We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The cutest place ever"”
Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Lodge
Ranked #16 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

That's what my 15 year-old niece said when we checked in and I agree! Very comfortable, great location (short walk into town). Breakfast was plentiful with buffet options, as well as a menu of hot options. The owners were super friendly and offered lots of advice on our local plans. The B&B is beautiful and the owners have two super friendly dogs, which my niece loved, as she was missing her dogs at home. Prices were competitive and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were booked into Kingfisher's lodge by our tours through Ireland, we stayed for three terrific nights. The lodge is perfectly located in the center of Killarney - a quick walk to the main drag but on a quite street. The rooms are large, showers have terrific water pressure and all clean as can be. Each morning you'll be offered a fulling delicious Irish breakfast. The owners are warm a welcoming - it's a great place to stay as you tour The Ring of Kerry & Dingle. You will be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Lot's of good rooms to choose from - but some have larger window then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are just coming back into Belgium after 10 days in Ireland. Kingfisher Lodge was the first b&b of our stay and it was one of the best b&b. Location really great at around 3 minutes by walk of the center, b&b clean, breakfast with a large variety of choice.... One thing to do PERFECT! A b&b to advise...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10899-MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We planned to stay in West Cork for two nights but had been Very Disappointed with the hotel we chose, we left after one night and travelled on to Killarney. We booked into the Kingfisher and enjoyed our night there. It was so clean and comfortable, the opposite to the hotel we had left was. We would definitely stay there again. Short walk to town and very friendly staff. WE would recommend this place to you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The bulk of our stay was to be at the Larkinley Lodge, but when we arrived the first night we stayed at the Kingfisher a bit farther down the road. We had a room facing the street upstairs which threatened to be noisy, but there was a window also in the bathroom for ventilation and it brought in the breeze we needed without the sounds of the street below. Our host was a man of few words and he provided us the space we needed to adjust to our new surroundings. There was a kettle in the room, something I've really come to appreciate. We had ample room, quiet and comfort. Breakfast was a buffet of fruit and cereals and the usual hot menu of eggs and breakfast meats, all served with a smile. The several broiled tomato halves that came with the eggs were delicious. The B&B was run efficiently and effortlessly. I ended up wishing we had stayed there for our full visit in Killarney. I didn't fully appreciate what we had at the time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambleandwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked 6 rooms for our party of 16 and were all entirely satisfied with every aspect of our stay: room size, cleanliness, location, service, and price. Everyone in my group agreed that Kingfisher Lodge was the best place we stayed in during our 2 weeks tour of Ireland. Anne & Donel could not have been nicer or more helpful. The location is perfect - a short 5-10 minutes walk to the center of town - but far enough away from the mayhem so that you're not disturbed by the noise. The breakfast was also one of the best with a large variety of buffet items and a cooked to order item from the menu. The best full Irish I've had during the entire trip. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uyen_N92708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

There are a lot of good things about Kingfisher Lodge in Killarney. The property (lobby, halls, rooms, breakfast area) is very clean and pretty. The rooms are big enough, and the bed was comfortable with plenty of blankets. The breakfast was very good; there were several menu items to pick from, as well as a plentiful continental offering. The location was also good and the hosts were very nice and accessible.
Other things about this stay were average. The shower pressure was a little weak, the toilet was fussy about flushing, and they didn't change the tea/coffee/water cups unless requested. The walls were very thin and we could hear the people around/above us easily. I think I would give another place a shot if we came to Killarney again since there are so many good offerings to choose from in this price range.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitLoverWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronagh1, Owner at Kingfisher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

dear guest
thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the very nice comments regarding our lodge,bedrooms ,breakfast and us as hosts.
I remember your stay with your partner and regarding some things which you felt were average i would like to make the following comments..
I) shower pressure- in 13 years in business we have never had an issue with the showers in fact this is one area that guests continuously say is excellent and in fact the best showers they have had in ireland.
2) Our Toilets are different than the american ones and require to be given from 40 secs to 1 min to refill this is normal here. If you keep flushing they do not get a chance to fill.
3) Tea /coffee cups had not been replaced that day , i was very surprised, apologised and immediately replaced them for you , (our hospitality trays are changed daily regardless if its a check out or a stay on room ) , this was a lapse in housekeeeping with a new part time member of staff , and not i can assure you a regular occurrence, i sincerely apologise again for this .
3I do apologise for any noise you may have heard from your room , unfortunately there is a room overhead yours which does not have concrete ceilings as there is in all our other rooms. regarding the guests next to you , our walls are fully highly insulated and unless a guest had a television on loud there should have been no problem with noise.

Thank you for staying with us I hope you return to our beautiful country again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#6 of 143 in Killarney
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#12 of 143 in Killarney
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Sika Lodge B & B
Sika Lodge B & B
#11 of 143 in Killarney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodge

Address: Kingfisher Lodge Lower Lewis Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $84 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A genuine Irish welcome from Donal and Ann Carroll awaits you at our family run LONELY PLANET 2010/2011/2012 RECOMMENDED AND Michelin award winners. Ideally located in a quiet area a mere 4 minutes walk to Killarney Town Centre / and bus /rail station we have private parking and all rooms have complimentary WI-FI. Sat Tv and tea /coffee facilities. All Tours and golf tee times, fishing and walking can be arranged with Donal, a qualified Guide. Extensive breakfast buffet and menu with vegetarian options also , Special dietary requirements catered for. KERRY AIRPORT 15 KM TRANSPORT CAN BE ARRANGED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing