We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast”
Review of Killaran House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killaran House
Ranked #9 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Killaran House. The location was perfect as we arrived by rail and departed by bus and were only a 5 minute walk from both. Convenient to town for pubs, etc. Ciara was warm and friendly and full of good advice on what to see and do. The breakfasts were the best we had during our 16 day stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillaranHouse, Owner at Killaran House, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for your lovely review. It was such a pleasure having you here for the 3 nights. I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast selection-we do try to offer something different to other establishments!!
Hopefully you and your family will get a chance to return to us again some day.
Best Wishes
Ciara Roche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
107
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Kilaran House was our home for one week. What a treat! Ciara was waiting for us and quickly settled us in the living room to let us know about all the fabulous things to see and do in and around Killarney, and told us she was happy to make reservations for us for meals and day trips. By the end of the conversation, we felt like old friends! The comfort, beauty, and hospitality of her B and B wrapped itself around us like a warm Irish blanket. The breakfasts were such a treat, and I made sure I tried just about everything! She went above and beyond all levels of care to make sure we were completely taken care of! I loved my room, and I loved coming back to Kilaran House at the end of a long day. Thanks for making our stay a treasure in every way, Ciara!

Room Tip: I loved my room on the first floor across from the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillaranHouse, Owner at Killaran House, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Sandy,
What a lovely review!! It was wonderful having yourself, Maureen & Kathleen stay here with us-you truly were like family by the time you left. I do so hope that you will be able to make a return trip to Killarney in the not too distant future.
With Warmest wishes and memories
Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The moment you walk through Ciara’s front door you understand the meaning of a genuine Irish welcome. Everything is catered for in this really professionally run establishment. Rooms are decorated to a high standard. Large beds, fresh clean linen, wide breakfast choice, tea and coffee with cakes available. Excellent base for striking out to the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Killarney town centre is a 6 minute walk. The local shopping centre containing an M&S a couple of minutes.

Ciara’s local knowledge as to where to go and when ranging from a night out to local attractions is second to none. We had a last minute family illness prior to our three day stay that Ciara was very understanding with. The common denominator here is Ciara. Nothing is too much trouble. Her positive attitude is contagious. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adywiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillaranHouse, Owner at Killaran House, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Adrian & Claire,
Thank you so so much for your fantastic review. I am truly blown away by your lovely comments!! It was such a pleasure having you stay here with us. Pass on my best wishes to Claires mom hopefully she will be well enough to join you on your next trip to Killarney.
My very best wishes
Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This B&B is the best! From the minute we arrived we were welcomed by the proprietor. The location was easy to find and with walking distance to town center. The house is warm and inviting . Candles lite at night, colorful rooms, comfy bed and great breakfast! They also booked all our tours for us! Definitely the place to stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night during May, 2014. The location could not have been more perfect. It is right on the main road, just a short walk from the center of town. The room was perfectly beautiful and extremely comfortable. This B & B has just been opened this spring and is new and fresh. The breakfast was delicious! We only wished we had been able to stay
more than one night. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillaranHouse, Owner at Killaran House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are now open 3 months and its great to know that the house still looks and feels all brand new. You will just have to stay longer the next time around!!
best Wishes
Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a boost to a dull day's driving it was to arrive, meet Ciara and see how tastefully she had presented the rooms, lounge and dining room. She was a source of information about where the live entertainment was and the best places to eat. She nailed it and in doing so justified our decision to find a home base for 3 nights and day trip from there. She'd make a great Tour Director! A highlight among highlights was the breakfast spread: the full Irish, of course, but also on offer were glasses filled with fresh berries and yogurt, shishkebobbed fresh fruit, and creamy porridge made even smoother with a tiny jug of Bailey's Cream. Ciara's Killaran House is exceptionally excellent.

Room Tip: They're all good because the windows are double-glazed and they cut out most of the outside soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillaranHouse, Owner at Killaran House, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Roger,
Thank you so so much for your wonderful comments. I am thrilled that I could make your stay here with us so memorable and that you enjoyed our breakfast so much. I do try to make our breakfast selection a bit different from what you would normally get and our fresh fruit kebabs and granola pots are going down a treat at the moment!!
Hope to welcome you back again sometime soon
With warm regards
Ciara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our host Ciara, was knowledgeable about the B&B business with years of experience. She really gives attention to details. Rooms were updated and immaculate, beds were new, amenities were provided including blow dryer. Breakfast was delicious with many choices on the continental breakfast, and delicious cook to order! She was so helpful with sightseeing suggestions for us!

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet, with the breakfast room on the front end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLorahH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killaran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killaran House

Property: Killaran House
Address: Killaran House Park Road | Co Kerry, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killaran House is Killarney's newest guesthouse, completely refurbished in Feb 2014. With 9 en suite luxurious guest bedrooms, it has all the facilities of a modern hotel combined with the personal touch of a welcoming guesthouse. Superbly located only 400 meters from bus/train station/town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Killaran House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing