We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for animal lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #74 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked this place because my friend's dream has always been to ride a horse in Ireland, and I wanted some place with a private car park and easiness of getting into and around the area. Maureen and her family are delightful hosts who make everyone feel warmly welcomed. My friend got to ride in Killarney National Park, which was a perfect place for a horseback ride. The petting farm provides enjoyment for the kid in all of us. There were three lively puppies in addition to a group of goats, sheep, horses, chickens, potbellied pigs etc, all with abundant personality. I know that when I return to Ireland, I will be staying there for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opheliakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Maureen was a wonderful hostess. The grounds are amazing with animals everywhere. Waking in the morning to see horses grazing outside your window..amazing! The breakfast was outstanding and to come back after a chilling day to sit by the fire was a delight.
The one and only draw back was the Wi Fi was next to non existent . That is not Maureen's fault just the location.
I would recommend this B&B especially if you have young children

Room Tip: Ask how the hot water works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located close to Killarney National Park, warm welcome, and very relaxing stay. We enjoyed spending the evening by the fire place. Comfortable room, hearty breakfast, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

we did not stay here but spent the morning there with our five year old. beautiful setting and animals all in lovely friendlynatural settings.great value at six euro each. great sand and play area with zip wires and lots of tractors and diggers. gorgeous little puppies and even a lamb to feed. and a pony ride... definitely will return... very friendly staff and gorgeous homemade scones

Stayed: April 2013
Thank valcoppinger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 10 year old daughter, spent two nights at Muckross Stables B&B and found it to be a very enjoyable and relaxing experience. The owner, Maureen and her family (Sean in particular) were very interested in knowing about where we were from and about our travel plans. It was also very good to listen to them talk about Ireland. They gave us excellent advice on touring the Ring of Kerry and, as a result, we had a stress free and enjoyable time on the road. It was not quite the busy season when we were there and, although dinner was not available to us at that time, the local pub was a convenient 3 minutes drive away and they serve excellent food. Maureen cooked breakfast for us on both days and we found it to be very good. We recommend the pancakes! Our room, a triple, was very clean and comfortable, particularly the mattresses which gave us two restful nights after long days in the car. There is a homely and welcoming feeling about the place which is exactly what we were looking for. Our daughter really enjoyed roaming around the farm visiting the animals and we were happy that this was a safe and peaceful environment for her to do this independently. Visitors should ask what animals are available as the full compliment were not quite there yet given the low season. However, there was more than enough to keep our daughter happy during our short stay. This was an ideal place for us and being 4 months into a 13 month holiday, I can confidently say that Muckross Stables B&B did not disappoint. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Was not difficult to find Muckross Stables, directions were perfect on website. Upon driving down the long driveway into the property, we were excited to see gorgeous little
sheep roaming the property, and later found they had chickens, a wallaby, puppies, emus, geese, rabbits and horses in the stables - what more could you want! Rooms were lovely and very comfortable, had the best nights sleep. Our window looked onto the stables so we could see the horses relaxing and playing in the yard once the front gate was closed in the evening. Maureen and Paddy were lovely and breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Killarney area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misscherry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed her in June 2012 and had booked 3 nights for the three of us (2 adults and a 14-month old child). Unfortunately after the first night we were told that another guest had left because of the noise from our child "crying all night". We were rather surprised as he'd cried for 5 minutes at 1am, but otherwise had been asleep until around 5am when he began stirring and playing. I think the walls are far too thin as you could hear everything going on in the house. We felt under pressure to move on after the second night as I'd got up at 5am that morning to take our son outside into the grounds to prevent any further disturbance - and we then had to pay anyway for the 3rd night.

Smokers are also using the rooms, so they aren't particularly pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
598 reviews
5.0 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $92 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing