We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the biggest waste of money in years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“the biggest waste of money in years”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

my partner and I spent the last two nights in Killarney and I have to say we really had a very unpleasant experience thanks to the ignorant un helpful and basically rude staff of mcsorleys.I was thrown out of the night club because of some small miserable little man whose name I did not get and probably a better thing I didn't as I would have gone to the gaurds in Killarney as I was basically assaulted,the bouncer caught me from behind and threw me forcibly out for no more than a joke,which i was told to stop and i did,and another bouncer out side pushed me into the chest with great force and knocked me onto the ground as I was trying to explain my case,note at this point I say explain and not argue.however as you can imagine it is difficult to explain much while being knocked on your rear end.To be honest I wonder if these men were even trained properly as the way the situation was handled so poorly.i would expect treatment like this if id had been inebriated or messy or acting like a fool,but not for a joke that some jumped up little power mad individual couldn't take.Especially after the amount of money that we left behind the counter,i didn't hear a complaint when I was paying for the privelidge of drinking in here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    2
    1
    9
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay, despite a small mixup during check-in where they said they didn't have any double rooms left. They sorted it out quickly. We didn't have any cash so could not pay the room key deposit and they were happy enough to let us check in and drop our bags before finding an ATM. The staff was really friendly. The room was plain and bare but it had a massive bed, a nice tele and it was clean. No funny smells, no loud music, no problems with hot water or hair dryers. It was an overall genuinely good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neoxchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great location walking distance from Killarney race course and near all restaurant s there is a fab Mexican restaurant in one of the car parks food is excellent and all the coffee shops are well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackersireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ive heard of cheap and cheerful but this place is cheap and terrible.
1. Got our booking wrong
2. No remote for tv
3. Shower door fell off
4. No hot water
5. Wanted to search our bags when we returned from a night out.
Stay away its like a real life faulty towers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

just back from a 'mystery tour' hen that ended up in Killarney... there was 22 of us and we had been told the accommodation was basic i.e. a bed and a shower, so the rooms at McSorley's were a pleasant surprise and a welcome oasis after a 'hectic' night out on the town... the hen was organised as a package but considering the overall price we paid the accommodation rate must have been value for money... check in is in the main bar and you have to give a €10 deposit for the key which is refunded upon check out and all the staff (including the bouncers) are very friendly... our room (a triple) was spacious, bright and very clean, the beds were really comfy and the bathroom was well appointed with towels, toiletries and excellent water pressure. McSorleys is ideally located to all the attractions in Killarney and the bar offers excellent live music as well as a niteclub... i would definitely recommend this venue for hens/stags. also there is a burger king next door for your late night snack and a spar down the street for the panadol and powerade the morning after - very handy!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aud4mDeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

When we arrived there was a bad smell in the room. Either sewage or stagnant water. We had to change rooms. It was expensive at 40 euro per person sharing. The hairdryer was unable to be used as it was on a dresser and the plug wouldnt reach the connection on the wall. The electrical connection was about three foot away. The milk for the tea was sour. There was no coffee only tea available. The girl at the check in had a terrible manner and was very unfriendly. There is no check in reception area. You check in at the bar. You have to pay an extra 5 euro each for key security. You get this back the following morning when you had back the key. There is no breakfast included in the price. The room we were in was overhead the disco so it was very noisy and people very noisy out in the street. Avoid these type of rooms if you are a light sleeper.The bathroom was nice and the shower was great! no shower cap provided, just shampoo and shower gel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the street... very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Bedrooms, very basic two star accommodation. But we paid a very good price for the accommodation so cannot complain.

The rooms have three single beds in each of them so they are catering for stag and Hen parties.

It is in a good location five minute walk from the train station.

It is a late bar with live entertainment. There is a night club located at the back of the venue. There are a number of places to choose from in the area to go eating. Depending on your budget of course. the staff were well mannered and especially the security staff.

I had a good weekend. I would recommend this venue for people in the mood for a party venue or a stag weekend. Their are no frills in the bedrooms at all. But it is great as you have a non stop party venue under the one roof.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILOVEHOLIDAYS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#18 of 38 in Killarney
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#32 of 140 in Killarney
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#124 of 140 in Killarney
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Heights B&B
Hilton Heights B&B
#113 of 140 in Killarney
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McSorleys Entertainment Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McSorleys Entertainment Venue

Property: McSorleys Entertainment Venue
Address: 10 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the popular Tourist town on Killarney McSorleys is the towns No1 Entertainment venue & has gained the reputation as one of the Best places to party. With Fantastic Nightly Entertainment & a late bar 7 nights a trip to Killarney is not complete without visiting McSorleys. McSorleys Entertainment venue consists of McSorleys Main Bar, McSorleys Nightclub and Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your McSorleys Entertainment Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing