We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlawn House Killarney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodlawn House Killarney
Ranked #17 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobram, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed and this charming B & B for two nights and could not fault the experience.From the moment we got inside we felt comfortable and welcome.Woodlawn house is a lovely old building and it's in a perfect location.You can comfortably walk into the town which is ideal and Wayne is only to happy to help you plan your days in the beautiful Killarney region.His advice led us to a sensational restaurant in the middle of town.The breakfasts are a treat and will set you up nicely for the busy day ahead.Our room was generous in size and looked out the front of the house.It offered a lovely view to the mountains.
Overall my wife and I can not find any fault with this B & B.Wayne is a charming host and his home baked bread is a taste sensation.do yourself a favor and come stay at Woodlawn House !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    80
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
108
205
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our experience at the Woodlawn House B&B was fantastic. The owner Wayne and his brother Allen made our stay very enjoyable, despite the fact that Wayne and his wife had a new baby just one day before our stay there, so I know they were busy! The food was great in the morning, and the service was excellent. The rooms were spacious, with plenty of space to hang clothes, etc. The walk to town is quick, maybe 5-6 minutes. We will definitely stay there again on a future trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBSurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wayne, the owner, greeted us and gave recommendations about restaurants and places to visit. He could not have been more helpful. The hotel is large and spacious and 30 seconds from the road that is the Ring of Kerry and less than 10 minutes walk into the centre of town. Our room was at the front facing towards the mountains. There was traffic noise during the day but we were not disturbed at night despite the fact that all the windows were open as it was 27 degrees on the day we arrived. The room is very smart and clean, the shower very powerful and towels plus flannels were provided. The breakfast service is slick and professional with Wayne, and the others serving, doing so efficiently and cheerfully. Breakfast can be as big and filling as you want and there is even homemade soda bread fresh out of the oven. This is a wonderful place to stay

Room Tip: I think rooms at the front because, although there is some traffic noise, the view to the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel made our trip much more relaxing, cozy and memorable! The first thing in the hotel Wayne greeted us and told us an array of places to go, things to see and recommended several restaurants, a big big help for first timers! We went to most the places he recommended and were very happy with them! This is the perfect trip for a family. We went for a family of 4 and it made our trip very pleasant to be led toward the best parts of Killarney. Very nicely decorated and terrific full Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Right in town, literally an easy 10 minute walk into town. Very plain, like it was built for a guest house vs a typical B & B. It was functional and owner Wayne very friendly. It just wasn't as homey a place as others we've stayed at this trip.

Rooms do not hold any noise, you can hear people in the hall from room 106. Bed very soft, as are pillows. One of the worst night's sleep I've had. Slept on floor for a while to try getting some sleep. While there is plenty of room, it's not laid out very well, and there weren't many places to put luggage without unpacking and using the closet, which for 1 night was a waste of time.

In place of bars of soap, they have small 3 ounce containers that they refill and you squeeze for bath gel or hand soap. I don't mind saving the environment, but these small bottles made it appear cheap. Even those pump containers would make a better impression.

Breakfast started at 8:00 and was an excellent assortment of cold cereal, yogurt, juices, etc. A hot entree of whatever you wanted, was served as you ordered. All the food was delicious.

How do you rate this overall? It's surely not a 5 with the terrible bed, but does a horrible night's sleep make it a 1? I opted for an overall of 3 since the breakfast was good, the room was spacious and Wayne was helpful. I doubt I would stay here again traveling through the area with the whole street being made of up B & B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donutking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had only one night here, but as we arrived at5 pm and it was cold and drizzly, Wayen the young host brought us a cup of tea and biscuit into the spacious lounge room which is available at all times for guests. The house was so cosy and warm. After helping us with things to do and go to, and taking time to chat, we were shown our room which was spacious, brand new bed, lovely fresh white linen, it all felt right. It is a lovely old house purpose built a B+B, one flight of stairs, very spacious dining room. Wayne even encouraged us to bring a drink back if we wanted and sit in the lounge room in the comfy sofas. Here is a young man trying to make his mark in business, his first baby is due in 2 weeks. Nothing is too much trouble for him to do. Breakfast was plentiful , he makes his own brown bread each day. Outstanding attitude. We would highly recommend staying here. Location is fantastic, so quiet nod yet so close to walk to town.

Room Tip: Location was fantastic, very quiet off the main road but easy walk to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

On a quiet lane, 10 mins walk from city centre, a lovely B&B. We had a spacious room and comfortable bathroom/shower. Beautiful view of mountains. Good service, good breakfast.
The bed could be better though, gave us a bit of a hollow back.

Room Tip: The road is quiet, so a room at the front is fine, and has a beautiful view of the mountains to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,870 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#18 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlawn House Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlawn House Killarney

Property: Woodlawn House Killarney
Address: Woodlawn House Woodlawn Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlawn House Killarney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management from March 2014. A 12 bedroom guesthouse in Killarney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlawn House Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlawn House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing