We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, Good breakfast, Good Location!”
Review of Applecroft House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Applecroft House
Ranked #26 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was the only B&B we didn't book in advance. We just showed up at the door and hoped they had a room for us.
Sure enough. the owner's daughter showed us a spacious room with lots of light.

One thing we really liked about this place was that it is one-level. We had a large suitcase that we were lugging around and not having to carry it up the stairs was a nice break for my boyfriend!

The breakfast was really good and we met some other Canadians who were sitting beside us so we talked to them for a while and didn't have much chance to talk to the owner. She was very nice though.

The house isn't too far from downtown so we walked into town and had a nice dinner. We found Kilarney to be a little expensive for food... But maybe we didn't find the right places to eat! haha

Lovely place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jenben1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

My mother and I found this place when construction blocked off the street of the B&B we were directed to and, unfamiliar with Killarney and slightly lost, we wandered. What we found was an adorable place with gorgeous gardens and really friendly chickens!
Kathy welcomed us right in to a really massive room with a stylish en suite bathroom and gave us a hand-drawn map of the town (just what we needed!) with symbols for pubs with live music and such. It was wonderful! She even let us take her information book with us when we drove through Killarney (there was a very helpful map in it). The B&B was minutes from Torc Waterfall in the park and made it an easy day trip, and it's well within easy walking distance from the town and its pubs. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and served in a lovely room, and Kathy was delightful all around!
This place was a polished and beautiful gem tucked back in the trees and turned out to be one of my mother's and my favorite places during our trip. So glad we stumbled upon it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shwip87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Kathy was so warm and friendly. Each evening she would have the fireplace on for us in the living room and bring us coffee and cakes. Our room was very clean and comfortable. This was our favorite place we stayed. We absolutely loved Kilarney.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorideane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed 1 night while attending the Irish Open Golf tournament. Modern, very clean, great breakfast (crepes,porridge, french toast, variety of eggs, fruit, etc). Kathy was very helpful. Only recommendation would be for tea/coffee making facs in bedroom. Say you can request in kitchen anytime, but not comfortable to put someone to the trouble. Lovely walk up by Torc waterfall, continue on to Dinis Cottage (cafe facilities) and back to carpark at bottom of Torc. Spent about 2.5 hours from start to finish and thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely weather helped.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgoldenoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

From the moment of our arrival it was as though we were staying with family. Invited in for coffee and tea we began talking as if we were old friends just catching up. The rooms were clean and decorated as one could only hope for at B&B. The food was the best we ate on our nine trip in Ireland. The three course evening meal was most delicious. Kathy sat with us and chatted. She also was very helpful in steering us to a couple of great pubs for the evening in town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtinnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Applecroft House B&B in Killarney. Kathy, the hostess, was kind and happy to assist in planning excursions. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The breakfast room was like visiting a quaint little cafe. The food was wonderful from the freshly gathered eggs to the homemade breads. There are chickens, a couple of dogs, and a friendly pig living at the home. The grounds are beautifully maintained and gorgeous flowers filled the yard. I would definitely return to the Applecroft House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeceyjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

As part of our Irish Welcome tour through CIE tours my wife, my brother and his wife and two friends had the privalege of spending two nights with Cathy Brosnan at her Applecroft B&B in Killarney, Ireland. It was our best accomodations of a trip full of great stays. Cathy's "come on in and make yourselves at home" personality and welcome were just the start of a great 2 night stay. A fantastic cook breakfasts were hot, filling and, delicious and as part of our stay we were treated to a Cod dinner with fresh picked peas, mashed potatoes and home baked rhubarb crisp. The accomodations were very spacious and offer a garden like setting a short walk off the main road. Meeting Cathy was like meeting a relative you hadn't seen in some time. Applecroft is a great stopover if you're exploring the Ring of Kerry (see photo2 and 3) A beautiful B&B with a beautiful and welcoming host. PS. Don't forget to say Hi! to Alfie (see photo 1) when you visit.

Room Tip: Book through the Applecroft website or while on a CIE tour of Ireland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larytaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#16 of 143 in Killarney
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harp
The Harp
#57 of 143 in Killarney
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#52 of 143 in Killarney
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#18 of 143 in Killarney
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applecroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applecroft House

Address: Brosnan's Boreen Applecroft House Woodlawn Road, Killarney V93 D218, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $106 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Applecroft House bed & breakfast! Our family run business is situated 15mins walk from Killarney town centre, at the top of a laneway off Woodlawn Road, so our guests can enjoy some well deserved peace and quiet. The house is surrounded by lush landscaped gardens and our field to the back is home to the horses,Alfie the pot-bellied pig and our free range chickens. We are very proud of our fresh eggs and homebaking so expect a yummy breakfast! Free Wifi throught out the house. New at Applecroft, all new King size beds for your comfort.All our en-suites have been newly refurbished for 2017 Season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Applecroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing