We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Hi, This place is a real find one of the nicest places I have stayed in. My self and my partner spent a really nice night there this weekend the hotel and rooms were spotless Staff friendly and was more than happy to reccomend places to eat and very friendly just two very small things 1. We arrived 20 mins early than when was agreed to check in on the phone at 3pm but was told to come back at 3:30 but was friendly and allowed us to store our bags. We went to a lovley little tea shop and was not really a problem. The only other thing was the bed it was a lovley big bed and quite comfortable but seemed to be 2 beds put togeather and one side was slightly higher than the other. These were only minor issues in what was a very nice stay and I would highly reccomend it and will to anyone who will listen. And breakfast was really really nice

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel is luxury, close to all amenities, staff are so helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilamarydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Right in the middle of Killarney, everything within walking distance.
We had a nice room with jacuzzi, which was not very clean, but a pleasure anyhow.
The beds, especially the pillows, were really quite awful, not recommended for anyone with backache. If your back is fine, it might just start here.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and good.
Nice place to stay, but quite big. It misses the cosiness of most B&Bs in Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived in Killarney with no reservation, saw The Fairview with it's well appointed black and gold painted sign, decided to check it out. Rooms were very nice, spacious, clean, beds were triple the size of other hotel beds we had previously stayed at. Bath was spotless and superb. Only issue was that someone vandalized our rental vehicle which was parked in front of the hotel in the handicapped space. I guess that will happen on a Sat night with pubs all around. Overall very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTraveledVeb1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I found the Fairview Hotel when arriving in Killarney and ended up staying three nights at their lovely Guest House. It's centrally located within the town so it's convenient to walk to anywhere you might need to go. The rooms and everywhere around the hotel was spotless and the lobby had a lovely smell of fresh lillies that were in a vase at the reception desk.
The full breakfast was delicious, I even ordered something special off menu one morning, at the staff was happy to prepare it for me. The waitor remembered me each morning at breakfast and asked how my day was yesterday and what my plans were today.
All together I found this hotel charming with an exceptional staff who were eager to please and accommodate. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is searching for a comfortable, clean, and hospitable holiday in Killarney.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delishko4_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Hotel easy to book - fast response to emails. Easy to find as you enter Killarney. Staff and accommodation excellent.
Good breakfasts - I must particularly mention Tommy, our great breakfast waiter who told us all about the best things to do and see in the area - very informative, pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardvanstone_221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Fairview is a knockout. The room was large, clean, comfortable, and the staff is top notch. We were in Ireland for seven nights and this is the one place I would hasten back to without question. Although all the other hotels were quite nice, the Fairview set the standard. The only;y rub--and it is a small one--is that parking is in a public lot (3 euro/day) about 100 years up the street. There is, however, a drop off in front of the hotel for arriving guests. There is a comfortable dining room for breakfast, and the chef even knew how to poach an egg correctly!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davisdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $78 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing