We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel of whole trip”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel of whole trip”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I was cycling in Ireland for more than two weeks and stayed in a lot of nice B&Bs & hotels, but this hotel was exceptional. It is perfectly located, very comfortable, marble bathrooms w/every convenience, everything in new condition, nice veranda, wonderful breakfast and comfortable bed. Of course because it is a "boutique hotel" there were 12 pillows - yes 12 - and I need instruction on what one is supposed to do with 12 pillows. It is a great hotel to spend several days at - and not just figuring out what those pillows are for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxMaugham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, August 3, 2010
I just wish to write to Thank you for taking the time to post a review to tell us about your stay at The Fairview. I was delighted to read you were impressed during your stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    294
    71
    47
    52
See reviews for
320
690
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Fairview is an attractive hotel/guest house perfectly located in the central city within walking distance of almost everything. The outside in very inviting with many beautiful flowers in the window boxes and on the ledge above the entrance. Off the foyer is a very nice lounge with a big screen TV in one area and another area to just read or chat. James greeted us and got us checked in quickly which we appreciated after an all night flight followed by a day of touring; we were really tired! Our room was attractively decorated, very clean and spacious with a twin bed for my grandson, a king bed for me plus a loveseat, a table with two side chairs, an armoire, and a lovely dressing table with stool. They had the hairdryer hardwired into one of the drawers so it was comfortable to sit there and put on makeup and do my hair while my grandson was in the bathroom getting ready. We were pleased with the nice bathroom.; I had upgraded to an executive room to be able to have a jacuzzi to relax in after the days we went touring! Breakfast options were excellent with everything from a table with juices, fruit, sweet bread, cereals and yougart to hot breakfasts on the menu. We would have fruit, juice or yougart from this table before ordering our hot breakfast. My grandson enjoyed the traditional Irish breakfast, while I loved the baked vegetable omelet. Tommy is a wonderful restaurant manager whose years of experience show with how nicely the food is prepared and served to you at a table with crisp linens....a lovely way to start the day! Like many hotels in this area, the rooms are not air conditioned, but we opened the windows and enjoyed the fresh air which cooled our room beautifully at night. The hotel is near the corner at a main street so you can hear the traffic with the windows open, but we did not find that a problem. In the summer it stays light late and the sun comes up very early so there is activity on the street until late and the garbage truck etc. comes around quite early, but we liked the room so much, we just chose to ignore any outside sounds. The hotel itself is quiet. We found the staff to be hospitable and helpful. One day when we were going to be gone all day, James took care of making reservations for us to go to the Gap of Dunloe the next day. The last night we were in Killarney, I got a local championship fly fisherman by the name of Mike O'Brien to take my grandson fishing. This was a fabulous experience! One of Mike's boats was in a nearby slip, so it took no time to be out on the lake fishing. I went along to enjoy the gorgeous evening and to photograph my grandson living one of his dreams! He caught one trout and many perch, which we brought back to the hotel and asked James if Tommy might fix a few of them for us for breakfast before we left on the train for Dublin. He called Tommy who said he would be happy to do that. Early the next morning, Tommy let my grandson and me into the dining room 45 minutes before opening for the regular breakfast service in order for us to have our fish and anything else we wanted from the cold breakfast table before departing for our train. I could never say enough about the service at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a king size bed, practically unheard of, a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and a big flat screen tv. After staying in B&B's for a week this hotel felt like a palace. The breakfast was amazing! Lots of variety. We loved staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdwelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da west
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Good spot to stay for a stag party cos nobody around to watch you.
However owner snotty and expensive. No breakfast cos up to late so can not comment on that.
Thumbs up for stags

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stag4uall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
I acknowledge your fly away comments,
and would like to outline that as specified on our website, we do not take stag or hen nights.
In relation to nobody around, I would like to reply the following:
As you noticed, the minute you came in the door, quiet time has to be observed within the house from 8pm to 8am.
Front door and bedroom access is by key card only, and as you outlined nobody around, our security is so discrete.
There is a full time security person at night who works discretely in the background and there are 16 security cameras throughout the public areas of the guesthouse.
Hardly a place for a stag, so very poor advise.

Bart
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

fairview was the best place i have every stayed in. the staff are so friendly and helpful they have a wonderful service its a credit to them. the rooms wer amazing and for the breakfast in the morning was class the best every i got. if any one is traveling 2 killarney this is the place to stay in it is so close to the town. if i was to go back down to killarney in the morning this is the place i would stay in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaghanrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenland, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We truly loved the Fairview. It was easy to find and centrally located. We could walk around the enchanting town and we could access all the beautiful areas surrounding Killarney with ease. We arrived a little early but were allowed into our room as it was ready for occupancy. Although car parking is off lot, it is easy to get to and free, for the most. You are allowed to temporarily park right in front of the hotel making it easy to get luggage in and out. The owner/manager was most helpful and polite. He recommended things we could do for the rest of the day as well as suggesting a tour. That was most helpful and appreciated. Breakfast is fabulous!! Service outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accmom9299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Me and my partner got engaged last week and decided to take a trip to kerry to celebrate. I let the proprietor know and we got the penthouse at the last minute, words like luxury, comfort, modern and blissfully fabulous spring to mind, we booked a second night it was so amazing, if you want to be pampered and feel like royalty, definatly pay the fairview a visit, its not at all expensive when it really should be for all you get. Breakfast is gorgeous with plenty of it too, i liked it so much im going back next month!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresalovesciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,215 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing