We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunnybank Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2009

just spent one night at Sunny Banks as my husband and I were attending a wedding in The Malton a few minutes walk away. We were thrilled with our stay, the room was spotless and spacious,the power shower amazing! Breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious and the coffee plentiful. A big thank you to Martina and Brendan for making us feel so welcome and for making our stay so hassle free and relaxed! This is a great place to stay if you want value for money,conviviality and convenience!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2009

good location, clean, simple, near center. just breakfast. correct

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davies78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was my favourite accommodation on the entire trip. The house is immaculate, the beds are very comfortable, and the shower is fantastic. Always nice to have a TV in the room for downtime as well.

The town centre is very close by, and a shopping centre attached to the bus and rail stations is right across the street. The hosts were very friendly, and Brendan arranged for the tour company to pick us up at the door when we told him we were off to do a Ring of Kerry tour. No complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatTheHell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Very good location, just a couple of minutes from the city centre. Spatious car park (most of the other B&Bs didn't have one) and really friendly hosts. Brendan is one of those guys you'd like to have as a friend. He's kind and helpful all the time. There's an unfriendly woman who serves breakfast, and she's the only negative aspect of this house. She acts as if she didn't like children (I have two) and is a bit rude at times. For the rest, a very recommendable place if your visiting SW Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajeroChiclana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We arrived in Killarney late in the afternoon and saw the Sunny Banks
B&B - what really attracted us was the fact that they had guest parking, and the house looked "friendly". There were 3 adults in our group and, although Brendan didn't have a family room available, he went out of his way to help us. He actually moved furniture out of the room so he could bring in a single mattress to put on the floor.
Although the room was cramped, it worked!

The room was very clean and we really enjoyed our short stay. It is also walking distance into town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bagpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

This was the second b&b of our recent trip. This turned out to be an excellent base location for us to visit the Dingle Peninsula, Killarney and the Ring of Kerry.
We dropped in unannounced and instantly was greeted by pure Irish hospitality. Brendan and his wife had just returned from shopping and he dropped everything to make sure we got properly settled in.
There were five in our group and we pretty much had the choice of our own rooms. We chose a triple in the back and a double in the front. The double had a balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains.
The location was just as advertised, very close to the town center. It was only a five minute walk to the restaurants and pubs, great for having that late night Guiness at the pub. Brendan recommended where to go for traditional Irish music and it was very enjoyable.
We had tire problems while in the area and he pointed the way there as well. Turned out to be a good place to get our flat fixed. Don't think we could have found it without his help.
The Irish breakfast was great and plentiful. All in all, a great place to stay while in Killarney. In our opinion, you can't go wrong staying at the Sunnybank.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joecomputr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This was the second of eight bed and breakfasts we stayed at on our honeymoon to Ireland and Scotland. Next time we visit Killarney, we will probably stay elsewhere.

The best aspect of this guest house was definitely its location – a five minute walk to Killarney city center. Our host was very friendly and polite, with good knowledge of the surrounding area. Breakfast was served in a sunroom, the food was good.

The bedroom needed work though. The floor in our bedroom and the surrounding rooms was very squeaky; we could definitely hear other guests walking down the halls and in their bedrooms. The walls were thin. We had a difficult time sleeping because of the televisions and conversations in other rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Legare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Guaire House Killarney
Guaire House Killarney
#21 of 143 in Killarney
75 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,495 reviews
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnybank Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnybank Bed and Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Fair Hill, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing