We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imposing hotel, great food, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Southern Killarney
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed at The Malton as part of a trip involving over 100 people, the food and service was as excellent, could find no fault!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StayBreconBeacons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,383 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just returned after a wonderful stay at the Malton Hotel self catering accommodation. We love our hotel comforts yet there was something really nice about the self catering option, we had access to all the hotel facilities which were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the cuisine - the restaurant, bar, foyer for afternoon tea were all a joy. Tranquility and elegance is in every bone of this wonderful hotel. The staff particularly Martina and Mary made us feel like Kings and Queens. We were 2 couples who enjoy a game of bridge and glass of wine and would recommend this property to like minded people. Thanks Edel for the attention to detail in Penthouse 5d we will be back sooner rather than later - the very satisfied Galweigans

Room Tip: Contact Edel, she will help you get the right self catering option or reservations for the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMJDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltonManagement, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Dear GMJ,
I am delighted that you had a wonderful time in the Malton Apartments/ Houses. I will pass on your kind words to Martina, Mary & Edel (maybe Eimear) and express to all the other staff members of a job well done.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend. Staff very friendly. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Bfast was plentiful but bar food wasn't great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2012Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel for business and the third time I have been thrilled. From conference facilities to breakfast just perfect and free WIFI a must when you are away!

Room Tip: Keep away from station side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Dear Lagness,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Malton Hotel, I will pass on your kind words to the team at the Malton and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.
Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was really looked after. Excellent breakfasts. Well position in the town.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

On a cold February Saturday morning, we decided to hop in the car to the Kingdom for the weekend. No booking but pulled into the Malton on a whim and it was the best decision. Sheer comfort, luxury and the best way to treat yourself. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
I have very high standards and the Malton was faultless!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosaleen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Only average, breakfast was good but food in the main restaurant was only average at best. Within 100m of the outlet store but not a lot of interest there.Also within walking distance to town centre where there are loads of restaurants with better food and are cheaper. Couldn't find fault with rooms, shower wasn't able to be moved and was a bit low even for someone of standard height. Overall decent place to stay but expensive fo what you get and you're better off eatting out.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Executive Chef at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2012

Hello traveller 2012 Glasgow,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Malton hotel, I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the quality of our breakfast however I was disappointed to see you did not have a good bar food experience, we work very hard to source and cook only the finest quality ingredients and serve them simply so as to highlight their natural quality.
Our food ethos at The Malton is based on using only top quality local ingredients and we have developed growing our own vegetables, potatoes and salads in the Malton gardens .
I hope on your next visit to the Malton you have an opportunity to experience our new bar menu which we are introducing in May.

Best Regards,
John O'Leary
Executive Chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Killarney

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $137 - $1,278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, Great Southern Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. Great Southern is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Southern Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing