We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful woodwork”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Girard, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful woodwork”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our stay at the Algret House was very nice and Greta made us feel very welcome. Greta's husband appears to be a master craftsman when it comes to woodworking - it is beautiful. Our breakfast was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HD445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
127
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't say enough great things about Algret House. I traveled through Southern Ireland on a solo trip for two weeks - during this trip I stayed at 4 different hostels and Alget was meant to be an escape from the hostel life for a few nights - I was extremely please with this decision. If you're traveling by train it's about a 20-25 minute walk from the station to Algret which is doable but I believe there's cabs available as well.

I was exhausted and hungry when I arrived and Greta welcomed me in with a warm smile and helping hands. She quickly checked me in and offered a few suggestions for dinner spots not too far from her B&B. While I washed up she made reservations for me the next day to tour the ring of Kerry at my request. She has an in with one of the tour company's which meant I got door to door service and was well taken care of my entire visit.

The rooms are nothing fancy but they're clean and comfortable with enough space to offer relief from the small hostels I'd been staying in. The breakfast was cooked to order and quite delicious!

This is a great value for the service and quality you receive. STRONGLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Travel415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

There are not enough good things that can be said about Greta Doyle and Algret House. Situated close enough to Killarney town to be an easy walk, but removed enough to be peaceful and quiet at night, Algret House is charming, comfortable -- and 2 years running has been my favorite place to stay in Ireland while touring. Greta Doyle makes it feel like home and she has a great sense of humor. The rooms are spacious and cozy (my traveling companions and I have occupied the family room (2011), and a twin room and 2 single rooms (2012)). The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. I would capitalize immaculate, but that would be too dramatic. The water pressure is good and there is plenty of hot water. The beds are also very comfortable. The breakfasts are generous and delicious, with both hot and cold offerings. We stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed more. You know a B&B is good when you have trouble leaving, wish you had spent more nights there, and can't wait to get back. And... when you feel like you are leaving a friend when you say goodbye to Greta.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innerfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Algret House recently on our trip around Ireland and had a very enjoyable stay.
Greta is a fantastic hostess: friendly and helpful.
The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and had everything we needed.
The breakfasts provided by Greta were delicious.
Algret House is in a great location too: just a very short walk into Killarney town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my third visit to Killarney in less than a year, Algret House was ideally placed for the town centre and an easy stagger home at 3am!!
I have stayed in 3 different places, this being the 1st B&B! If you want somewhere that is quiet yet close to town and you like to be made VERY welcome then you can't go far wrong with Algret House!!!
Thank you Greta, I really enjoyed my stay with you - even Saturday with the hangover from hell !!! I will be back :-)
Vince.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed with Greta in the lovely Algret House during our family vacation in Ireland. Algret House is separate from the the main house so it has more of a hotel feeling. Killarney is a 5 minute walk along neighborhood streets. Very quiet neighborhood. The breakfast was delicious and she made our boys, 16 and 13, feel at home. Both rooms were plenty big - we spent most of our time out and about. We had two rooms and the bathrooms were a great size for a B&B. Greta was charming and friendly; she helped set up a last minute tour of the Ring of Kerry. Overall a very inviting and warm environment. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed with Greta in her beautiful home, a 5-minute walk from town in a lovely neighbourhood. Greta was born to run a guest house - always genuinely cheerful, and when she's talking with you, she makes you feel as if there isn't anyone else in the world she'd rather be talking to at that moment. The room had a lovely old-world charm to it, but was very modern; breakfast was scrumptious. Do yourself a favour when you visit Killarney and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
867 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algret House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algret House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Algret House 80. Countess Grove | off Countess Rd., Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Algret House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm,friendly family run B&B in a quiet area yet only a 5 - minute walk from Killarney Town. All rooms are en-suite with Satellite TV, tea/ coffee facilities hairdryers and free Wifi internet access. We serve a varied breakfast menu with our delicious home baked scones. Private off- street parking is available at front of house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Algret House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing