We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #87 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Muenster, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was the fourth B & B that we stayed in during our trip around Ireland. We were traveling with a family group and had been unable to get reservations where the rest of the family were staying in Killarney. When we arrived at the B & B, we breathed a sigh of relief at the pastoral setting. The room was small and well used but clean and adequate. The power shower was fine. The breakfast was just like the ones we had had at other B & B's. Having grown up on a farm and now living in our own country home with horses, this environment was very familiar and comfortable to me. Our family that stayed in Killarney, though they had more plush rooms, complained of all the traffic noise. We also were closer to the Park and other recreational sites. The rest of our family came out, with two children (ages 10 and 12) and enjoyed the playground, with no extra charge. Maureen was very pleasant and helpful in recommendations as was her daughter and husband for locations for eating. I was amazed to read the negative reviews here as ours was not at all that way. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    12
    11
    19
See reviews for
66
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited this B&B 21 years ago (before the internet!) and upon our return, found it just as welcoming and comfortable! The O'Donovans are obviously invested in the comfort of their guests~ rooms are immaculate, comfortable, and provide sufficient space to spread out a bit. Common rooms are welcoming, the views are beautiful, breakfast was delicious! There are horses to ride, a playground, and a petting zoo (the puppies are SOOO cute!) Even my 18 & 20 year old had a blast here! Thank you Maureen for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a family and don't mind sharing a room, ask for the room on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Muckross Riding Stables B&B is the ideal place to stay in Killarney. It is adjacent to a National Forest Area and offers horseback riding into the forest. The setting is absolutely
magnificent---horses, sheep, variety of farm animals, etc.
Maureen O'Donovan and her family are wonderful hosts and provide make everyone feel welcome. I stayed here for 11 days this time (have stayed 4 times and look forward to the next). Her two sons, Patrick and Sean, drive jaunting cars at Muckross.
The morning breakfast is just perfect and the view of the farm and animals very peaceful.
It is conveniently located (just 2 mi. from the center of Killarney and a stone's throw from Muckross House and Traditional Farms.
The bedrooms are well appointed and very comfortable. I recommend this B&B with great enthusiasm!

Room Tip: I prefer room #3 because it has a window that looks out to the stables and pasture. All of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen123426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I could not have enjoyed my stay here more. Maureen and her family are delightful hosts and provide a very welcoming environment. The location is perfect-just outside of town, making for a perfect retreat after a day of sightseeing. Being an animal lover, this place was perfect with lot's of charming animals. I played with the puppies daily and took two horesback rides into Killarney National Park while I was there. It was absolutely beautiful and easy to arrange. I enjoyed seeing the horses grazing in the mornings and evenings. Comfortable beds, nice breakfast, good pub with internet 3 minutes away. I'm already looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place because my friend's dream has always been to ride a horse in Ireland, and I wanted some place with a private car park and easiness of getting into and around the area. Maureen and her family are delightful hosts who make everyone feel warmly welcomed. My friend got to ride in Killarney National Park, which was a perfect place for a horseback ride. The petting farm provides enjoyment for the kid in all of us. There were three lively puppies in addition to a group of goats, sheep, horses, chickens, potbellied pigs etc, all with abundant personality. I know that when I return to Ireland, I will be staying there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opheliakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Maureen was a wonderful hostess. The grounds are amazing with animals everywhere. Waking in the morning to see horses grazing outside your window..amazing! The breakfast was outstanding and to come back after a chilling day to sit by the fire was a delight.
The one and only draw back was the Wi Fi was next to non existent . That is not Maureen's fault just the location.
I would recommend this B&B especially if you have young children

Room Tip: Ask how the hot water works
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevres, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located close to Killarney National Park, warm welcome, and very relaxing stay. We enjoyed spending the evening by the fire place. Comfortable room, hearty breakfast, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 140 in Killarney
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Carriglea House
Carriglea House
#6 of 47 in Killarney
132 reviews
2.5 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Shepherds Lodge
Shepherds Lodge
#76 of 140 in Killarney
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Property: Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing