We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Killarney Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$207
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$212
$205
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)(Great Value!)
$167
$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Brehon(Killarney)
$213
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
$174
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
66
37
25
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
37
25
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageswashing machinethe pubfull kitchenself cateringworking fireplacewater heaterdvd playergreen areawifi worked wellopen fireplenty of hot waterliving roomwould stay againaccommodationdryer3min
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 147 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

A perfect blend of quaint and contemporary. It's like a combination of an Irish cottage and a well equipped ski condo. Plus there is a pub a stone's throw away. We have always gone in a group, each family with their own lodging. This has worked great. Lots of space, nice kitchens, nice bathrooms and plenty of beds.

Does not have the most convenient check in system, not spotless but certainly clean, not perfectly situated to downtown. These are the minor points that prevented a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuropeinFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice accomodation but service was poor. We arrived 30 minutes late after checkin time due to GPS issues (they only allow 2 hour slot for checkin) to be welcomed with a note on the office door saying go to cottage x. No further instructions, nothing. This is also a residential area and its not clear which are the holiday home rentals. This was extremely frustrating as the lights inside the office/house were on so we could see management were home!! It was dark, little street lighting so we had to run around the neighbourhood in the cold checking each house number (couldn't see these from the road due to street lighting and numbers being so small on each house.) We finally locate the unlocked cottage and it was freezing, they hadn't even turned on a little bit of heating to take the edge off the chilly late December air. Our cottage was a very open plan split level cottage so it really took hours to heat up, we were sitting in the lounge in our coats!! Not a very nice start to our stay.
Also, don't other with the internet, you can't get a signal. We complained and thought we got our money back, but we had to go back to the office as they hadn't processed the refund. This all had to be done in the 2 hour check in slot available each day! Management were quite rude & told us off for turning up late which was a bit harsh as we got lost and it was only 30minutes.
There are no instructions in the house about having to adjust the hot water, so we (5 adults) woke up to no hot water. It would have been nice to have been told that we needed to adjust the settings upon arrival. Also, the water tank is not big enough to accomodate 5 showers in the morning, so we had to sort out timings - not ideal.
This being said, we otherwise had no complaints about the accomodation - it was clean, tidy, and had a very homely feel (once it eventually warmed up!!).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandMNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Went back to Old Killarney village again for the Group Christmas night out.
House was lovely and cosy. Had fuel for the fire which was very welcoming. Beds are to DIE FOR..... couldn't get out of it in the morning. Had breakfast outside in garden, how great was that???? The space is great and the comfort is everything you could ask for in a winter trip. Just as good as a trip in the Summer. Within easy reach of town and walkways. I would highly recommend the Village Winter and Summer.We would not hesitate to return again during 2012.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

After reading some of the reviews i was slow in booking but glad i did as we Stayed for week after xmas enjoyed great location and pub Ideal .Totally enjoyed break travelled with 2 small kids and it was great to have such space and comfort have recomended to several and have booked a return visit
samantha

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belfieldKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We've just returned from our 10th visit to Old Killarney Cottages/Old Killarney Village and would be happy to return again. (We stayed for the Bank Holiday weekend and on until the following Saturday) Administration of the complex has changed this year but is still as pleasant as ever.

The houses are comfortable and spacious and all 3 bedrooms have ensuites. The kitchen is functional with dishwasher and washer/dryer. The house was clean when we arrived but there were a small number of niggly issues (maintenance issues that were not immediately apparent) and these are easily remedied and have been pointed out to administration.

Rules have now changed and one can now bring one's dog to stay for a charge of €20. We didn't bring our fellow but he would have loved it. There were some lovely well-behaved dogs on leads but we didn't hear any barking or feel put out by them.

While there we took trips to the Ring of Kerry, The Ring of Dingle, Muckross Gardens, Ross Castle, Torc Waterfall, Glengarriff and Gougane Barra. We ate in Macs Restaurant which we would also recommend.

Aggie and her husband - the new administration - are lovely to deal with.

We certainly have no hesitation in recommending this location for a lovely holiday experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. However the "Type C" houses (3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms) are the best house to book.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bean_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews