We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malton Apartments are fantastic”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Co Kildare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Malton Apartments are fantastic”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in the 3 bed apartments for a week in June, fantastic apartments with the added benefit of The Malton Hotel. With 2 young children we found these apartments to be perfect, with lots of room and so close to Killarney town. It was very clean, bright and user friendly and we will definately be back for our next holiday in Ireland. The top floor sitting room and balcony was stunning and the kids really loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    427
    137
    61
    19
See reviews for
591
869
54
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Coming to the end of our one week stay in hotel's apartments. The apartment is 2 minutes walk from hotel, spotlessly clean and very well decorated with tvs in all bedrooms, power showers, well equiped kitchen. The hotel is wonderful, with welcoming ambiance and has spacious lounges, library, 2 restaurants and inviting bar with top quality good value bar food. Well deserves 4 star status and is better than many other 4 star hotels we have stayed in in Ireland.
Compares well with 5 star hotels we have stayed in in Kerry and Cork, the only difference being the pool area is not quite as luxurious. Wonderful stay - we plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aseav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel is wonderful!! its classy! its old world charm. the rooms are great, the food is wonderful, the staff are lovely!! You are treated so well as soon as you walk in. It is an oasis of calm. Music in the bar is good and the bar is fabulous. The Spa and Gym are lovely and the staff here are really helpful. Loved every minute of it!! A great treat!!!!! Right beside the Train and Bus Station as well as an outlet shopping cntre. Very short walk to the centre of town and close to the cinema and the fabulous Park!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I just stayed at The Malton for 3 nights during a wonderful visit to Killarney/Ring of Kerry/Dingle. I loved the hotel from start to finish. Had a lovely room with a view and fireplace. The hotel has a very warm feeling and the food is excellent. Had my best meals here. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful in assisting me in arranging tours and getting local information. Especially Mary, the front desk manager. She is the gal to know! The staff was just lovely. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone...whether traveling alone, as a couple, or with your family. I'll be back!
Pam from New York City.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaminNY69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maltonsales, Director of Sales at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear PaminNY69, Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel so much. You certainly packed in the destination highlights during your stay, Mary Mac is a super organiser and when it comes to local knowledge as you say "she is the gal". Warm regards from all in The Malton,
Michele King
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My small company ran a training course in the hotel last weekend. Extreamly happy with the location, room set up, price was compedative, food of a good standard and service excellent. Andrew the on duty manager was exceptional. Would highly recommed this hotel to any company for corperate use.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keadykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My daughter and I stayed in The Malton and it couldn't have been nicer. The room was large enough for two women and our 3 bags of luggage and the bathroom very spacious and nice. The personnel was wonderful - even when we asked for food at 10pm (after awakening from our jetlag nap!). The location is the true gem though - everything is so close - pubs, shops, restaurants, etc. We LOVED Killarney and will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We stayed in the
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpeach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Sixteen family members have just returned from the Malton Hotel having celebrated a special family occasion and we highly recommend this hotel. The service was excellent provided by the most friendly staff I have ever encountered in a hotel in Ireland or abroad. The food was incredible, easily five star quality nothing was a bother. We ate dinner in the restaurant both evenings and a completely different menu was on offer each night which commenced with a "chef's tasting plate" and we were given a sorbet before our main course. One of our party was vegetarian and didn't like the vegetarian options on the menu but the chef produced another alternative. We also ate lunch in the bar on Saturday and the menu was very varied and very good value. It is obviously popular judging by the number of people having lunch. The hotel is very relaxing with plenty of lounges to relax and read and you can borrow a book form their library if you forget your own. Very good entertainment was provided on Friday and Saturday night. The location is perfect for going shopping or taking a trip to the National Park, the lakes and Muckross House. Bedrooms are very comfortable and would recommend rooms with even numbers on the third floor as they have large bathrooms with walk in showers. Swimming pool is a little dated and I have no doubt that if this was modernised this hotel would have a five star rating. The gym was great but we didn't use the spa even though I noticed on promotional leaflets in the bedrooms that the prices were good value unlike some other hotels we have stayed in. I cannot praise the hotel and its staff enough and if you are thinking of going to Killarney the Malton is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themaltoncustomer, Manager at The Malton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear travelingpeach25,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay at the Malton Hotel. I will pass on your comments of all the staff as it is vital that all staff members are aware of the fabulous job that they do each day. We are delighted that everybody enjoyed the food experience and received a few surprises on the way.
We would be delighted to welcome your family and friends back to the Malton in the future.
Regards,
Paul O'Sullivan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,227 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,406 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing