We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service superb!!”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service superb!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A group of us recently stayed in the Malton for my 40th. What an amazing night we had - the hotel staff really pulled out all stops!! We were all treated like royalty - at the dinner reception, dinner, breakfast the following morning. The hotel is Something Special!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeple40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,497
    415
    132
    60
    19
See reviews for
567
841
52
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have just returned from the Malton Hotel in Killarney - we stayed there 40 years ago on our honeymoon - as the hotel was alerted by our adult children we got royal treatment - I believe we got the best room in the house - a suite in fact.

Overall we were very impressed with the service ,cleanliness and quality of food - dinner each night was great and breakfast was top class.

Golden years package amazing value ! Would and shall highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandHelen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Public Relations Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for you lovely comments on your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and all the facilities and I hope that it brought back lots of good memories from your honeymoon. Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Mary MacMonagle
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had stayed here several times when our kids were young and the hotel was part of the Great Southern group. I was worried that I might be disappointed with any changes that the Malton had made but I was delighted to find that the hotel was even nicer than before. The main lobby area is beautiful and they have added a reading room and a couple of cozy seating areas. and retained the welcoming open fire as you come in the main door.
We had a room in the main house, overlooking the mountains and the town and it was beautiful and quite spacious. The breakfast on each morning was top class, the cold buffet had just about everything you could imagine and the hot section had a good selection too. We had dinner on one night included and the food and service were top class. The dining room has retained all of it's beauty from the original hotel, and the staff were very courteous and helpful.
I would return to this hotel in the morning given half a chance!

Room Tip: choose a room in the main house of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Chef at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am the Executive chef at the Malton and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay , I am most pleased with your comments about Dinner and Breakfast and I will share this with my kitchen team. For your next stay we have introduced a new breakfast selection since the start of April with a large variety of healthy options and a new breakfast experience. Looking forward you welcoming you back in the future.
regards,
John O'Leary
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Took my mother here for a bite to eat for mothers day which I know is a busy day in any place but for a town centre hotel they should be prepared for it.
We sat in the alcove off the main foyer which could do with some piped music in there as you can barely whisper without the table next door hearing you.
We ordered drinks and food and even though we had eaten our starters the drinks had not arrived. At this stage I had asked 5 times for our drinks and were told they were on their way.
Then our mains arrived and still no drinks! When a supervised with blonde hair came along to see if everyone was ok I explained we still had not got our drinks. She nearly bit my head off saying they're coming!!!
It was another 5 mins before they arrived. This is basics in any restaurant and I would expect better service to match the prices being charged.
I had not been here for 2 years as the last time I ate there I got a curdled carbonara. After this experience I think I need to sit up and take notice of other places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Cacosk,
Thank you for your recent review. Firstly my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience, I have discussed the points with our team in the hotel and expressed my concerns regarding your two visits. We pride ourselves at The Malton for quality food and customer service but we did not deliver this experience during your visit. I would encourage you and your Mother to return to The Malton as I am confident that these issues have been corrected and that you will enjoy the true Malton experience in the future.
Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were totally enchanted by The Malton on a recent 4-day visit. Having stayed in it many years ago (as The Great Southern), we found the current ambience and comfort in no way inferior to that celebrated 'grand hotel'. The over-riding and abiding memory (and perhaps the most important) is the uniformly pleasantness and helpfulness of the staff - everywhere throughout the hotel! The quality of the meals, especially the dinners, was first-class; service at dinner by waiters and sommelier was exemplary. Our accommodation was excellent: in this respect we were fortunate to have been given a room in the main house - the old core of the 'grand hotel' with spacious and high-ceilinged rooms - in response to a special request: we were most gratified that such careful attention had been given to this request. We shall return soon, we hope, for more 'pampering'!

Room Tip: Room in the main house desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim - Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went to Killarney for the weekend & stayed in The Malton. It was beautiful from the start.
Every member of staff we encountered were very friendly & helpful.
We had planned a meal in the restaurant but it was booked out so we dined in the bar.
Our room was in the old hotel, it was stunning with a fantastic view. There was plenty of space in the room with a lot of offers in the spa.
The gym & pool were very nice, a much needed rest in the steam room was called for.
Over all, a very nice hotel, well situated, very nice staff & fantastic food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mancobud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was not my first time staying in The Malton, however I felt compelled to write a review about my experience because my stay there last night was so enjoyable. There was a large group of us staying there and 25 of us dined in the restaurant. The hotel faciliated us with a room to ourselves and provided us with not only an excellent 5 course meal but fantastic service to go with it.The attention to detail did not go unnoticed as all of us raved about the meal for the rest of the night. The main bar was lively and there was a great buzz around the place. The beds were so comfortable I had to order breakfast to the room! The staff were ALL courteous and polite and as I was leaving I was very impressed by a lady called Mary at reception who had a genuine warmth to her. It was lovely to see such a large hotel have an intimate feel to it. It's located centrally and I found it great value for money, I would strongly reccomend this hotel to anyone.
Mary - (not from reception!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,503 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing