We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not For Everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 139 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not For Everyone”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Crystal Springs is not a bad B&B but it is just not for everyone. I would say the same thing for Killarney. It's a beautiful national park but after experiencing the Sheep Head's Peninsula and Dingle Peninsula, Killarney was much too touristy for us (again personal preference).

Facts:
-Eileen is a nice woman who works very hard and wants to please her clients. We did not have any issues with her specifically.
-The room was clean (minus the dirty breakfast dishes stashed away in the closet) but we were in a front room and it was really noisy.

Personal Opinion:
-We found the B&B cluttered and out-dated. It reminded us of a cruise ship and we felt claustrophobic. If Restoration Hardware or Pottery Barn is more your style, do not stay here.
-The breakfast is mediocre. The oatmeal is very very sweet, so keep that in mind if you prefer plain oatmeal. The scrambled eggs tasted and looked like egg beaters and were placed on top of soggy toast. (Eileen, I'm sure you will defend this which is fine, but again... personal preference).

-The walk into town was feasible but around 25 minutes. Not a big deal if you don't mind driving or taking a taxi but if you want to be in town or a close walk, this is not an option.
-The cancellation policy is 7 days - so keep this in mind if you are doing a road trip around the southwest coast. Plans change mid-trip sometimes (especially if you really like an area and want to stay longer). We found this 7 day policy to be too long and ended up just cancelling our 2nd night in Killarney because of all these reasons.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river not the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    43
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
65
123
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have never been treated so rudely in all of my years of travel abroad and within the US. I am a professional in my 50s and my friend an assistant principal and teacher of a grade school. Her daughter is looking at Trinity and St Andrews for college. We drove from Cork to Killarney and had car trouble and then misplaced the car keys. Very unnerving when traveling abroad. The owner of the hostel in Cork called the B&B owner to let them know we were running late, and I emailed them that we would be past 8 pm. The gentleman emailed me back and said no problem, they would be out, and to call his cell phone upon arrival. We did not arrive until 11 pm, and when I called the cell, i was berated as though I were a young child, told that we had ruined their evening, that we were rude for arriving so late, that our problems were not their problems, and they had dressed up to go out to a party and could not attend because of us. I was speechless. The Mrs of the house apologized upon our checkout and said there was miscommunication. The apology was nice but the damage was already done. The B&B itself is very nice, rooms comfortable and breakfast very good. I don't like to leave negative reviews, but the owners of this B&B need to rethink if they want to stay in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jang768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalSprings, Owner at Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for booking Crystal Springs B&B though we are not a" Hostel" as you thought when making all your reservations through Hostelworld on-line Travel Agent where there are many other types of accommodation hosted , its so user friendly , and no need for a college degree to navigate it through to confirm a booking in any of the properties featured ,
During your stay nobody was rude to anyone ,
The owner of the " Hostel"you stayed at in Cork called to say your car was in for repair and would be ready at 4pm and you were arriving in Killarney at 6pm aprox, I sent you an
e-mail to inform you of our plans for the evening (we had a family function to attend) and asked to let my know if you would be any later ?, your reply was - You were having dinner in town first and plan to arrive before 8pm and would call me otherwise .
That was the last I head until 10 minutes passed 12 midnight when the doorbell woke us ,
Arriving to check-in after midnight from a merry night in the pubs where you said you lost your car keys on your travels was an inconvenience alround , but my main concern at that hour was the comfort of our other guests who were sleeping so I did not want any further disturbance ,
In the hospitality business , As the owners we are always thinking of our other guests that are staying and their care and comfort is our priority ,
When booking your next "Hostel " you should double check to avoid a disappointing experience in a B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Eileen and Tim have a first class B&B! Crystal Springs is one of the nicest guest houses I have stayed in, hands down. Eileen is quick to greet you with a smile and assures you have everything you need. She loaded us up with maps, day trip suggestions and dinner recommendations. A walk into Killarney takes about 20 minutes. There is a gorgeous river that runs through the back yard and makes being a tad out of town very worth it. We were in the Honeymoon Suite and you can hear the water with the windows open.The room itself was cozy and bright with en suite bathroom. So nice! Breakfast is no joke at Crystal Springs. Lots to choose from and great portions. I highly suggest a stay here.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite was gorgeous and looks out over the backyard and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaLaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a busy weekend in Killarney Eileen was very friendly and welcoming! The house is beautiful with nice river views! It is a bit out of town centre but not much in a taxi! Rooms are big and spacious it can be a bit noisy in the mornings but all in a a great b&b!! The breakfast is Also very nice!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Eileen offers a first class bed and breakfast in delightful surrounds. Our room 'The Stables' was enormous, very clean and comfortable. The only quibble was that I struggled to find the 'on switch' to activate the shower (behind the cupboard in the bathroom) so a little note somewhere may be useful. The family dog Monty, a golden retriever adds a warm touch and he is friendly without being a bother. Location is a little out of town (1.5km) but this was fine - plenty of parking in town if the walk is too far. Breakfast measures up to the high standard set. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in Room 8 'The Stables' - no noise at all until breakfast time when we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was the most elegant place of our trip. Eileen was the consummate hostess. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The grounds were relaxing. The dining area looks out onto the river. The food was fabulous. Eileen insisted we try her porridge, though not included in the breakfasts we ordered, and it was outstanding. I can’t say enough good things about Crystal Springs B & B and our hostess. Thanks Eileen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the room overlooking the river. The room was large, comfortable and elegantly furnished. Luxurious bathrooms for an Irish B&B. 5 minutes drive from the center of town and the park. The hostess was warm and helpful. If you are visiting Killarney stay here!

Room Tip: Get the room overlooking the river with the 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhorvvitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.7 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#17 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#20 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 139 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
Address: Crystal Springs Ballycasheen Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Springs, Killarney, Co KERRY. All rooms are with private bathrooms, TV, radio, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers, iron press, mini fridges, direct dial phones and wireless internet. All are non smoking. Superior Deluxe Double rooms, Kingsize Double or Twin Bedded rooms, Family Triple rooms, Quad Rooms. LOCATION: Our GPS location is N +52 3' 10.47'' W -9 29' 15.77'' We are located on the peaceful banks of the River Flesk which flows through our back garden, where you can relax on the deck. Just a 20 min. walk to Killarney Main Street town centre and also to local Bus and Rail Station. Kerry Airport is 20 mins drive from Killarney. Cork Airport is 1 hour 15 mins, Shannon Airport is 2 hours drive, Dublin Airport 4 hours. RATES will include an extensive breakfast menu. Afternoon Tea/coffee and Free Parking, Breakfast served from 8am to 10am, early breakfast Pcaked Lunch on request, Light Bite Menu available all day. If you wish to confirm a reservations you may do so by E-mail or By phone call or directly with us for (no fees or no deposit taken). as payment is on departure, Check-in between 2pm and 6pm. LOCAL SIGHTS: We are close to The Lakes of Killarney, National Park, Ross Castle and on the Ring of Kerry route.and the Beautiful Wild Atlantic Way. Other local attractions include Muckross House and Gardens, Torc Waterfall, Ladies View, Moll's Gap, the Gap of Dunloe and Kate Karney's Cottage, Killarney Golf and Fishing Club , We are 1 hour drive from Dingle Bay, Waterville, Blarney and Ballybunnion. Local information, Maps and guidebooks are available with refreshments on arrival. Ample safe parking (off street) is available ,Golf Courses, Riding Stables, Mountain Walks, Bicycle Hire and Launderette are close by. Fishing on location in the river Flesk (at the end of our Garden) no license needed. Live Entertainment nightly in Killarney's popular Traditional Bars and Restaurants. Bus tours and Day Trips arranged from here to pick you up and drop you off at our front door daily from 10.30am to 5pm return, to (Ring Of Kerry )(Gap Of Dunloe) (Dingle Bay) For our best rates , rooms with a view, Superior King size new rooms, just call or email us to Book Directly (no commission fees) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Springs b&b
Crystal Springs Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing