We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent home from home”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ST HELIER
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Indulgent home from home”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for the second time in April 2013. I visited in 2012 and fell in love with the place and had to bring my daughter to share the magic this time round. From the moment you walk in the door you are warmly greeted by the friendly staff and a glowing fire! The rooms are gorgeous, really spacious and maintained so well and as for the food where do I start! I have never felt so satisfied with fine dining food with the most generous portion sizes. I had to miss dessert two nights as I was too full!

The staff especially Mary Mac Monagle were so helpful and friendly and you really do just relax the moment you go in. I was quite happy to sit in the reading room whereas my daughter was more keen for the newly opened Wine Rooms which were good fun!

The Malton hypnotises people, it leaves you with a longing to go back, a bit like leaving home, you have to go back. It would be very difficult to beat it!

We had a long journey from Jersey to Killarney, but it was certainly worth it!

PN Connolly, Jersey CI

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PATRICK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    409
    129
    59
    19
See reviews for
560
822
52
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed two nights, Friday & Saturday, 12/4/13 On arrival we were looked after, quick check in and friendly staff. Room was great, overlooking the grounds, Old TV was a bit dated but didnt mind, Bar area and staff was great, The food in the resturant was 1st class, 2 waitresses were so nice and friendly, even if the large party sitting behind us didnt say please or thank you to them once. (shame) Night poter was great at planning our day trip and he took pleasure in looking after us late on the friday night. Room service was brillant, hot food and very fast. Management remembered your name every time you left, each time we got a "how are you today Mr X " (etc) which was a nice personal friendly touch. Great location, great staff, spotlessly clean and a credit to management. Would be a pleasure to go back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in the holiday homes in The Malton last weekend for a hen and we had a great time. The staff were so helpful and accomodating, the holiday homes were fantastic- ideal for our needs, and they would be a great place for a family holiday also. The Malton is ideally situated a few minutes walk from the town centre and the train station is perfectly located on the hotel grounds! The food is devine and the breakfast had a great selection to choose from. Will definitely be returning and a definite recommend!! Oh, and make sure to try their cocktails- delish!!

Room Tip: Holiday homes are a great choice with 4 bedrooms to accommodate 8 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKing_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Wicklow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 14th April 2013. We found all the staff very friendly and most helpful. The dinner in the most beautiful dining room was excellent. Room spacious and bed very comfortable. Unfortunately we couldn't spend more time at the hotel and use the leisure facilities but we will go back. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't wish to drive to Killarney this hotel is ideally situated very near the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacCountyWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed in Hotels all over Ireland, but the Malton was by far the best. From the moment of arrival to departure, the staff, meals drink accomodation was excellent. The management are to be complimented.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden. You would never think that you are in the heart of Killarney town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in early April. Upon our arrival we were greeted by a front desk that had our keys waiting for us, most efficient! The entire staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and did an amazing job.Declan at the hotel bar was fantastic, as were all of the staff there. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was absolutely gorgeous, clean, and the beds were so comfortable. I also enjoyed taking a swim in the beautiful pool at the spa. It was so nice after a day sightseeing in a bus to be able to relax in the hot tub as well. The Malton is truly a gem and my entire family would love to return again.
M Kean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the malton, Killarney on a Friday night in April with my wife. Overall the hotel is in a great location and staff were very friendly. Biggest fault I have to find was that the leisure centre facilities are very dated and need some upgrading. Also, the school type desk in the bedroom needs to go.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tango24778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing