We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of The Invicta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Invicta
Ranked #47 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Invicta for 2 nights in late June 2014. We originally were only going to stay for 1 night, but liked it so much we stayed for another. We found them on trip advisor and liked the location to the ring of Kerry and Killarney (about a 15 minute drive). This B&B is nestled between the mountains and Lough Leane and gave us a peaceful escape where we could enjoy nature and each other's company. The view from our window was breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Sean and Mary are friendly and gracious hosts. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (full Irish, eggs made
to order, toast, OJ, coffee and tea, cereal, and fruit). We hung out in the living room during the evenings and watch the World Cup with Sean and talked about current events in Ireland. I would definitely recommend The Invicta to friends and family. Definitely a great value!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We found this b&b by coincidence and we loved it from A to Z. It is located at 100m from the lake. You have very nice things to do around in the Nature and the owners of this b&b are fantastic. You will feel at home there. We had the best breakfast we tried in Ireland during our holidays. We also enjoyed the boat and the fishing. Thank you for all ! (Do not focus on the picture of their ads, because the place is much better than the pictures)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Mary was awesome and so was her home! It is in such a beautiful area and the house was spotless! It is right across from a lake and has awesome views! She suggested an awesome restaurant and breakfast was perfect the next day. It was in the perfect location for the Ring of Kerry. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jwguaraldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Our family of six (2 adults and 4 children) arrived at the Invicta late in the afternoon after driving through a thunder storm. We were warmly greeted by Mary and made to feel very welcome with the provision of a cup of tea and some freshly baked cakes. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The family room in particular was perfect for the children and the beds were all very comfortable. We enjoyed chatting to Mary and her husband Sean about the local area and life in Ireland. In the morning we all enjoyed a tasty breakfast before setting off on another full day of sightseeing. We would not hesitate to recommend the Invicta to other families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Invicta was very cozy and we had very hospitable hosts! I would reccommend this B&B to anyone staying nearby. Very clean and comfortable rooms and a delicious breakfast! Close enough to town and a pub or restaurant if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After 3 nights of spirited discussion over tea and bisquits, we feel Mary and Sean are family and we hated to leave their beautiful home and journey on. Ideally located just off the Ring of Kerry road, and overlooking Lake Leane, the house is lovely,spotless throughout,well appointed with comfortable beds and crisp linen. We were impressed by the friendliness and openness of the hosts and so enjoyed our time with them. They and their home are truly our best memory of Ireland and that is saying something as we loved the entire 18 days spent there. Mary's breakfasts were first rate and when we got rained and fogged in the 2nd day, they graciously let us use the breakfast room and sat with us talking and plying us with beverages until the weather cleared. It was like being at home with really good friends. Our ONLY regret was that we had to leave as we could easily have settled in and never moved again. What a find, what an experience and what a delight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Invicta for one night. We arrived very late and the owners were very understanding and welcoming. We had a great sleep. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great bed, shower and towels. The owners are very knowledgable of the area. Breakfast was also great. Note: no toiletries provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
4.1 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#25 of 38 in Killarney
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wayside
Wayside
#65 of 140 in Killarney
57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
3.9 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invicta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invicta

Property: The Invicta
Address: Tomies | Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Invicta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Invicta is situated on a beautiful setting overlooking Killarney's Lower Lough Leane, known for Salmon and Trout fishing. Boats are available from the proprietor to enable you to enjoy both fishing and touring the beautiful lake. The house is within walking distance (300 metres) to Tomies Oak Wood and O'Sullivan's Cascade. The Invicta is also just 5km from the famous Gap of Dunloe. It is an ideal base for golfers as there is a choice of 9 or 18 hole courses in the area. Recommended by "Le Guide du Routard." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your The Invicta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing