We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very homely”
Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Lodge
Ranked #15 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very homely”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in the Kingfisher as part of Rabbie's five day tour of Ireland. The room I had was fantastic and being a solo traveller made me feel like being at home. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners and staff were very welcoming and helpful, advising on great places to eat in the evening. The location was great being close to the town centre ( which was lovely and had plenty of places to eat) and also Killarney national park. Very highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    53
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
131
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

That's what my 15 year-old niece said when we checked in and I agree! Very comfortable, great location (short walk into town). Breakfast was plentiful with buffet options, as well as a menu of hot options. The owners were super friendly and offered lots of advice on our local plans. The B&B is beautiful and the owners have two super friendly dogs, which my niece loved, as she was missing her dogs at home. Prices were competitive and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were booked into Kingfisher's lodge by our tours through Ireland, we stayed for three terrific nights. The lodge is perfectly located in the center of Killarney - a quick walk to the main drag but on a quite street. The rooms are large, showers have terrific water pressure and all clean as can be. Each morning you'll be offered a fulling delicious Irish breakfast. The owners are warm a welcoming - it's a great place to stay as you tour The Ring of Kerry & Dingle. You will be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Lot's of good rooms to choose from - but some have larger window then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are just coming back into Belgium after 10 days in Ireland. Kingfisher Lodge was the first b&b of our stay and it was one of the best b&b. Location really great at around 3 minutes by walk of the center, b&b clean, breakfast with a large variety of choice.... One thing to do PERFECT! A b&b to advise...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10899-MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybunion, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We planned to stay in West Cork for two nights but had been Very Disappointed with the hotel we chose, we left after one night and travelled on to Killarney. We booked into the Kingfisher and enjoyed our night there. It was so clean and comfortable, the opposite to the hotel we had left was. We would definitely stay there again. Short walk to town and very friendly staff. WE would recommend this place to you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The bulk of our stay was to be at the Larkinley Lodge, but when we arrived the first night we stayed at the Kingfisher a bit farther down the road. We had a room facing the street upstairs which threatened to be noisy, but there was a window also in the bathroom for ventilation and it brought in the breeze we needed without the sounds of the street below. Our host was a man of few words and he provided us the space we needed to adjust to our new surroundings. There was a kettle in the room, something I've really come to appreciate. We had ample room, quiet and comfort. Breakfast was a buffet of fruit and cereals and the usual hot menu of eggs and breakfast meats, all served with a smile. The several broiled tomato halves that came with the eggs were delicious. The B&B was run efficiently and effortlessly. I ended up wishing we had stayed there for our full visit in Killarney. I didn't fully appreciate what we had at the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambleandwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked 6 rooms for our party of 16 and were all entirely satisfied with every aspect of our stay: room size, cleanliness, location, service, and price. Everyone in my group agreed that Kingfisher Lodge was the best place we stayed in during our 2 weeks tour of Ireland. Anne & Donel could not have been nicer or more helpful. The location is perfect - a short 5-10 minutes walk to the center of town - but far enough away from the mayhem so that you're not disturbed by the noise. The breakfast was also one of the best with a large variety of buffet items and a cooked to order item from the menu. The best full Irish I've had during the entire trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uyen_N92708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.6 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodge

Property: Kingfisher Lodge
Address: Kingfisher Lodge Lower Lewis Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome from Donal and Ann Carroll awaits you at our family run LONELY PLANET 2010/2011/2012 RECOMMENDED AND Michelin award winners. Ideally located in a quiet area a mere 4 minutes walk to Killarney Town Centre / and bus /rail station we have private parking and all rooms have complimentary WI-FI. Sat Tv and tea /coffee facilities. All Tours and golf tee times, fishing and walking can be arranged with Donal, a qualified Guide. Extensive breakfast buffet and menu with vegetarian options also , Special dietary requirements catered for. KERRY AIRPORT 15 KM TRANSPORT CAN BE ARRANGED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing