We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I've always said that I would be willing to pay a little extra for a similar product if the service was outstanding. This is the case with the Malton Hotel in Killarney. Don't get me wrong . . . the hotel is one of those older establishments that has been modernized . . . but is able to retain the old world charm and beauty. The restaurants - very good, the location to downtown - excellent, common areas & facilities - charming, (rooms were average, but big)but the service was fantastic.
From the moment we drove up to the door, until we checked out two days later . . . service, service, service ! ! ! ! ! They took care of luggage - parking the car - delivering ice to the room - taking clear messages - suggestions for live traditional music pubs - golf arrangements at discount prices - called you by name, not just sir - and all of this without their hands out looking for a tip (though they did receive one).
We had similar accommodation on this trip, but the Malton stood out because of SERVICE ! !

DLK
Sudbury, ON Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,425
    399
    125
    59
    19
See reviews for
535
805
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Attended a family wedding here but had lunch here several times before our night stay. Must say the rooms are really lovely. We had interconnecting bedrooms (thank you Emer) and it gave us great space. I love the lobby of the hotel itself and the bar area however we didnt get to spend any time there on this occasion. The banqueting room and area outside it is just fantastic - really spacious. The meal was a credit to the hotel. The spread for breakfast the next morning was probably the best I have seen at any hotel that we have stayed at. Going back to stay again at the end of the month minus the kids and really looking forward to it. A mention must go to Emer who is truly fantastic at her job and so professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We spent quite a while trying to decide where to spend our wedding anniversary and settled on this place. I now regret the decision purely because this hotel is clearly more suited to people at least 20 years our senior. The foyer is fab and our room was large but old-fashioned, with a tiny tv and a poor selction of channels. Our deal included one evening meal, which was nothing special: my risotto rice was very undercooked; the dining room was very bright and not at all romantic. Breakfast selection was poor, especially so for a vegetarian. I know this hotel would please some people, but we won't be going back

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your recent review. I am saddened that your special weekend was not the experience that you expected and I would like to sincerely apologise. I will discuss the Risotto with our chef and we will review the variety of vegetarian options on our menus. We appreciate customer feedback and if you would like to discuss your experience further with me please let me know my contact details are: posullivan@themalton.com or 064 6638011.

Best regards,

Paul O’Sullivan

Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Malton Hotel comes highly recommended, from the moment we entered the hotel until we left we received a high standard of service from the friendly staff on duty in all areas that we visited. We had 3 Dinners included in our package and they represented great value, there were excellant choices and you could pay a supplement and choose from the A La Carte menu if you wished.The quality presentation and taste of the food in the restaurant for Dinner was excellant, compliments to the Chef. The hot breakfast buffet was nicely displayed but the Sausages and Bacon were not hot enough and the fried eggs were to hard they were displayed to long, you could also order Poached Eggs and these were excellant, served on a bed of Relish on a bap. The bedroom was spotless it was spacious, bright and airy with good quality toilitries supplied. There are plenty of cosy places to sit in the lobby or just sit by the fire and enjoy a drink. We left the hotel satisfied and with the intention of returning to stay here again soon and we definately will be recommending the Malton.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarrellWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in the Malton. From the time you enter this beautiful building you know there's a warm welcome. The fires and candles burned brightly and warmly all day and night. The food in the Resturant and afternoon teas taken in the Reading room were of excellent quality. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. We also loved the Library which had great internet access. The books displayed were informative and well chosen. We would highly reccommend the Malton, even if the weather isn't great, the hotel itself is so comfortable you don't want to leave it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our last visit to Killarney. We both thought it was a beautiful building with old-world charm. Food is also delicious. We look forward to returning again in the near future.
It is right in the heart of Killarney, conveniently located to the National Park, but yet is very quiet, with picturesue quiet gardens

Room Tip: Ideally not on ground floor overlooking the garden - to avoid having to keep the curtains closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed recently in The Malton in Killarney and it was just brillant!
We had interconnecting rooms for the famiy which was ideal for all. Staff, food, atomosphere were all second to none - couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing