We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

My experience of this hotel could not be further from those described in the negative reviews below. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The room was large, spacious, newly decorated and very comfortable. The price was extremely reasonable and the location was fantastic. If I visit Killarney again any time soon, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loweski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    285
    66
    46
    48
See reviews for
295
668
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

First impressions were excellent , very clean , warm , welcoming entrance , owner was friendly and engaging. Offered upgrade on arrival . Room was spacious and good generous bathroom . I expect could be a bit noisy during peak season as very close to main road but we were lucky that things were quiet in town that night. Excellent breakfast - best Irish breakfast we have had in a long time and lovely relaxing dining room - intimate. Overall very enjoyable stay , great value for money and whenever in Killarney again it will be our no 1 choice to stay. Thanks Bart for letting us check in early to get ready for the wedding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunkerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in the fairview Guesthouse in September this year with my husband for our 3rd wedding anniversary, we had stayed there previously on our honeymoon and just had to go back. The service is impeccable and on arrival we were offered the penthouse suite at a very reasonable price as it was unoccupied, we of course accepted and were not disappointed. The penthouse suite was amazing, luxurious yet comfortable with a 4 poster bed, seperate seating area, plasma screen tv, very large jacuzzi and shower, patio doors onto a balcony with beautiful views. The breakfast was very satisfying and being from ireland we of course had the irish breakfast. We could not fault it in anyway and this is why we returned and will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannek81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hi, This place is a real find one of the nicest places I have stayed in. My self and my partner spent a really nice night there this weekend the hotel and rooms were spotless Staff friendly and was more than happy to reccomend places to eat and very friendly just two very small things 1. We arrived 20 mins early than when was agreed to check in on the phone at 3pm but was told to come back at 3:30 but was friendly and allowed us to store our bags. We went to a lovley little tea shop and was not really a problem. The only other thing was the bed it was a lovley big bed and quite comfortable but seemed to be 2 beds put togeather and one side was slightly higher than the other. These were only minor issues in what was a very nice stay and I would highly reccomend it and will to anyone who will listen. And breakfast was really really nice

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel is luxury, close to all amenities, staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamarydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

Right in the middle of Killarney, everything within walking distance.
We had a nice room with jacuzzi, which was not very clean, but a pleasure anyhow.
The beds, especially the pillows, were really quite awful, not recommended for anyone with backache. If your back is fine, it might just start here.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and good.
Nice place to stay, but quite big. It misses the cosiness of most B&Bs in Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived in Killarney with no reservation, saw The Fairview with it's well appointed black and gold painted sign, decided to check it out. Rooms were very nice, spacious, clean, beds were triple the size of other hotel beds we had previously stayed at. Bath was spotless and superb. Only issue was that someone vandalized our rental vehicle which was parked in front of the hotel in the handicapped space. I guess that will happen on a Sat night with pubs all around. Overall very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveledVeb1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing