We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shraheen House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shraheen House
Ranked #29 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We just can recommend the Shraheen House. The furnishing and our rooms were very stylish and comfortable. The Breakfast was very delicious. Every morning, we had self baked cakes on our table.

The owners were very, very helpful by a medical emergency late evening. Thank you very much. They gave us good tips for daytrips after breakfast. We feel very good at this place and had some unforgettable days in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smezzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
75
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boca raton, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Maureen and her husband were wonderful hosts during our three days in Killarney. Rooms were immaculate, breakfasts were out of this world (particularly the porridge) and both hosts provided great suggestions of where to visit in the Killarney area (don't miss the Dingle Peninsula and the Ring of Kerry).

Would highly recommend the Shraheen House to visitors in the Killarney area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogman
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Second time staying with Maureen and John and it was great once again. Cat fault a single thing. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at Shraheen for the second straight year. This by far is one of the best kept secret for lodging in Killarney--it is absolutely the best B&B in Ireland. Maureen and her husband run an amazing house. Everything about Shraheen is 5 star--If you are looking for a place to stay and be completely spolied--this is it. From the beautiful furnishings, lovely grounds, and a breakfast to die for, this place has it all. You feel like family when you stay here, not like a guest. We will not stay anywhere else whenever travels bring us back to Killarney.

Room Tip: Ever room is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TPAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife, daughter, and I spent four nights at the Shraheen House in July 2011, and we were delighted.

The beds were comfortable, the furniture of the rooms functional and modern, and the bathroom had modern fixtures. Our room looked out on a pretty, serene garden.

Breakfast each morning was a treat. Three kinds of homemade baked bread and other traditional Irish baked goodies were provided as we awaited our breakfast to be prepared. I ate the full Irish breakfast, a wonderful meal, while wife and daughter ate more sensibly. The abundant food was an excellent quality and its presentation was amazing, worthy of a fine restaurant in New York.

The location is nice and quiet and is off of a thoroughfare that connects with main roads. It only takes a few minutes to get to the middle of Killarney, but you can sleep without the noise of the revelers. Killarney has many restaurants, shops, and pubs and plenty of public parking.

It is a great base for exploring the Killarney National Forest and the peninsulas like Dingle.

The folks that run the place are very pleasant and helpful, and it is clear that they take great pride in providing a nice accommodation for the traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Shraheen House would have to be considered one of our most memorable B&B experiences. Maureen is a most capable host who conjures up magnificent breakfasts with her own baking variations each day. Our lodging was tastefully decorated with artistic flair and all of this comes with the warm Irish hospitality, clever humour and great advice on the local area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivted56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed with Maureen in a delightful and beautifully presented B & B. We were very comfortable and Maureen was a wonderfull host. Maureen's breakfast was special and was beautifully presented.

We would recommend this place to any vistor to Killarney. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jexthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Chelmsford House
Chelmsford House
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maggie O's Bed & Breakfast
Maggie O's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Robeen House
Robeen House
#13 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
12.2 mi away
Redwood Country House
Redwood Country House
#32 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#25 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shraheen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shraheen House

Property: Shraheen House
Address: Ballycasheen, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shraheen House is a luxurious home set in 2 acres located 1 mile from the centre of Killarney town. Hosted by Maureen Fleming, Shraheen House is a family owned guesthouse. You will experience the warmest of Irish hospitality when you stay with us. Start your day with our delicious breakfast served with our speciality - Maureen's home baking. You can relax in our guest lounge or sunny conservatory after a day touring the lakes & mountains of Killarney and the greater Kerry area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Shraheen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing