We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay in Killarney”
Review of Applecroft House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Applecroft House
Ranked #24 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Decent place to stay in Killarney”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Kathy is super nice - lots of good suggestions for where to go in town and she made my wife and I tea when we were hanging out in the sitting room. Our room was OK. There was a strange smell, which I expect came from the cleaning products she uses to clean the room. Not terrible, but pretty strong. Breakfast was good with multiple options. Downtown Killarney is a 15 minute walk through a suburban neighborhood. Fine if the weather's good, not as optimal if it isn't.

Overall, we were satisfied, but Applecroft didn't stand out among the B&B's we stayed at on this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuriousToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The most welcoming host on our trip, going out of her way to provide us with maps and help us organise activities for the following day.

The room was of a good size with a similarly good-sized en-suite. There was a TV and a selection of books, as well as a comprehensive folder on the local area, the history of the property and various other things which, along with a bowl of sweets, was a nice touch.

We were offered a large selection of breakfasts, which included things like french toast, brie and bacon on toast, traditional irish and pancakes. On top of this, there was a good selection of cereals, bread and extras including marshmallows, yoghurt and even flaxseed and linseed mix!

Kathy was good enough to let us park our car in her drive whilst we explored the national park on bikes the following day.

Altogether a very positive experience and we would not hesitate in recommending visitors to Killarney to this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked Applecroft House based on a recommendation from some relatives who had stayed there in 2010. We had a nice stay for 4 nights. Kathy warmly welcomed us and showed us to our room upon arrival. It was the largest room we stayed in during our 2 week visit to Ireland, which made it feel more like a hotel than a B&B. The decor was a little dated, but it was spotless, which is most important to us. We enjoyed relaxing in her family room where she would come out to chat every once in a while and offer tea. Her breakfast room with a view of the garden and bird feeders is wonderful, as is her breakfast with homemade baked goods and eggs fresh from her chickens! She made fantastic suggestions for activities- the boat tour from Muckross House to Dinis was great. Our only complaint was that the mattress was somewhat uncomfortable, but we slept well anyways. Great time at Applecroft House!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMO08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Applecroft is such a pretty house, really warm and we felt really comfortable the minute we walked in. Kathy greeted us with a great smile and was more than happy to entertain our baby while we settled in. The house is very, very nicely decorated and we loved to spend some time playing with the dogs or watching Kathy feed the chickens...although our favourite was Alfie - a really sweet (big) pig...
Breakfast was very good too, great selection! Kathy really runs this house in an immaculate manner....and she makes her guests feel at home with such ease. She was also great with directions or recommendations of what to do in Killarney.
Thank you so much Kathy for making our stay so pleasant...this is definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in!...hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our second experience with a B&B and Mary was exceptional! She takes GREAT pride in her house, food and guests happiness. I highly recommend this B&B if staying in Killarney. The ring of Kerry was the highlight of our Ireland trip. Wish we could have spent 2 days going through it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Applecroft house is a really excellent place to stay. Wide and tidy rooms, warm and friendly hospitality by family Brosnam, yummy breakfast served in an elegant wide-windowed dining room. Definetly one of the best b&b I tried in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place was fantastic. The owner Kathy is the best hostess. Her house is very quant and comfortable. Her cooking is out of this world............. Love, love, love this place. If you are in Killarney you must stay in this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#30 of 140 in Killarney
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#23 of 140 in Killarney
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#33 of 140 in Killarney
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guaire House Killarney
Guaire House Killarney
#20 of 140 in Killarney
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecroft House

Property: Applecroft House
Address: Brosnan's Boreen Applecroft House Woodlawn Road, Killarney 32782, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applecroft House bed & breakfast! Our family run business is situated 15mins walk from Killarney town centre, at the top of a laneway off Woodlawn Road, so our guests can enjoy some well deserved peace and quiet. The house is surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and our field to the back is home to the horses,Alfie the pot-bellied pig and our free range chickens. We are very proud of our fresh eggs and homebaking so expect a yummy breakfast! Free Wifi throught out the house. New at Applecroft, all new King size beds for your comfort.All our en-suites have been newly refurbished for 2017 Season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Applecroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing