We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent good standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistent good standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I have stayed in The Malton twice recently.
Both times I have been really happy with the hotel. The staff are lovely, attentive and appear to be interested in you. The food is really good, lovely breakfast and the breakfast room is fabulous.
Only quibble I have is the first time we stayed there we had a fantastic room in the old part of the hotel and the next time, we didnt ger as nice a room as it was just about average - luck of the draw I guess!
However thats a very minor complaint - for such a large hotel, The Malton are certainly doing something right - so well done

Room Tip: Ask for the old part of the hotel! You might get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrywomanreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    399
    125
    59
    19
See reviews for
535
805
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

I attended a family wedding here during the Summer. Wow. Staff, rooms, food, facilities and atmosphere have kept me coming back every month. This hotel manages to maintain a cosy and traditional atmosphere whilst still giving a modern touch.
I treated myself to a facial and have nothing but praise for the staff. My treatment was scheduled for 1 hour yet was extended to an extra half an hour.
I highly recommend this place as a wedding venue or simply a great escape in a bustling town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We attended a wedding in The Malton last weekend and I must say it
was a fantastic day. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to check in, to
our departure the next day, everything went very well.
The staff at Reception were very charming and smiled and carried on a conversation with us as we checked in, which you will not find in all hotels. The wedding meal was absolutely beautiful and the beef was to die for. I must also mention that every member of staff that we came in contact with, waiting staff, bar staff, accommodation staff, were very pleasant and helpful, even though the hotel was full to capacity and they were very busy.
We had a suite on the ground floor and it was a fantastic room.
We will definately return to The Malton for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

be aware, there is no internet(wifi) or even cables in the bedrooms. And no plugs by the bedside....not quite a 4 star in this day and age

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Malton is an impressive building with and impressive reception area. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable but could do with a little updating. They look well but for the money we paid I expected them to be a little more plush. We've stayed in more impressive rooms elsewhere in Killarney for less. Other than that we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Enjoyed drinks and afternoon tea at this luxurious hotel and special treatment by Nicole who attended to our every need. An order went astray and she immediately sorted it out when I brought it to her attention . To compensate for the mix up she did'.nt charge for the tea. A lovely gesture and encouragement to visit there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanairtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just back from a two night stay in the Malton Hotel in Killarney and I had an amazing time!
Hotel itself is just outside the centre of town but a very short walking distance in. Myself and my partner were celebrating both our birthdays during our stay, which he had mentioned to the staff on making the reservation. When we arrived and were checking in we were both wished a happy birthday which was a nice touch, and, the receptionist also told us we had been upgraded to a suite! The suite we were given was beautiful, very spacious with long windows(overlooking the balcony at the main entrance) and everywhere was very clean. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay and the saff and food were wonderful. On our last night we were brought out our dessert with Happy Birthday written in choclate on the plates, this was very unexpected and a wonderful touch. We also drank in the Punchbowl bar where again the staff were very attentive and there is a very relaxing atmosphere with the sofas and open fires.
Staff are amazing in this hotel and really go above and beyond. Would definatley recommend this hotel as one of Killarneys gems!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondie82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing