We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for town and the Killarney National Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oaklawn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklawn House
Ranked #84 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Handy for town and the Killarney National Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Oaklawn is off the main road, on a quiet side street. It is very well situated for an easy short walk into Killarney centre and also the National Park. The directions on the website are somewhat outdated: The Texaco Garage is now Amber and the Leanes Foodstore is now AsiaFoodstores (?).

The house is large, with a sitting area for guests and tea/coffee table, etc. The room was clean with a great shower - very powerful.

The breakfast room is locked and was only opened at 08.00am, when one of the waiting guests knocked on the door. The room is quite dim, with little charm. The breakfast was functional. Certainly not up to the frills of other B&Bs during the trip. I think it is harder for Rosemary as she does all the breakfast cooking, serving, etc on her own.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Anglo_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Would highly recommend this B&B. Rosemary was very friendly and helpful. It was very clean and the shower was great! They even had wash/face clothes for us Americans! We even had our own sitting area. Thank you….very nice touch. Great breakfast! Short walk to town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWilsonChesapeake_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

We weren't planning to stay in Killarney but simply ran out of daylight for driving. The B & B is on a road that looks more like an alley when you turn onto it off of the main road through town. The house and yard are pretty, and we were able to park our rental car in the B & B's small parking area. Our upstairs room was fine. I made myself a cup of tea in the little self-serve area (nice touch), then read and enjoyed the view from the little upstairs sitting area. It was an easy walk to shopping, dinner, and pub music. We felt safe walking home at night (dark, but not terribly late). Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSquaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed with Rosemary during our 2 days in the Killarney area. This B&B is convenient to the city center - walking distance - as well as tourist attractions for Killarney National Park. The hospitality is wonderful and Rosemary made the best recommendation for dinner at Paddy's. Rosemary is very accommodating to her guests and made our stay in Killarney probably one of our favorite stops in our 9 day visit to Ireland

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed only one night at Rosemary's but wished we'd stayed another. It was warm, lovely and so clean! She made a wonderful Irish Breakfast that was delicious! Her gardens were manicured to perfection. We could walk into Killarney-- very convenient! Would stay there again! We had great service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerngirlNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

I wasn't sure exactly what we were going to get at the Oaklawn seeing that there hadn't been a review in awhile. But overall, it was a great experience. The location was perfect. It was in a peaceful setting with beautiful gardens and was only a 5 minute walk to the center of town. The rooms were a good size and very well kept. I forget the numbers, but we were the first two rooms upstairs. The first room was a double with a nice little patio. Breakfast was good. Traditional Irish breakfast with toast, cereal and fresh fruit. Plenty of room to park our 9-passenger van. The only issue we had was at checkout when we were told it was cash only.

Rosemary was a great hostess. She set us up with a tour of the Ring of Kerry. The van came and picked us up right in front of the B&B.

Overall, a great place to stay with great value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no credit cards
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

The Oaklawn was an amazing B&B. The grounds were manicured to perfection. The home was welcoming and charming. Rosemary was a wonderful host. I felt very at home during my stay. I enjoyed looking at each room of the house. Each room had a special charm to it. Staying at the Oaklawn was truly a highlight on trip to Ireland.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank raidersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Willow Lodge B&B
#101 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#93 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#10 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#41 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklawn House

Property: Oaklawn House
Address: Oaklawn House 4 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing