malton when my sister and I decided to have breakfast there last week. It was the most generous, indulgent, healthy meal we've ever enjoyed with so vast and wide-ranging choices and such value for money. May I list some of what was available for €10.00 with no limits placed; Bowls of fresh fruit, fruit salads, home-made smoothies, juices and granola, compotes, marinated figs, prunes, apricots, all kinds of melons, cheeses, cold meats, smoked fish, Valentia Island yoghurts, multi-choice cereals and breads including wholemeal, tomato. herb and so many varied crispy rolls. Another fiver and you had all forms of hot full Irish, egg dishes, fish dishes, pancakes, waffles. I know that I'm omitting loads but I felt embarrassed making so many paths to the well laid out buffet table. We were full to the gills for 12 hours and felt so energetic all day. The staff were like no other - kind, attentive, loving their job of pleasing, simply the best. I can't thank them enough and thank Ann for recommending this Heavenly Haven. We walked their well laid-out gardens, studied their menus and asked to be shown their rooms. How lucky all of you out there are if you have tasted the full works of this hotel or those of you who are about to. How loudly can I shout "you can't better this"? Management, you are tops, you deserve the highest of accolades. You have to be admired for the spirit of generosity and kindness which permeate through this hotel and all the extra miles you go to in order to make your customers feel that you value them. Marvellous, magnificient, magnanimous Malton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencerLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Sincere thank you for such a wonderful review of our breakfast, staff and management. We take great pride in our team here at The Malton and in providing the best quality food and choice. Hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Killarney, Best Regards and Take Care, Paul O'Sullivan, Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing