We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Carriglea House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriglea House
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Located near the castle and within easy walking distance to all of downtown. Our room was lovely with beautiful linens. Breakfast was great and served with great care. We loved this bed and breakfast and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EastCoast
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The house is set back on large acreage, with wonderful views of mountains and the lake. Staying here was like visiting your elderly maiden aunt, with inherited the family home from her parents and kept all the lovely antiques. Everything was elegant but just somewhat worn. The house was spotless, the bed was great, the bathroom large and the breakfast fabulous. All the rooms were loaded with wonderful stuff – porcelains, china, silver, etc. If we came back to Killarney, we would settle into this comfortable home for multiple days. Ellen, the innkeeper, was delightful and so cheery in all her interactions with us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OnOurWay038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I've only spent 2 nights at Carriglea, but the place is amazing, John and the entire staff are very friendly and can give you tips about anything to do around Muckross, and there is quite a lot to do... the rooms are clean, quiet, big and very inviting. I had an amazing time in Killarney, and being at the Carriglea house was definitley one of the reasons...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Be warned before you make a reservation at this B&B, 5 of us stayed there this weekend and we had a dreadful experience.
Without a doubt it is set in a beautiful location and has an amazing view over the lake but that does nothing to soothe the temperament of one very rude member of staff!!

On arrival at about 5pm Saturday we were greeted by this lady and she showed us to our rooms. The place itself is quite outdated and in need of a good lick of paint however this might be to some people's taste......a couple of air fresheners wouldn't go astray either!
We were informed that breakfast on the Sunday morning was between 8:30am and 9:30 am and checkout was 11am. As we knew we would be having a very late night at a wedding my sister politely asked if there was any possibility of having a later breakfast, she was quickly told that was the breakfast time and if we weren't happy with that then well.......it was obvious what she meant with that statement.
Worse was to come.....as we were putting our bags in the rooms we were asked to pay for our accommodation up front. I've stayed in B&B's the length and breadth of this country and neither I nor the other members of my party ever had to do this before and we were really shocked and rather annoyed but payed the money and went off to the wedding.
Next morning we went to breakfast at the defined time, this was served by a lovely lady and then we returned to our rooms.
At 11:05 am we were packing our bags with the bedroom door ajar when the very rude lady we met on the prior evening came stomping up the stairs. She could see we were packing our bags and asked us if we were ready to go and then proceeded to knock on the other bedroom door.
We were totally appalled at her behavior and an argument ensued. She went off and got the owner who also approached us in an aggressive manner. However he did then try to handle the situation as best he could and offered to take us to collect our car that we had left in a nearby hotel.
It was then that he admitted he'd had other complaints about this lady from other guests.

Considering the recession we opted to stay in a B&B as opposed to a hotel to keep costs down however considering the experience we had we'll stick to a hotel in future!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brackDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boz4477, Owner at Carriglea House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Brack from Dublin,

Thank you for your review. I would like to respond to it, I trust you will allow me that privilage. Firstly Fiona booked 4 rooms, I emailed her payment procedures and cancellation policy. No payment was necessary then but full payment was due on arrival. Fiona prior to the date cancelled 2 rooms, there was no charge as per our arrangement. I don't understand your annoyance regarding payment as it was all agreed in writing.

You all checked in around 17.00hrs and were told breakfast times, checkout times and asked was that ok. If that was not ok you were still free to go elsewhere. You went immediately to the wedding and returned at 5.00am the next morning. You arrived for breakfast at 9.30am. I cooked it for you and you enjoyed it. We knocked on the rooms after 11.00 to remind you of checkout in case you had gone back to bed. One lady came out of the room quite irate and treatened Tripadvisor. I was not aggressive, in fact as you say I offered to drive the gentleman for the car, which was still at the hotel. I had a friendly chat with him on the trip where he spoke about his job as a car dealer and the prospect of an afternoon shopping in Killarney with 4 ladies. We did not speak of the previous incident.

To sum up, I don't think Carriglea was suitable for your needs. It is a Victorian historic home in a very scenic and peacefull location, your rooms were suites with there own sitting rooms and had a view of the lakes, while the price may have tempted you I think you would have been better suited staying in the hotel where the wedding was held, they may have had special arrangements for wedding guests. while at Carriglea the guests booking in that afternoon would expect their rooms to be ready and would not be pleased, through no fault of theirs, if they were not.

I have since asked the hotel in question to remove our name from their list of accommodation in the area as the incident from my point of view was totally undesirable.

Trusting you all had a safe journey home.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Located only a couple of kilometres from Killarney, Carriglea is far enough out and close enough to Muckross to be able to enjoy the scenery without suffering the commercialism of Killarney itself (which was exactly what we were after). The house itself is very comfortable and we received a lovely welcome. Only an overnighter this time but if we needed it, recommendations of things to do, places to go readily available. Breakfast was very good with choices. If you want a place a short walk from town, this isn't for you, but it is a lovely place and we also recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch - NZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Sheer heaven! Really comfortable bed, fantastic service and wonderful hostess. We had a wonderful stay in Killarney, and we recommend hiring bikes and riding around the National Park. It's a fabulous ride, but the bikes aren't that comfortable, so not a ride good for young children. We liked the room because it had opening windows; so many B & Bs don't and it can be really stuffy. It was great to have lovely fresh air coming in at night. No hot spot though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwifromChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This review is a long time coming but hopefully my review helps this Guest House's rating somewhat as well as other travellers. My spouse and I travelled throughout Ireland last October for 10 days and I must say, of all the Guest Houses we stayed in (all Fromners recommended), we both found Carriglea House to be the most memorable. We stayed there for 3 days.

From the get-go we found the owner to be the most friendly and helpful of all the Guest Houses we stayed in. She was very helpful in suggesting pubs, restaurants, must-see's, etc. She made us feel welcome right away.

We stayed in a room in the carriage house next to the main house and we were extremely pleased with the size of the room. Having the additional sitting room was wonderful and the bed was comfortable. As another reviewer mentioned, we did find a few cobwebs and small spiders, but being country folk ourselves, it didnt bother us in the least. I would also agree that you definately want to drink bottled water here as the tap water has a strong iron taste.

What makes this Guest House so wonderful though is its view to the lake. Absolutely stunning and most definately the best room view we had in Ireland. In fact, my profile picture is of the sunset we encountered when we took a walk across the road to Lough Leane (which is the lake you view from your bedroom window). It was the most spectacular sunset that either of us had ever seen.

The breakfast was also excellent and the servers very friendly and courteous.

I would definately recommend this Guest House to others. Again, my fondest memories of Ireland are of County Kerry and when we stayed at this home. If and when we travel to Ireland again, we will be booking a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CurlGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#24 of 38 in Killarney
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea House

Property: Carriglea House
Address: Carriglea House Muckross Road | N71, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carriglea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing