We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Shraheen House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shraheen House
Ranked #36 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just can recommend the Shraheen House. The furnishing and our rooms were very stylish and comfortable. The Breakfast was very delicious. Every morning, we had self baked cakes on our table.

The owners were very, very helpful by a medical emergency late evening. Thank you very much. They gave us good tips for daytrips after breakfast. We feel very good at this place and had some unforgettable days in Killarney.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smezzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Maureen and her husband were wonderful hosts during our three days in Killarney. Rooms were immaculate, breakfasts were out of this world (particularly the porridge) and both hosts provided great suggestions of where to visit in the Killarney area (don't miss the Dingle Peninsula and the Ring of Kerry).

Would highly recommend the Shraheen House to visitors in the Killarney area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Second time staying with Maureen and John and it was great once again. Cat fault a single thing. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at Shraheen for the second straight year. This by far is one of the best kept secret for lodging in Killarney--it is absolutely the best B&B in Ireland. Maureen and her husband run an amazing house. Everything about Shraheen is 5 star--If you are looking for a place to stay and be completely spolied--this is it. From the beautiful furnishings, lovely grounds, and a breakfast to die for, this place has it all. You feel like family when you stay here, not like a guest. We will not stay anywhere else whenever travels bring us back to Killarney.

Room Tip: Ever room is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TPAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I spent four nights at the Shraheen House in July 2011, and we were delighted.

The beds were comfortable, the furniture of the rooms functional and modern, and the bathroom had modern fixtures. Our room looked out on a pretty, serene garden.

Breakfast each morning was a treat. Three kinds of homemade baked bread and other traditional Irish baked goodies were provided as we awaited our breakfast to be prepared. I ate the full Irish breakfast, a wonderful meal, while wife and daughter ate more sensibly. The abundant food was an excellent quality and its presentation was amazing, worthy of a fine restaurant in New York.

The location is nice and quiet and is off of a thoroughfare that connects with main roads. It only takes a few minutes to get to the middle of Killarney, but you can sleep without the noise of the revelers. Killarney has many restaurants, shops, and pubs and plenty of public parking.

It is a great base for exploring the Killarney National Forest and the peninsulas like Dingle.

The folks that run the place are very pleasant and helpful, and it is clear that they take great pride in providing a nice accommodation for the traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Shraheen House would have to be considered one of our most memorable B&B experiences. Maureen is a most capable host who conjures up magnificent breakfasts with her own baking variations each day. Our lodging was tastefully decorated with artistic flair and all of this comes with the warm Irish hospitality, clever humour and great advice on the local area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivted56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed with Maureen in a delightful and beautifully presented B & B. We were very comfortable and Maureen was a wonderfull host. Maureen's breakfast was special and was beautifully presented.

We would recommend this place to any vistor to Killarney. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#14 of 143 in Killarney
474 reviews
12.2 mi away
Redwood Country House
Redwood Country House
#40 of 143 in Killarney
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#51 of 143 in Killarney
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunn Court House
Dunn Court House
#61 of 143 in Killarney
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#24 of 143 in Killarney
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shraheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shraheen House

Address: Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shraheen House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shraheen House is a luxurious home set in 2 acres located 1 mile from the centre of Killarney town. Hosted by Maureen Fleming, Shraheen House is a family owned guesthouse. You will experience the warmest of Irish hospitality when you stay with us. Start your day with our delicious breakfast served with our speciality - Maureen's home baking. You can relax in our guest lounge or sunny conservatory after a day touring the lakes & mountains of Killarney and the greater Kerry area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Shraheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing