We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
1 review
“Welcoming and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

I spent three nights at the Fairview during a 10-day driving tour of Ireland with a friend. From the minute we checked in, Anne could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Our room and the hotel's public areas are lovely and kept clean and up-to-date. After the first morning, we looked forward to seeing Tommy in the dining room at breakfast . He had great suggestions for our daily agendas. We made some fun and interesting stops, thanks to his suggestions.

I highly recommend The Fairview!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFrom22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    286
    66
    47
    49
See reviews for
298
674
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrowiec Swietokrzyski, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

We live in Galway and decided to go spontaneously to Killarney. We arrived there in the late evening time and the first place we went to were the Fairview Guesthouse. The receptionist (owner) was really friendly and told us about special monday - tuesday offer. For 80euro we got a lovely and comfortable room with king size bed, plasma tv, jacuzzi, full breakfast and a view onto one of the main streets. The owner was there for us, answering every question we asked. Especially he helped us to choose the route to the ring of Kerry. We told us what's worth seeing. In the morning we were welcomed warmly in the restaurant. The breakfast was really tasty and fresh (I hated black pudding though - I never liked it anyway).
I would recommend this place to everyone who is looking for a lovely place to stay with great staff members, comfort and food.
P.S. We both work in a hotel business and know the hotel standards of a 4* property and were fully satisfied. I we are to come back to Kilkenny, we'll definitely choose the Fairview Guesthouse.
Thomas & Aleksandra

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomek_O-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

I stayed in Killarney with a friend for three nights. The hotel was wonderful - modern and lovely, with the welcome and charm that I expected in Ireland. The location was central, with parking only about a block away. Anne, who worked the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and Tommy, who served breakfast, was a charmer and had great touring recommendations! The breakfast was made to order, and fantastic. I travel a lot, and was very favorably impressed with this hotel, which was exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

stayed in the fairview for valentines weekend. There was a problem with my reservation when we arrived, but the staff couldnt have been more helpful and sorted it out straight away. The room was superb with a fantastic wide screen tv and dvd player! the dining area for breakfast was beautiful and there was a lovely selection for the buffet breakfast. perfectly situated in the heart of killarney, walking distance to everything. Definitely give it 5 stars!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurselauraCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Went with my husband and 2 children also my sister in law and her family with toddler of 2 1/2years. Our room was good size but my sister in laws was way too small and was given a dirty playpen to put her child into who was also too big to put into and ended up putting her into her own bed (not great solution) but when asked manageress for better room was told that we booked a cheap option but there was not mention of cheap options when making the booking. We just asked for 2 family rooms and booked. The manageress in my opinion doesn't take criticism too well and was VERY defensive, telling us we could leave if we unhappy but where were we to go taking 3 young kids around looking for another place. Also the waiter in the morning at breakfast treated us like dirt compared to the foreign guests (we're from Monaghan). I also noticed in our room a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in the bathroom which must have been coming from somone elses room for we dont smoke but after our initial confrontation I felt the manageress unapproachable and our floors had sticky marks from a previous guest which was never washed during the 3 days we stayed. From reading other reviews the staff seem to be the biggest problem and have absolutely no people skills at all. They giving this hotel its bad reputation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HonestMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
I wish to reply to 4 complaints by the same party of 8 people for their stay on 13th February 2010, for 3 nights.
We received the booking for 2 family rooms, for 3 nights.
It was noted at time of reservation that each family was to consist of 2 adults and 1 child.
The special offer applied, was that the child would be offered free of charge for each room.
At about 6pm on day of arrival, the receptionist was astounded to see that one family had arrived with grown up teenager, and a child, and the other family arrived with 2 children. This is not what was booked, as the reservation was for 2 adults and 1 child in each room. The receptionist notified myself and it became very obvious to me, at this very early stage that because of our special offer of 1 child free of charge, this lady decided to bring more children than was initially booked.
I instructed the receptionist to offer and find them alternative accommodation, and the second option offered to them was that they could upgrade to a larger executive room that would be able to accommodate 4 persons per room at an extra cost of 20 Euro. This offer was declined. No other complaint was made until this lady checked out. The first family checked out and made no complaint. When she was checking out, she threatened that unless she got a major reduction or free accommodation for 3 nights, she would “destroy us”. This is the foundation of these 4 complaints and unfounded allegations.
In her complaints, she viciously and maliciously attacked the unblemished character of our head waiter.
Tommy has served tourists coming to Killarney for over 50 years and never in his lifetime has had such unfounded allegations made about his service and character. Tommy is regarded as an icon within the hotel service industry, and this can be confirmed by all who know him in the local industry.
The allegations of uncleanliness are also unfounded and this can be proved by the people who inspected our premises just a little earlier.
The Fairview is a non smoking property.
I would like to highlight that these allegations and complaints are from the same party.
One has to wonder why 2 families would stay 3 nights in 4 star accommodation and have breakfast each morning, if the accommodations and service were so bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Upon arriving the manageress says she thought we only had one child with us when we told her on the phone when we booked the rooms we were bringing four. She said she had no beds left so our 2 and half year old would have to sleep in a cot when we got in the room it was a dirty playpen we were given. Went down to the manageress she told us to go if we werent happy then she told us not to smile as that was cheeky. Told us she would sort us out with a different room the next day never did. Went for breakfast there was gravy in the milk the waiter was so unfriendly. Then told us when we left on the last day good ridance to us all. Smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms just disgustting. Noisey with buzzers going off all night long.This is a totally honest review and please dont go near this hole if you want to enjoy killarney.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishdude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
I wish to reply to 4 complaints by the same party of 8 people for their stay on 13th February 2010, for 3 nights.
We received the booking for 2 family rooms, for 3 nights.
It was noted at time of reservation that each family was to consist of 2 adults and 1 child.
The special offer applied, was that the child would be offered free of charge for each room.
At about 6pm on day of arrival, the receptionist was astounded to see that one family had arrived with grown up teenager, and a child, and the other family arrived with 2 children. This is not what was booked, as the reservation was for 2 adults and 1 child in each room. The receptionist notified myself and it became very obvious to me, at this very early stage that because of our special offer of 1 child free of charge, this lady decided to bring more children than was initially booked.
I instructed the receptionist to offer and find them alternative accommodation, and the second option offered to them was that they could upgrade to a larger executive room that would be able to accommodate 4 persons per room at an extra cost of 20 Euro. This offer was declined. No other complaint was made until this lady checked out. The first family checked out and made no complaint. When she was checking out, she threatened that unless she got a major reduction or free accommodation for 3 nights, she would “destroy us”. This is the foundation of these 4 complaints and unfounded allegations.
In her complaints, she viciously and maliciously attacked the unblemished character of our head waiter.
Tommy has served tourists coming to Killarney for over 50 years and never in his lifetime has had such unfounded allegations made about his service and character. Tommy is regarded as an icon within the hotel service industry, and this can be confirmed by all who know him in the local industry.
The allegations of uncleanliness are also unfounded and this can be proved by the people who inspected our premises just a little earlier.
The Fairview is a non smoking property.
I would like to highlight that these allegations and complaints are from the same party.
One has to wonder why 2 families would stay 3 nights in 4 star accommodation and have breakfast each morning, if the accommodations and service were so bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Walked up the stairs lovly , walked into room my jaw droped the room was tiny , staying with 2 and a baby , the babys cot isn't big enough smaller than a dog house , no Internet ( need to pay for it ) old fashion tv ( plasma HD was in ad ) , also the manager told me off for smiling and was told to leave do not stay here ,

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrrShoowtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
I wish to reply to 4 complaints by the same party of 8 people for their stay on 13th February 2010, for 3 nights.
We received the booking from Geraldine McGahon for 2 family rooms, for 3 nights.
It was noted at time of reservation that each family was to consist of 2 adults and 1 child.
The special offer applied, was that the child would be offered free of charge for each room.
At about 6pm on day of arrival, the receptionist was astounded to see that one family had arrived with grown up teenager, and a child, and the other family arrived with 2 children. This is not what was booked, as the reservation was for 2 adults and 1 child in each room. The receptionist notified myself and it became very obvious to me, at this very early stage that because of our special offer of 1 child free of charge, this lady decided to bring more children than was initially booked.
I instructed the receptionist to offer and find them alternative accommodation, and the second option offered to them was that they could upgrade to a larger executive room that would be able to accommodate 4 persons per room at an extra cost of 20 Euro. This offer was declined. No other complaint was made until Geraldine McGahon checked out. The first family checked out and made no complaint. When Geraldine McGahon was checking out, she threatened that unless she got a major reduction or free accommodation for 3 nights, she would “destroy us”. This is the foundation of these 5 complaints and unfounded allegations.
In her complaints, she viciously and maliciously attacked the unblemished character of our head waiter.
Tommy has served tourists coming to Killarney for over 50 years and never in his lifetime has had such unfounded allegations made about his service and character. Tommy is regarded as an icon within the hotel service industry, and this can be confirmed by all who know him in the local industry.
The allegations of uncleanliness are also unfounded and this can be proved by the people who inspected our premises just a little earlier.
The Fairview is a non smoking property.
I would like to highlight that these allegations and complaints are from the same party.
One has to wonder why 2 families would stay 3 nights in 4 star accommodation and have breakfast each morning, if the accommodations and service were so bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing