We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
326
30
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
30
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ross castle ring of kerry friendly labrador met mary killarney national park quiet road b and b breakfast was delicious town centre ample parking bed and breakfast the perfect place to stay local attractions her husband within walking distance each morning visiting killarney
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 365 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just stayed at the Elyod House the past two nights and had a wonderful experience. The B&B was in a very convienent location - a 5 minute walk from our bus tour depot as well as the city center. The room was emaculate and the most spacious of all the B&Bs we have experienced thus far. Breakfast was served in the beautiful dinning area and was delicious - we loved the french toast and pancakes! Overall a great B&B in Killarney!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAMcElhaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross45, Manager at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guests, Thank you for your lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE i appreciate your time and effort, i was delighted that you enjoyed your stay her in ELYOD HOUSE.

Many thanks

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in May of 2013. When we first arrived, Mary greeted us warmly and showed us to our room. Besides breakfasts though, we didn't really have any further interaction with Mary or anyone else in the house. We had to seek Mary out to get recommendations for dining options. The city centre was within walking distance and we found the walk to be approximately 15 minutes.

Our room was plenty large and perfectly comfortable. The bed was comfortable too. The bathroom was comfortable as well, though the shower was very small. There was good water pressure and plenty of hot water. The room did not have any en-suite coffee/tea facilities like we had in other B and Bs; however, there was a sitting room downstairs where you could make tea or coffee. There was also store-bought cookies in that room. We saw a fireplace, but a fire was not made in our two nights there.

There is a paper to complete the night before to choose your breakfast the next morning. To start, you are to choose either cereal or grapefruit. Then you can choose your main course. Options included full Irish breakfast, pancakes, french toast, boiled egg and toast, yogurt and fruit, etc. You also chose whether you want brown bread or toast and what type of juice you want. We found with other B and Bs that we stayed at in Ireland options such as juice, toast, cereal, yogurt, and cheese are readily available for your chosing; however, here it seemed that you were limited in what you were able to have. We ordered the pancakes and full Irish on the first morning, but found the pancakes to be not filling enough throughout the day, so on the next day, we both did the full Irish. The irish breakfast includes eggs, rashers, sausage, black pudding (not white), and tomato. Mary was kind enough to add a second egg to both of our dishes on the next morning when we asked. There was also a pot of coffee brewed and jam packages for all guests ready in the dining room.

Overall, we found our stay at the Elyod house to be pleasant and comfortable, but it seemed to lack some of the personal touches that other B and Bs we stayed at in Ireland provided.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennamary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE. I was very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and pleasant stay here with us.It was no trouble what so ever to add extra to your breakfast, and it was clear that you enjoyed the buffet in the dining room. We receive a lot of positive comments about the aroma of fresh ground coffee beans in the morning and i was delighted that you enjoyed this too, Again thank you for your kind words,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Elyod House is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Killarney. Mary and her family are great hosts including Ruby the dog! Mary makes sure everything is to your liking. Breakfast is good and filling. The rooms are nicely appointed. The house is immaculately clean. A short 10 minute walk to main street in Killarney. The B&B is very close to the horse racing track.
Thanks for making our first golfing visit to Ireland a great start.
The guys from Pittsburgh

Room Tip: all rooms are on the second floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hello, Thank you for your review on trip advisor for ELYOD HOUSE. It was great to have you stay
and i am glad that you had a good golfing holiday ( without too much rain),
It was my pleasure to look after you 4 lovely gents and i appreciate your time to write a review for ELYOD HOUSE,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second trip to Ireland which gives us four total weeks of travel there. This was by far my favorite B & B we ever stayed in. It was a recommendation from the Tourist Bureau in town. Mary Doyle and her family are all wonderful. Her breakfasts are the best you will find and coming back after a day out on the road, it was wonderful to sit by the fire she had ready for us and have a drink before dinner. We really felt like we were at home. Very nice location with Ross Castle just down the road and fun to watch the jaunting cars coming past the house. We could not have had a more wonderful four nights. Hated to leave that last morning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddiesmom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, it was my pleasure to have you stay here with us, and i am delighted that you returned home safe and sound, Again thank you for your time i really appreciate it,

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Mary Doyle is wonderful. Best breakfasts we had in all of Ireland. She's super helpful and great with people. The B&B is adjacent to Killarney National Park and within waling distance of the town center. Perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattyR203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross45, Owner at Elyod House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review for ELYOD HOUSE, we enjoyed having you stay here with us, and i hope that you enjoyed Galway, I was delighted that you returned home safe and sound and maybe we will see you again some day. Thank you

Regards

Mary Doyle
Elyod House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews