We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific views and fantastic owners”
Review of Carriglea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriglea House
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The B&B is situated just about 1.5-2 miles outside of Killarney on a good sized parcel of land. It is on Muckross Road but set back, so it is quiet - we never noticed any traffic noise at night (we were there in last week of May). The B&B overlooks the park and has a beautiful view of the lakes and mountains. I just can't imagine a better location or setting. The B&B is loving cared for and maintained, and the owners are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend staying here and would do so again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hgill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here after many hostels - felt like luxury! The house is huge and quite grand feeling, although we stayed in a sort of annex to the side which was lovely. We had two rooms between the four of us, the one upstairs even had a little sitting room and even a bath in the bathroom!!! Plenty of space and comfort. The lounge room in the main house is very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was ok, but I have had better. The house is situated not far from the Muckross Estate so is ideal for an evening walk around. It is a little out of Killarney town - we never ventured to the town so I don't know how far exactly but it was basically on the edge of town. The house seems to have lots of grounds, loads of space and very beautiful. We really liked it here and would recommend it - we loved the booklet in the rooms that gave a history of the place and the area, and loads of interesting and useful info - a lovely touch. Good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Such a nice place an house. Never found it again in ireland. We come back! Great Breakfast, everything made with love... Thank you Eileen, Eva & Harry

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strohpferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The history to this B&B was very interesting and the house and farm are very eco-friendly. The welcoming was warm and our room was very big with a sittng room and great views. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was very filling and delicious. Great place to stay, very quiet and great location to attractions in the park. If you are in the area you would be silly not to stay at this B&B! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DINKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

So enjoyed Carriglea House. Loveliest B&B we stayed in in nearly 3 weeks of travel. Large, well kept rooms, good breakfast, convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evelyn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Located near the castle and within easy walking distance to all of downtown. Our room was lovely with beautiful linens. Breakfast was great and served with great care. We loved this bed and breakfast and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The house is set back on large acreage, with wonderful views of mountains and the lake. Staying here was like visiting your elderly maiden aunt, with inherited the family home from her parents and kept all the lovely antiques. Everything was elegant but just somewhat worn. The house was spotless, the bed was great, the bathroom large and the breakfast fabulous. All the rooms were loaded with wonderful stuff – porcelains, china, silver, etc. If we came back to Killarney, we would settle into this comfortable home for multiple days. Ellen, the innkeeper, was delightful and so cheery in all her interactions with us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
598 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea House

Address: Carriglea House Muckross Road | N71, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carriglea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing