We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed two nights at this great hotel and attended a wedding there. From initial hello to final goodbye the staff at the Malton are superb, helpful, attentive , top class. Our room was gorgeous, spotless, plenty towels and toiletries. Tea/coffee, complimentary water in the fridge. Wedding meal was superb as was breakfast. We also used room service and again faultless.
Looking forward to a return vistit soon ! Visited Killarney on number of occasions and do not know how we have never stayed at this hotel - Our new number one hotel in Killarney. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Ours was at the end of a corridor and was extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_5EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled to read that we are now your number one hotel in Killarney! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, regards,

Michele King
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    427
    137
    61
    19
See reviews for
591
869
54
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilrush, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Malton Hotel room 211 for a one night stay. The kitchen fans which were right outside our window started been noisey at 5am and did not stop until we checked out of room. Got no sleep whatsover. Made a few complaints to reception but problem was not rectifed. Meet the front office manager the following morning and she did apologise. She said the hotel was full and that we got the room that is normally for drivers. My husband and I had a voucher from Travel Republic for the night I do feel that is why we got the worst room in the hotel and were treated differently to other guests staying.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel do not use vouchers hotel staff treat you different.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie1064758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Front Office Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
I have just read your review on Trip Advisor and may I firstly apologise to you for the distress that this has caused you and your husband. The reason that you were allocated the room was not due to the fact that you booked through Travel Republic. I am sorry that you were made to feel that you were treated differently this was not our intention and not how we like to take care of any of our guests at The Malton. We are looking into the noise issue in this room at the moment and it was not my intention to categorise the room for any particular clients. I would only to be too delighted to assist you in future bookings with us and ensure you have a truly relaxing stay with us and again request that you contact me personally if you are planning a return visit to the hotel.

Marion Wilson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed for one night for a wedding we attended in the hotel. We requested an upgrade when booking and when we checked in the lovely receptionist told us we had our upgrade so great start:) after a long journey. The reception area and surrounding little rooms and alcoves are full of character and charm and feel like an old world era which is lovely and lots of little peaceful areas to read and relax (with beautiful thick rich carpets)

The room was beautiful ,spacious , clean and well equipped and the bathroom had lovely plentiful good quality toilitries and thick fluffy white towels and face cloths. The room was fresh and well ventilated and not stuffy at night like most hotels can be.

Food at the wedding was plentiful delicious and very well presented and served by professional staff.

Breakfast was a lovely delightful experience with a varied menu and buffet area for cereals yougart bread and juices. I had waffles which were delicious and a nice treat for a change.

Would love to go to this lovely hotel again and only wish our stay could have been longer to visit the lovely gardens at the hotel and the surrounding town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade....you might be lucky like us and get one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are just back from a family holiday for the 3rd time staying at The Malton Apartments Killarney. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment having previously been in the 3 bed apartment & the 4 bed house and was surprised at how spacious it was. Yet again we were not disappointed as the apartment was spotlessly clean, well equipped and perfectly located (for the kids train spotting). The hotel food was fab, as usual & the girls at the kids club were great yet again. We will definitely be back in 2013 & we are all looking forward to it already ! There is so much to see & do in Killarney & staying at The Malton just makes our holiday that bit more special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
republic
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I foodsstayed here last night, as a wedding guest.

The ambiance on arrival is olde worlde. The decor is fantastic, but a slight smell of smoke in the foyer. This might be by design or accident. If by design, it might be nice to the US tourists, but not to the Irish.

Food quality at wedding and at breakfast the following morning could not be faulted. The breakfast menu was quite long. There was a cold meat buffet, fruit or the usual hot selection. I had the poached eggs malton. A credit to the chef!

Leisure facilities are quite good. The pool is a bit on the small side, but the steam room and sauna were great. Quite a few used the jaccuzi. I did not avail of the spa, but again the menu was very varied.

No problem with parking. Staff very friendly.

I stayed in room 214 and enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saravima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlow
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Malton Hotel with my daughter and her three young children, We had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of by excellent staff. I have to give special mention to Bjorn at the concierge desk and John (head of the restaurant) both of whom went out of their way to look after us. The food was superb from the breakfast to the evening dinner. Full marks for taste and presentation. I stayed here many years ago and the standard hasn't slipped in any way. I couldn't reccomend this hotel highly enough. I will certainly be back. Thank you to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefourofuscarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had our wedding in The Malton on 16th Aug 2012. For the months leading up to the wedding, Emer Corridon and the rest of the team were fantastic. Everything we asked for, they provided us with. The quality of the food at the hotel, during our stay as well as on the day of our wedding was excellent. The breakfast spread is amazing with a great choice of options for cooked breakfast, plus cereals etc. The hotel has lovely rooms, all the guests at our wedding commented how wonderful and spacious their rooms were, a real luxury feel. The hotel is located perfectly in Killarney for short walks to the shops, the fact that there is ample parking around the hotel makes it easy. We especially found the wi fi throughout the hotel and in the rooms brilliant. My young nieces and nephews loved the pool and the childrens facilities including the pony and trap ride in the hotel grounds. The adults loved the bar area and its food, Mike and the rest of the bar staff were excellent during our stay. We cannot praise the hotel enough. We will definitely be back in the future. Emer and Gary

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,406 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing